We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful beach getaway”
Review of The Galvestonian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Galvestonian
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful beach getaway”
Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

My friend and I spent memorial weekend here and had an awesome time. The location is perfect, as Galveston is packed over the holidays. We loved the room and the staff is very accommodating. The room was very clean had an excellent view and was very romantic..Galveston has the new pleasure pier and some of he best resturants in the state. Hope to return soon, a four and a half hour drive is not bad for a tropical get-away. Highly recommend I am just sorry I did not buy one 20 years ago.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Drchask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    70
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
200
98
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The Galvestonian is not a Hotel, it is an apartment complex that units that face the ocean. It has a very cleaning service. Our apartment was really nice. The pool is decent, but over the weekend we had families with unruly kids, who will throw up by the pool and jump in it. It is worth giving it a try, bit I will not go back as it looks like a retirement community more than anything else.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AXH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Located on East Beach, the place to be, the Galvestonian is convenient, friendly, and has all the amenities we could ask for. We will return!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, TX, USA
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

The highest rating is completely well deserved and earned. The grounds and lobby are immaculate and beautiful. Front desk staff is friendly and attentive. Our unit in the 12th floor had a spectacular view but I think ALL units have a super view. I am very picky about beds so I was so pleased that my unit had a good quality mattress. I don't know if we'll ever stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bossyvossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Beautiful, well-maintained property. Excellent pool and really nice people. Staff was excellent - they were there when you needed them and unobtrusive when you didn't, even coming from behind the counter to help with the door when hands were full. The grounds were immaculate. We had a maintenance issue while we were there (faucet leaking under the sink) and they responded within 5 minutes and fixed the problem. Fully stocked kitchen with everything we possibly needed. There were even swim diapers for our little one at the front desk. They take good care of this property and it shows. The location is excellent, with quick access to The Strand and seawall businesses. It's nice to be on the beach instead of behind a road. Can't say enough good things about this place. The price is very competitive for Galveston. The only dings I give this place are due to the worn-out, bumpy sleeper sofa in our unit. Thanks to the Galvestonian for a great weekend!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank taylorich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Condo #1200 lovely three bedroom penthouse level condo on the east end of the building with the greatest views. Three couples spent New Years at this condo and had more fun than we could have imagined. This place has great beds, roomy den area and well equipped kitchen. The views from the numerous balconies cover both the beach and Galveston Bay. We will definitely return!!

Room Tip: Southeast corner condo on penthouse level, cannot beat the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bobby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We travel to Galveston for weekend get away's often and have stayed multiple places. Recently, we stayed at the Galvestonian. It has been close to 7 years since our previous visit to this condominium. What a pleasant surprise to see all the improvements and updating that has been done! Absolutely loved the towels provided for the beach/pool! We will definitely come back - another bright spot is the friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charlotte O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.7 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
748 reviews
5.8 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
5.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Galvestonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Galvestonian

Property: The Galvestonian
Address: 1401 East Beach Drive, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-3323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#1 Family Hotel in Galveston
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Galvestonian 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Galvestonian is designed for pleasure and relaxation. For outdoor fun, the large heated swimming pool, which features a hot-tub Jacuzzi, is elevated on a deck which runs almost the entire length of the building. This affords the privacy you deserve, plus a spectacular view of the Gulf of Mexico. The spacious poolside cabana is quiet, shaded area for enjoying pool side refreshments. For tennis buffs, there are two lighted courts. And, of course, there are miles of beach a few steps down from the pool deck. You can stroll along the water's edge, build sand castles or simply relax on the sand and let the sun's golden rays warm your body.East Beach is the most exclusive beach in Texas. Only 50 minutes from Hobby Airport and only three minutes from downtown Galveston. East Beach is a hideaway which will allow you to escape life's pressures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your The Galvestonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Galvestonian Hotel Galveston
Galvestonian Hotel Galveston
Galvestonian Resort Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing