We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall
Ranked #33 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My friend are were on a road trip and we had planned on camping at the state park. We went and looked at the site and were not impressed, plus a huge thunderstorm was rolling in off the gulf, so we decided to find a hotel. We booked this hotel on Expedia, it had it listed at $400 but was discounted to $120. (I would never pay or stay here for $400). We booked our room from the parking lot and went in to check in, and they already had our reservation. The room was clean, and pretty standard. The best part of the room was the porch. Since it was raining and we couldn't go across the street to the beach, we sat on our porch, relaxed, and enjoyed a few beers. Our porch faced another hotel, but was angled so you could see the gulf. Overall a very nice stay.

The hotel's continental breakfast was very good.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbee1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    80
    53
    39
    40
See reviews for
117
89
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
324 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Good place, smaller and quieter than the other Holiday Inn by the San Luis. The room was quite large and clean but the bed was lumpy (I have a bad back) and it was a little annoying hearing the folks upstairs stomping on the ceiling. The bathroom was huge and upgraded. AC worked well. The Gulf view was great, the staff was good, the free breakfast was satisfying, the pool and hot tub was enjoyable and clean - oh and the best part, quiet and kid-free.The Gulf is across the street but it is a rocky beach. There is a sandy beach just a few minutes drive to the west.

Room Tip: Suites have the full Gulf view but you will pay a substantial premium. The standard rooms on the eas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank friendlyinsomniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

cleanest, friendliest staff and nicest rooms you could ever want! literally a stones throw from the ocean. every room had a balcony and it was great to sit out there and listen to and smell the ocean. they have hot tubs! will definitely return

Room Tip: this is a "cant go wrong" hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank truerambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed over one night waiting for our vacation rental to become available. Room was nicely appointed. However, it was very muggy, and everything in the room felt damp. We turned the air on and that helped. The staff was very friendly and nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JENoble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

When I walked in I was greeted by the staff with smiles, after checking in the front desk helped me with great recommendations to restaurants around the beach. The hotel has a nice pool that over looks the ocean witch was perfect for me. The main beach is about two miles away from the hotel but the location of the hotel is perfect because its quiet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We choose luckily to leave this hotel after 2 days. The room smelled very musty. We did buy some candles that slightly masked the odor. The breakfast was nice and the bedding comfortable. However, the cleanliness was not what I expected from a Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: Nice view from balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DRK806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear DRK806,

Thank you for your stay and leaving us a review. We take all feedback from our guests seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on. I am sorry for the conditions you experienced during your stay. It is regrettable we fell short of your expectations.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Galveston hotels

Denmark
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Really nice hotel with good amenities.
Rooms rather large and with balconies, which I like especially when I'm close to the beach. Even thoguh we didn't get a room with direct beach view - but a side-room - it was OK never the less.
Nice beds and pillows and the cleaning was good.
Breakfast buffet OK, but occasionally the buffet runs empty and are not filled fast enough with a lot of empty trays) leading to queues.
Otherwise service was nice og allways at hand if needed.

But ( and no fault of the hotel - but just as information): NO beach access at all.
The pictures of this hotel deceives a bit - lovely views over the water etc. and when you drive up to the hotel it seems as though you just have to cross the street to be able to get into the water.
But when you actually cross the street and want to take a dip in the Gulf you realize, that you can't ! It's a stonewall that doesn't invite to bathing.

To be able to get to a decent beach access you'll have to drive/walk/run app. 3 miles down the road - where there's parking restrictions ( beware of towing ).

So if you choose this hotel for the beach access then beware.
But if you choose this hotel for it's amenities and for its sheer service, then you're in for a treat.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the ocean. The siderooms are OK but the view of the ocean is a bid restrict...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bastian87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Galveston
Comfort Suites Galveston
#22 of 52 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
0.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Galveston West/Seawall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall
Address: 8628 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-9779
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hear the wave s crash from your balcony at the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galveston Island, located on W Seawall Blvd across from the ocean. Galveston offers 32 miles of relaxing beaches, superb restaurants, marvelous downtown shopping in the Strand Historical District, historical museums with the Lone Star Flight Museum and the Texas Seaport Museum, fabulous entertainment and one of the largest and well-preserved concentrations of Victorian architecture in the country including the 1859 Moody Mansion. The new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galveston is a great value for business and leisure travelers. The Colonel Paddlewheel Boat is within easy reach; enjoy East Beach Park, Galveston Island Ferry, Stewart Beach, Bishop Palace and Moody Gardens, and the ever-popular Schlitterbahn Waterpark a family adventure. If you are embarking from the Port of Galveston or here on business, we are conveniently located close to University of Texas Medical Branch, American National Insurance Company, Texas A&M University at Galveston, Galveston College, U.S. Army Corp of Engineers and the US Coast Guard.Galveston is a small romantic island tucked deep within the heart of south Texas possessing all the charm of a small southern town with Texas Hospitality and just 40 minutes south of Houston. We look forward to seeing you at the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galveston Island soon. We also offer parking and a shuttle to the Cruise Terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Galveston West - Seawall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing