We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall
Nearby Hotels
$233
$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront(Galveston)(Great Value!)
$279
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor House Hotel & Marina at Pier 21(Galveston)(Great Value!)
$224
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$206
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center(Galveston)(Great Value!)
$249
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$209
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$161
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Galveston Island Resort(Galveston)(Great Value!)
$218
$166
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (356)
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveler rating
95
97
68
47
49
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
97
68
47
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshi expresscinnamon rollssmall balconyonly stayed one nightyogurtking suiteacross the streetthe rooms were nicelaundry roommardi grascovered parkingnice stayfishing pierclean hotelgreat view of the gulfmoody gardenscruise terminal
Filter
Updating list...
235 - 240 of 356 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We had a lot of problems with this hotel. Our room smelled and it was not cleaned well. A couple of the front desk employees were very good but others were not. The pool was broke more than it was operational. The only good thing about the hotel was food. Lots of choices and the staff working the kitchen were very professional and nice. I left an article of clothing there after we checked out and I was basically told that I never left it there. So they made me feel like I was lying. I have left a review for the hotel on another site and at least the corporate office addressed it. My recommendation is stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear Melissa A,

Thank you for taking the time to your review. We apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here five days ago. The location is close to everything which was an advantage. We had a side room but still had a nice ocean view. The rooms were very large and very pretty. The mattress seemed a little "tired" and sunk to the middle. But was not a problem. The pool was very nice. Spent several hours there with kiddos. Walking distance to the fishing pier, just down the road from a great access to the ocean, #6, close to food, gas and just everything. We loved the room and stay in it. There was a desk clerk that was a little rude and non concerned about the customers but one person does not make the place bad. They just need to talk to and train their employees in consumer courtesy. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Our family was fortunate enough to stay here free with our accumulated credit card miles. The rooms were good size (not too cramped). Had microwave and mini refrigerator in the room, as well as a coffee maker. Had a side room, but still had good view of the ocean. Breakfast being provided for free was one of the reasons we chose this location and we were not disappointed (now can I have a fresh cinnamon roll every morning---can get spoiled by the littlest of things). Would recommend this location for families. It is away from the areas of Galveston that are more 'active' so it makes for a relaxing stay. Only complaint would be that our room did not get cleaned until almost 5 p.m. each day and that is when we wanted to come back to the room and rest for a little while before heading out for dinner and evening activities.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the front of the building provide the best ocean views.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brittany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed at this hotel as it was convenient location to planned Moody Gardens visit. The hotel was packed and though normally get early check-ins at Holiday Inns, was the published 4pm check-in before a room opened up for us. The breakfast was the standard for Holiday Inns, but there was quite a crowd at breakfast rush hour - luckily we got in before the crowd showed up. Hotel staff friendly and room was adequate for our needs.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tb7855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear tb7855,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. I am glad that you liked the convenient location of the hotel.

Please accept our apologies for all the inconveniences you have encountered. Due to high occupancy, what you have experienced is not a standard in our hotel, as such, your comments will be evaluated to avoid the same instance in the future.

Again, our apologies for the negative impressions you may have had. We look forward to be of service to you again should your next trip brings you back to Galveston.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed here in February the night before our 20th Anniversary cruise. The hotel is directly across from the ocean and is about a 10 or 15 minute drive from the cruise terminal. It is close to all sorts of dining, the pier, and Wal-mart for those last minute neccesities. We flew into Houston, rented a car and drove to Galveston. The hotel has no shuttle to the cruise terminal and we wanted to freedom to explore Galveston.

Our room was on the 1st floor next to the front desk and directly across from the breakfast room.
It was a designated handicap room and as a result the bathroom and bedroom were very spacious. It included free wi-fi, a king size bed, microwave and refrigerator. We also had a balcony with enough room to sit outside and enjoy a partial view of the ocean.

The stay included free hot breakfast with a variety of items including eggs, bacon, pancakes, fruit, breads and cereals. The breakfast room was very big and never felt crowded. We didn’t use the pool or the gym but both were very clean.

While the hotel was across the street from the beach, there was no public beach. No problem for us, however. The views were still awesome!

This was a great overnight stay and I have absolutely no complaints!

Room Tip: Everyroom has a view of the ocean, but ask for a upper floor for a better view.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanyonGirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews