We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel and staff, made our anniversary great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall
Ranked #32 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel and staff, made our anniversary great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is wonderful, the two times we stayed here. It is soo clean, only reason I gave it 4 on cleanliness is because carpet in halls could have been a little more vacuumed, but the place smells clean as soon as you walk in , breakfast is hot and fresh, we ate bagels, yogurt, eggs and cheese, nice hot coffee, orange juice, crispy bacon, and pancakes, fresh apples. We used their hot tub out in pool area, since it was too cool to go swim at beach. The staff is nice, the front desk lady Yvonne showed concern when we told her about our bad experience at prior hotel night before, and when she saw us on elevator latet she said " Thanks again, we are so glad you all chose to stay here". Most rooms have balcony, and the cleaning service does Great! Bathroom and beds and everything, was Immaculate! We will continue to stay here if all stays the same at this Hotel. Thank you for your good business etiquette! Hello to Mrs Yvonne and Mr Josue P.R.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rayandoel_sol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    80
    52
    37
    37
See reviews for
114
85
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, TX
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here the week after Spring break. We had a room on the 4th floor with a balcony that overlooked the gulf. However, I found that the water pressure was a little low and the a/c didn't work properly. Luckily it was still cool outside, so we were ok. If it had been typical Texas weather we would not have been able to stay in the room. But, I loved the view from the room and the little balcony. The room was nice and roomy with 2 queen beds and a sleeper sofa. The bedding was pretty good. The breakfast was well stocked.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Layin on the Beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Older hotel, but, in good shape. Nice balcony, and view. Staff is very nice, Room was clean and bed was comfy. Quiet location, but still close enough to dining, etc, as long as you don't mind driving a couple of miles.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room, so you have an unobstructed view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sezzmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is right at the beach. Typical HI Express - good breakfast, free parking. Rooms were nice - balcony view was of the hotel next door, with a side view of the pool and beach. Slightly away from all of the noise and action, but still near to restaurants and shopping. Wifi was weak at best.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CaptainDon58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear CaptainDon58,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. Please accept my apologies due to the poor WIFI connection. The feedback we receive from you enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Top floor room with balcony. Nice beach view. Friendly helpful staff. Offered inexpensive weekly parking while we took a cruise. Staff gave us Mardi Gras information. Property located along seawall, but away from the main busy area. Clean room, but musty smell. Ceiling and carpet waterstained in one area where roof leaked prior to our visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I wasn't expecting much after reading some previous reviews. We were treated very well upon arrival and took advantage of a $25 fee to park our rental car and take a shuttle to and from the cruise ship ports. Great price but the shuttle service a little unreliable, as well as taxi's. Not the fault of the hotel but it did create a problem for us. We had a great room, very clean. The breakfast was also very good. In short, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: we had a side view of the gulf which was quite adaquate
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deej659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slidell, Louisiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We just stayed three nights in this hotel on the Seawall in Galveston. We had a lovely, very clean room with a balcony overlooking the beach. Friendly, free breakfasts and convenient location. The island was "hopping" with tourists there for the beginning of Galveston's Mardi Gras and those embarking and debarking from the four cruise ships in port over the weekend. The Disney Magic and Princess ship came in and left on Saturday with the Royal Caribbean Mariner of the Seas and the Carnival Magic on Sunday.

Room Tip: Our room had a good view of the Gulf so I would suggest the south side but not sure if those on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaBurgoyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Galveston
Comfort Suites Galveston
#23 of 51 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Galveston West/Seawall
1.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Galveston
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall
Address: 8628 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-9779
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hear the wave s crash from your balcony at the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galveston Island, located on W Seawall Blvd across from the ocean. Galveston offers 32 miles of relaxing beaches, superb restaurants, marvelous downtown shopping in the Strand Historical District, historical museums with the Lone Star Flight Museum and the Texas Seaport Museum, fabulous entertainment and one of the largest and well-preserved concentrations of Victorian architecture in the country including the 1859 Moody Mansion. The new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galveston is a great value for business and leisure travelers. The Colonel Paddlewheel Boat is within easy reach; enjoy East Beach Park, Galveston Island Ferry, Stewart Beach, Bishop Palace and Moody Gardens, and the ever-popular Schlitterbahn Waterpark a family adventure. If you are embarking from the Port of Galveston or here on business, we are conveniently located close to University of Texas Medical Branch, American National Insurance Company, Texas A&M University at Galveston, Galveston College, U.S. Army Corp of Engineers and the US Coast Guard.Galveston is a small romantic island tucked deep within the heart of south Texas possessing all the charm of a small southern town with Texas Hospitality and just 40 minutes south of Houston. We look forward to seeing you at the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galveston Island soon. We also offer parking and a shuttle to the Cruise Terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Galveston West - Seawall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing