We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Will Stay Here Again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall
Ranked #32 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
austin, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Will Stay Here Again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This hotel is located on the end of town so not right in the middle of everything. The rooms were very clean and the breakfast was very good. Everything you would want to eat was there in plenty! The pool was nice and there are two hot tubs. The staff was very helpful both checking in and out. There was covered parking and open parking which was nice since it was raining when we left. The only thing I found wierd was the hallway carpet looked like it hadn't been vacuumed in quite awhile and could use a good cleaning. The carpet in the room was vacuumed but needs to be cleaned. We will stay there again! We paid $239 for a Sat. night which is a bit pricey but what are you to do? It was the best price I found.

Room Tip: They have rooms on the front that face the ocean. If you can't get one of those get an ocean vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    80
    53
    37
    38
See reviews for
116
86
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Champlin, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We had a lot of problems with this hotel. Our room smelled and it was not cleaned well. A couple of the front desk employees were very good but others were not. The pool was broke more than it was operational. The only good thing about the hotel was food. Lots of choices and the staff working the kitchen were very professional and nice. I left an article of clothing there after we checked out and I was basically told that I never left it there. So they made me feel like I was lying. I have left a review for the hotel on another site and at least the corporate office addressed it. My recommendation is stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Melissa A,

Thank you for taking the time to your review. We apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here five days ago. The location is close to everything which was an advantage. We had a side room but still had a nice ocean view. The rooms were very large and very pretty. The mattress seemed a little "tired" and sunk to the middle. But was not a problem. The pool was very nice. Spent several hours there with kiddos. Walking distance to the fishing pier, just down the road from a great access to the ocean, #6, close to food, gas and just everything. We loved the room and stay in it. There was a desk clerk that was a little rude and non concerned about the customers but one person does not make the place bad. They just need to talk to and train their employees in consumer courtesy. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woods Cross, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Our family was fortunate enough to stay here free with our accumulated credit card miles. The rooms were good size (not too cramped). Had microwave and mini refrigerator in the room, as well as a coffee maker. Had a side room, but still had good view of the ocean. Breakfast being provided for free was one of the reasons we chose this location and we were not disappointed (now can I have a fresh cinnamon roll every morning---can get spoiled by the littlest of things). Would recommend this location for families. It is away from the areas of Galveston that are more 'active' so it makes for a relaxing stay. Only complaint would be that our room did not get cleaned until almost 5 p.m. each day and that is when we wanted to come back to the room and rest for a little while before heading out for dinner and evening activities.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the front of the building provide the best ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed at this hotel as it was convenient location to planned Moody Gardens visit. The hotel was packed and though normally get early check-ins at Holiday Inns, was the published 4pm check-in before a room opened up for us. The breakfast was the standard for Holiday Inns, but there was quite a crowd at breakfast rush hour - luckily we got in before the crowd showed up. Hotel staff friendly and room was adequate for our needs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tb7855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear tb7855,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. I am glad that you liked the convenient location of the hotel.

Please accept our apologies for all the inconveniences you have encountered. Due to high occupancy, what you have experienced is not a standard in our hotel, as such, your comments will be evaluated to avoid the same instance in the future.

Again, our apologies for the negative impressions you may have had. We look forward to be of service to you again should your next trip brings you back to Galveston.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed here in February the night before our 20th Anniversary cruise. The hotel is directly across from the ocean and is about a 10 or 15 minute drive from the cruise terminal. It is close to all sorts of dining, the pier, and Wal-mart for those last minute neccesities. We flew into Houston, rented a car and drove to Galveston. The hotel has no shuttle to the cruise terminal and we wanted to freedom to explore Galveston.

Our room was on the 1st floor next to the front desk and directly across from the breakfast room.
It was a designated handicap room and as a result the bathroom and bedroom were very spacious. It included free wi-fi, a king size bed, microwave and refrigerator. We also had a balcony with enough room to sit outside and enjoy a partial view of the ocean.

The stay included free hot breakfast with a variety of items including eggs, bacon, pancakes, fruit, breads and cereals. The breakfast room was very big and never felt crowded. We didn’t use the pool or the gym but both were very clean.

While the hotel was across the street from the beach, there was no public beach. No problem for us, however. The views were still awesome!

This was a great overnight stay and I have absolutely no complaints!

Room Tip: Everyroom has a view of the ocean, but ask for a upper floor for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanyonGirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is wonderful, the two times we stayed here. It is soo clean, only reason I gave it 4 on cleanliness is because carpet in halls could have been a little more vacuumed, but the place smells clean as soon as you walk in , breakfast is hot and fresh, we ate bagels, yogurt, eggs and cheese, nice hot coffee, orange juice, crispy bacon, and pancakes, fresh apples. We used their hot tub out in pool area, since it was too cool to go swim at beach. The staff is nice, the front desk lady Yvonne showed concern when we told her about our bad experience at prior hotel night before, and when she saw us on elevator latet she said " Thanks again, we are so glad you all chose to stay here". Most rooms have balcony, and the cleaning service does Great! Bathroom and beds and everything, was Immaculate! We will continue to stay here if all stays the same at this Hotel. Thank you for your good business etiquette! Hello to Mrs Yvonne and Mr Josue P.R.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rayandoel_sol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Galveston
Comfort Suites Galveston
#23 of 52 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 stars 213 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
0.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Galveston West/Seawall
1.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall
Address: 8628 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-9779
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hear the wave s crash from your balcony at the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galveston Island, located on W Seawall Blvd across from the ocean. Galveston offers 32 miles of relaxing beaches, superb restaurants, marvelous downtown shopping in the Strand Historical District, historical museums with the Lone Star Flight Museum and the Texas Seaport Museum, fabulous entertainment and one of the largest and well-preserved concentrations of Victorian architecture in the country including the 1859 Moody Mansion. The new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galveston is a great value for business and leisure travelers. The Colonel Paddlewheel Boat is within easy reach; enjoy East Beach Park, Galveston Island Ferry, Stewart Beach, Bishop Palace and Moody Gardens, and the ever-popular Schlitterbahn Waterpark a family adventure. If you are embarking from the Port of Galveston or here on business, we are conveniently located close to University of Texas Medical Branch, American National Insurance Company, Texas A&M University at Galveston, Galveston College, U.S. Army Corp of Engineers and the US Coast Guard.Galveston is a small romantic island tucked deep within the heart of south Texas possessing all the charm of a small southern town with Texas Hospitality and just 40 minutes south of Houston. We look forward to seeing you at the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galveston Island soon. We also offer parking and a shuttle to the Cruise Terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Galveston West - Seawall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing