We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“We keep coming back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Galvestonian

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Galvestonian
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“We keep coming back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was our second stay at the Galvestonian. We first booked a condo here a year ago based on the reviews on tripadvisor, and we are so glad we did. We even booked the exact same condo (#914) the second time around. This is a 12 story building with 16 individually owned condos on each floor. The building is on the beach with a walkover to cross the dunes, but no street to cross to reach the beautiful beach. The beach is big and clean (someone rakes the area every morning) and there are chairs and umbrellas you can rent for $30/day. We knew our unit had an umbrella in the closet from last year, so we just brought our own chairs to get our own setup on the beach for free. Beach towels are included and can be found in the lobby as you walk out to the heated pool, hot tub, or beach. The property also has two tennis courts, a basketball hoop in the corner of the tennis courts, fitness center, bicycles, outdoor shuffleboard, picnic tables with grills, and a firepit area where they will set up and clean up your 2 hr s'more session for $40. The units are individually owned so choose your unit carefully as some are more updated than others. Ours had a king in the master and two twins in the second bedroom. The bedding was wonderful and the kitchen nicely equipped. In fact, we ate all of our meals except for one dinner at the condo. The front office staff is very nice and check in and out was a breeze. We had one of the toilets stopped up but that was quickly taken care of while we played a game of tennis. Be sure to ask for the "stay 3 nights pay for 2" promotion, which makes your stay not only first class but also economical. Definitely the best place to stay in Galveston - we will be back!

Room Tip: Pick a room with room darkening curtains as the sun sets outside your windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katym0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    61
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
180
86
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Natchitoches, Louisiana, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Great stay if you want to be very close to attractions in Galveston without all the traffic and crowds. All of the rooms are condos, so they come complete with kitchens that include pots, pans, dishes, eating & cooking utensils, etc...a dishwasher (dishwasher soap and regular dish soap under the counter), full size stove & refrigerator. Our room had a king size bed and a sofa that made out into a queen size bed. There were balconies in the living area and the bedroom, both with patio furniture. The entire walls were ceiling to floor windows with sliding glass doors facing the gulf, which could be covered with thick blinds if desired. The room was very clean, and there were even magazines and mosquito candles available. The pool and hot tub were very nice, as well as beach access via the walkway. Chairs and umbrellas can be rented/reserved at the front desk, and are set up by the staff. There is also a picnic area just beyond the pool deck (before the dunes) with Weber charcoal grills and picnic tables. There was a continental breakfast served in the mornings, which included fruit and pastries. Coffee, teas, and hot chocolate were available all day long in the lobby. There are also shopping carts available to haul groceries up to the rooms if needed. When we called the lobby for extra towels there was no hesitation, or "come down and get them;" they were delivered by friendly staff within a couple of minutes. (BTW, beach/pool towels are strategically located next to the beach/pool access door in the lobby.) Our stay was pretty quiet and peaceful with a spectacular view of the beach and gulf.

Room Tip: All rooms face the gulf and have balconies. Access to the beach does not require fighting traffic t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just spent our 10th anniversary at The Galvestonian in # 107. It was the best weekend and so very romantic!! The view was awesome! The pool and hot tub was perfect! The staff was welcoming and very helpful! The condo was decorated with a tropical comfortable feel. It was an amazing weekend for us and we will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hi Amy M,

Congrats on your 10th anniversary! The Galvestonian and our staff are very happy you were able to get away for this romantic occasion. We are glad you enjoyed the amenities and the service our staff provided. We look forward to seeing you and your husband back with us once again in the near future.

Thank you,
Greg Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
137 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

I found the Galvestonian on trip advisor. The property consists of fully furnished and equipped condos from 1 BR to 3BR. We rented a 1BR on the 4th floor. All units have balconies overlooking the pool, gardens and patio are and best of all full gulf view. The sunrise and sunset views are wonderful. They were running a special buy 2 nights get 1 free.

The staff are all very helpful and polite. I was given some great recommendations for restaurants for dinner. Plus directions to some nearby attractions. It is on the east end of the island so its a bit secluded which we like and its right on the beach. You do not have to cross a road to the beach. You just go down stairs and across the wood walkway to the beach.. They have showers available to wash the sand off on your way back from the beach. They also rent umbrellas and chairs.

Each unit has a full kitchen. There is not a restaurant on the premises. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: you can view the actual condo online at the Galvestonian web site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hi Jan M,

We are finding that a large majority of our new guests are finding us through Trip Advisor. So, thank you Trip Advisor... Your post really details our property very well. The buy 2 nights get 1 free special has been a hit this fall and it will continue into the early spring. I know the staff will really appreciate your comments about how helpful they were during your stay. The pictures you posted are awesome. I really love your sunrise photos. By the looks of it you were here during the equinox tides. They have now receded and we have our beach back! :) We look forward to seeing you back in the near future.

Thank you,
Tim Lopas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I and another couple stayed 2 nights in a two bedroom. Each bedroom had its own bathroom. The condo was very nicely appointed and clean. The hotel staff and property were wonderful. I will be staying here again in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhansen77657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hi mhansen77657,

We really appreciate your comments about the Condo staff and the property. The staff has been working nonstop since Labor Day doing the after summer chores. It sounds like the condo you chose met your needs. We look forward to you returning to the Galvestonian.

Thank you,
Greg Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Yes, this is our fourth straight year staying here, and will continue to make the Galvestonian our home away from home! The unit we stayed in, 906, was recently remodeled and still has a true feeling of home, instead of a hotel feel. All the staff is exceptional, and it was great to see Carol and Roz once again. We enjoyed seeing the beach chairs and umbrella available for rent, as well as the fire pit. We, fully, intend to take advantage of those new amenities next year. To the Galvestonian and owners who provide rental units, I would suggest having more rooms available with the open concept of 906, as that is perfect for a couple, only, stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hi Brad C,

We really appreciate you taking the time to write this nice review. Condo 906 is a great condo for couples. Not too many guests take advantage of the fire pit area. Hopefully, it will get used more during the cooler months. Thank you for the kind comments on the staff. Both Roz and Carol are great assets. We look forward to seeing you back in the near future.

Thank you,
Greg Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife. The condo was a good size, clean and comfortable. We didn't use the kitchen much, but it was nice that it was there when we opened a bottle of wine or stored some of our take out. I like that we didn't have to cross the street to get to the beach. They kept it clean with chairs out front. Also, the pool was great. Overall, it was a great week.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thrillawilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hi thrillawilla,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay here at the Galvestonian. Now is definitely the time to spend a week in Galveston. It’s not so hot during the day and cool at night making it really pleasant this time of year. We are glad you enjoyed the condo and the access to the beach. We hope to see you back in the near future.

Thank you,
Greg Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.7 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 52 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
5.8 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
10.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Galvestonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Galvestonian

Property: The Galvestonian
Address: 1401 East Beach Drive, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-3323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#1 Family Hotel in Galveston
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Galvestonian 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Galvestonian is designed for pleasure and relaxation. For outdoor fun, the large heated swimming pool, which features a hot-tub Jacuzzi, is elevated on a deck which runs almost the entire length of the building. This affords the privacy you deserve, plus a spectacular view of the Gulf of Mexico. The spacious poolside cabana is quiet, shaded area for enjoying pool side refreshments. For tennis buffs, there are two lighted courts. And, of course, there are miles of beach a few steps down from the pool deck. You can stroll along the water's edge, build sand castles or simply relax on the sand and let the sun's golden rays warm your body.East Beach is the most exclusive beach in Texas. Only 50 minutes from Hobby Airport and only three minutes from downtown Galveston. East Beach is a hideaway which will allow you to escape life's pressures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Galvestonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Galvestonian Hotel Galveston
Galvestonian Hotel Galveston
Galvestonian Resort Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing