We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Place, Great Staff, Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Galvestonian

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Galvestonian
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Fayetteville, AR
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Place, Great Staff, Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We booked a room for 3 nights. There are a few owners that rent out their condos. We went in November and it was like we had the place to ourselves. The room was very comfortable, and all rooms have a great view of the beach and ocean. We went for walks on the expansive beach every morning and night. We only saw a few other people, it was as though we owned a private beach. The weather was great and water cool but comfortable. The Galvestonian is not in town it is just east of town, so everything is very accessible. However, there is no restaurant at the condos. They do have unlimited coffee service, and the coffee was always hot and good tasting. The staff is great: friendly, cheerful, and helpful. There were almost more staff than guests!! We had one small room issue and the staff was there in minutes. When we go back we know our first choice is The Galvestonian.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiverScientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    60
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
178
82
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carrizo Springs, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is the 3rd year our group has stayed here when we visit for The Lone Star Rally. It is a very nice place to stay. The staff has always been very polite and helpful, the rooms are excellent, with a great view of the ocean. If all goes well, we will probably be back next year.

Room Tip: We had room 315, the last room on the west side. It has 4 balconies or patios with a good view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruben N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We were there for the Beach Dash, so chose the Galvestonian because of it's location. What a lucky find! Our 3 BR/3BA on the 11th floor was huge and gorgeous. Very clean, and great for our whole family. We enjoyed the pool area, and the barbecue area. We had a nice birthday celebration at The Pelican Club, where they made reservations for us to eat. Really nice people here!

Room Tip: 1104/5 is a wonderful 3 BR/3 BA condo, complete with wet bar and ice machine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skulteacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We love the Galvestonian because it is quiet, friendly and away from everything. We like to go with our kids and just be with them and not have to worry about leaving unless we go to a local restaurant. Everything in Galveston is easy and close to get to. The remodeled units are fabulous. I always browse the pictures and pick out a nice updated unit with granite countertops, stainless appliances and nice decor. We have stayed in at least 4 different units and all were great. As for as the staff goes, they are always friendly and very helpful. The pool area is always immaculate and the views are great from the balconies. If you want a great family getaway this is the place. We have been here on major holidays and it's still peaceful and not crowded. If you are looking for the party, bar, nightlife scene then it's not for you.

Room Tip: High floor and choose your own unit by looking at the photos online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Best hotel in Galveston. A bit isolated on the east end of the island but all the better for it. Arguably a bit dated but staff are extremely helpful and, after an issue with our toilet, we were upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite. ThanksRos! Pool area is good and beach access easy.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Had a wonderful time at the Galvestonian. The condo was great and very clean. The staff was wonderful as well, but the only problem we had someone stole our prescription medication. So when you leave either put the don't disturb sign out or just take the meds with you. Other than that we really loved staying there and will stay again but we won't use the maid service.

Room Tip: The 12th floor had a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
551 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 337 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We live in Houston and visit Galveston at least once a month. I have no idea how how in the World this hotel ranks #1 on this list. Wow
We have stayed here twice, once by choice and the other by no other choice. Yes, the hotel is on the beach which is very nice but that where it stops for me.
This isnt a hotel persay...its actually a condominum that some investors rent out their places. Most of they other residents are retirement age.
Also it shouldnt be billed as a "resort" at all. On the premises there are no restaurants, no bar, no spa, no room service just an old pool that has no wait serviced, no cabannas just some loungers. Keep in mind also that you are not very close to all the restaurants, bars and shops either. Driving yes but walking no.
As for the room itself...they seem to have never been remodeled since the place was built. To get to the rooms you have to walk down an outside breezeway kinda like in a motel. the rooms do not connect to the elevator with an airconditioned hallway as you would expect.
We have delt with the reception desk on three visits (2 stays and once to see a unit for sale...that was a waste of time as well) Anyway the ladies at the front arent very friendly or helpful...again think of it like a motel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Montecore1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory C, Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
You are correct. We are not, and do not advertise our property as a hotel. I did notice that trip Advisor lists us as “Rated #1 of 45 Hotels in Galveston” I can see how the word hotel might be misleading. I will ask Trip Advisor to use the word property instead of Hotel. There are properties in the group of 45 that are condominiums and should not be referred to as a hotel. Some of the things that you found disappointing with your stay are exactly what most of our guest find attractive. We are not a high energy, full service, crowded property. Our families and couple guests appreciate the quiet, private feeling nature of the Galvestonian. We are one of the few properties in Galveston that is in fact “Right on the Beach”. All of our units are gulf view and have full kitchens. Our front desk people work hard to please our guests and will appreciate your very kind comments about them. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to our property. There are many quality full service resorts in Galveston to choose from. You might consider booking your reservation further out in the future. You will have more choices of your preferred property type. Thanks for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.7 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
10.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
2.5 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 52 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 stars 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Galvestonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Galvestonian

Property: The Galvestonian
Address: 1401 East Beach Drive, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-3323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Galveston
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Galvestonian 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Galvestonian is designed for pleasure and relaxation. For outdoor fun, the large heated swimming pool, which features a hot-tub Jacuzzi, is elevated on a deck which runs almost the entire length of the building. This affords the privacy you deserve, plus a spectacular view of the Gulf of Mexico. The spacious poolside cabana is quiet, shaded area for enjoying pool side refreshments. For tennis buffs, there are two lighted courts. And, of course, there are miles of beach a few steps down from the pool deck. You can stroll along the water's edge, build sand castles or simply relax on the sand and let the sun's golden rays warm your body.East Beach is the most exclusive beach in Texas. Only 50 minutes from Hobby Airport and only three minutes from downtown Galveston. East Beach is a hideaway which will allow you to escape life's pressures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Galvestonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Galvestonian Hotel Galveston
Galvestonian Hotel Galveston
Galvestonian Resort Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing