We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Galvestonian' s Perfect Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Galvestonian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Galvestonian
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Council Bluffs, IA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Galvestonian' s Perfect Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2010

The location of the condo and beach is perfect for children. You dont have to worry about them trying to run across the seawall. This is the main reason we booked this condo.

Condo seemed well kept with everything you need in the kitchen. Housekeeping comes once a day to make beds & take out garbage.

Clean beach & pool everyday. They furnish towels. The beach was never crowded which made it enjoyable.

I booked a 2 bedroom which they told me it would hold 6. I got one king & two twins. We had 3 adults & 3 kids. Guess who slept where? Be sure you specify the type of beds. We did have a nice view on the 10th floor.

The only draw back--you have to drive, not even a walking distance convenient store.

Major Complaint--Maintenance changed out our door while we were out almost the entire day without alerting us the day before & to make matter worse--they left our door unlocked! Reported to front desk but they didnt care.

All in All, we had a good time. My husband enjoyed location but I guess I prefer to be closer to the seawall. We never really used the kitchen to cook. Ha Ha

.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ennisgirltelico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    65
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
186
91
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
lousiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2010

After searching and searching for a place for our annual girls trip I came across the Galvestonian. Despite my skepticism because of some of the reviews listed on trip advisor we booked anyway. So happy we did. We stayed in 1110 and it was a nice unit, but after our first night stay we had some a/c challenges....they were quick to change us to a beautiful 2 bedroom at no additional charge unit 914 for the remainder of our trip. The beach access was great, no long walks and basically just the people staying at the condos. The other sides of the beach were much more crowded and busy. The pool area was nice and everything was kept clean. You even have maid service just like a hotel. I would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bcappo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2010

I must say I was eager to check-in to the Galvestonian after reading all the reviews on Trip Advisor...what a disappointment. Now, it's not that the property isn't nice, it is in all it's basic features...nice lobby, decent pool area, direct beach access on the beach side (not across Seawall). However, the rooms are straight out of 1970 and haven't been updated since. As this is a vacation property and each condo is owned individually I knew going into it that the condos were dependent on the owner. When I checked in the very helpful reception staff (a highlight) showed me room after room to see if there was anything suitable and after seeing every available room I only stayed the one night instead of the full week I had planned on. I moved next door to the beautiful Palisade Palms the next day. While the Galvestonian may have at one time been "the place to stay" in Galveston that time has most definitely come and gone. At the most I would give this hotel 2.5 out of 5 stars. The fitness room is just two treadmills in a tiny space. The pool area, while a bit dated, is beautiful, as is the main lobby. But if you are looking for something above a 2 or 2.5 star hotel this is not the place for you. Just because it is expensive does not mean you are getting a property worthy of that price. What I would recommend this property for is a family looking for something right on the beach (again, don't have to cross Seawall) that wants to save some $ by having your own kitchen. The living area in the condos is really small though so make sure to see the room before signing on the dotted line so you aren't stuck in a claustrophobic space.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank scoutgirl1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2010

Bad management, very inflexable! Rooms are antiquated.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank escobaral100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2009

...because if the unit is not ready to rent - DON'T RENT IT!!!!
We have stayed in this unit several times previously and have always enjoyed it, very pleasant and perfectly suited for a mature couple.
BUT....
I understand there was hurricane damage - 14 months ago! BUT, if the glass is falling out of the door to the balcony, do something, don't just tell the renter that "the parts are on order"!!! I suggested that the maintenance people please seal the glass to the door frame with duct tape, ugly as it is, to stop the wind whistling noise and erratic climatic control. Also, the entry door had no weather stripping - I used my own masking tape to seal the cold out. This is NUTS!!
And finally, from the owner's locked closet - in the night - came a static sound. Ultimately it was a portable radio which had shorted out and "turned itself on". And the front desk said, too bad, we don't have a key. I picked the lock and removed the batteries.
The point here is, as I said, if it is NOT READY, DON'T RENT IT.
Still love the place, but very disappointed in the last visit.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Megalopolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Texas
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2009

Great place to unwind & relax; very private & well kept. The best place to stay on the island! Private beach was wonderful & extremely well kept.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shoppegirl289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2009

It may cost more than other places we had considered, but overall it was worth it. This was our first visit to Galveston and we chose The Galvestonian because of the reviews on Trip Advisor. We had a room with 2 bedrooms, 2 baths and a pull-out couch for 5 of us. Tons of room and a nice balcony. Great kitchen space with big fridge and all the amenities, so bring your own food if you don't want to eat out as much.

It's a very nice facility with beautiful surroundings. The Galvestonian is right on the beach with no busy street to cross and it's much more quiet and far less crowded than the strip at Seawall Blvd a couple miles down the road. The beach is very well taken care of and we chose to rent a chair/umbrella unit for $25 per day. We were there around August 10, 2009 and the water was so warm we didn't have to take any time to get used to it, you could just walk right from the beach into the water.

The staff was very friendly and helpful.

We would go back here without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cross_checked23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.7 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 52 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
5.8 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Galvestonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Galvestonian

Property: The Galvestonian
Address: 1401 East Beach Drive, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-3323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Galveston
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Galvestonian 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Galvestonian is designed for pleasure and relaxation. For outdoor fun, the large heated swimming pool, which features a hot-tub Jacuzzi, is elevated on a deck which runs almost the entire length of the building. This affords the privacy you deserve, plus a spectacular view of the Gulf of Mexico. The spacious poolside cabana is quiet, shaded area for enjoying pool side refreshments. For tennis buffs, there are two lighted courts. And, of course, there are miles of beach a few steps down from the pool deck. You can stroll along the water's edge, build sand castles or simply relax on the sand and let the sun's golden rays warm your body.East Beach is the most exclusive beach in Texas. Only 50 minutes from Hobby Airport and only three minutes from downtown Galveston. East Beach is a hideaway which will allow you to escape life's pressures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Galvestonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Galvestonian Hotel Galveston
Galvestonian Hotel Galveston
Galvestonian Resort Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing