We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Grand Opera/Riders in the Sky” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Victorian Bed & Breakfast Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galveston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Victorian Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #3 of 13 Galveston B&B and Inns
Houston
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Grand Opera/Riders in the Sky”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

I'm not big on B & B's but this was a wonderful, elegant place for our weekend visit to the Island. The building structure is over 100 years old and in perfect repair with beautiful furniture and period antiques yet it was quiet and comfortable as opposed to other B & B's where I have stayed. Tree carvings and bunny rabbits are found in the garden and sitting on the veranda with a glass of wine was a perfect "unwind". It is conveniently located walking distance to the strand. Marcy is a perfect hostess and a very interesting person. Her food was awesome, fresh seasonal fruit, homemade fig preserves, warm ginger bread, eggs benedict, yogurt, granola i.e., something for everyone's palate. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MickeyFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
33
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

B&Bs are our preferred lodging when we travel so we have a lot of experience with these across the country. We just stayed at the Victorian Inn in Galveston for a medical school reunion in Galveston. The mansion is one block over from where I lived as a medical student in Galveston. This is truly a very special place. The owner/manager Marcy Hanson is totally dedicated to her home and B&B. The mansion is one of the best that we have stayed at. The room was large, quiet, comfortable, and impeccably decorated to the Victorian and historic times in Galveston. Marcy will give you a tour and terrific history of the house. Being a Galveston native and long time resident of Galveston, she will give you some great history of the city and recommendations of what to do and the local's restaurants. This really adds a great touch to the stay. She maintains a rabbit rescue and you can walk around among them which is a real treat. When staying here you can take a nice walk through the historic home district and you are in very close proximity to the Strand historic area. Marcy is a terrific chef and her breakfast is one of the best that we have had at a B&B. Marcy is really fun to talk with. I can't recommend another place more highly. I only wish we could have spent more time there. Please feel free to contact me if I can help you with your stay in Galveston.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Erik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

An exquisite place to stay – we spend a lot of time on the big porch when we visit..
Marcy is the perfect hostess – and makes killer breakfasts. All rooms are great –
The Inn is within walking distance to the Original Mexican Inn, the Sunflower Bakery, the Strand, and the Seawall (less than a mile away).

Room Tip: the garden apartment on the lower floor has a private entrance and is best for extended stay (has it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, TX
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our 6th anniversary on a weekend trip to the island. The Victorian Inn is a gorgeous historic home full of original fireplaces, floors and carved wood work plus added antiques and furnishings yet it is warm and comfortable.

We stayed in Laura's room which was full of charm and quite nice. The bed was soft and comfy and the room was suprisingly large. In the main bedroom was a king size bed and a table and chairs for games or snacks. There is a day bedroom off to one side with a twin bed in it as well. Like most historic homes of the time, to get to your private patio you walk out the window! The windows are floor to ceiling and slide up to allow you access to a small covered patio. The shared bath was dated pink tile but it fits in the home and was spotless clean and well furnished should you have forgotten something.

The Inn's location is perfect walking distance(1/4-1 mile) from many resturaunts, shops and attractions and it was a very easy drive to the seawall and beach as well. We walked to The Original Mexican Inn, The Mosquito Cafe, The Strand, the Tall Ship Elissa, the Ocean Star Drilling Rig and Museum, Starbucks, The Bishop's Palace and more!

Marcy was a great hostess who is very familiar with the area and has many recommendations on things to do and places to eat. She also cooks an excellent breakfast including fabulous homemade fig preserves and blueberry jam!

The price of the Victorian is on par with many local hotels which are far shadier looking and not nearly as high of quality.

We will certainly stay here again in the future!

Room Tip: Don't shy away from the rooms with a shared bathroom. You rarely see the other patrons of the I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FlyingBeadle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed here prior to a cruise last year and it was just a little piece of heaven.
Our check in was quick and painless, the room was so cute!
Breakfast was included and it was very tasty with lots of different options to choose from.
We were able to leave our car parked for the week while on the cruise, which was an added bonus. It wasn't too far away for us to just walk back from the ship upon debarkation.

Will definitely stay here again and highly recommend to others staying in the area :)

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room here ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ShooThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pointblank, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

Four friends really enjoyed our weekend at this bed and breakfast. It is a beautiful house with a beautiful hostess. We had the third floor suite, 2 bedrooms, private bathroom and living room. This is the only suite on this floor. It is a long climb, but worth it. The house has quite a history surviving two major hurricanes and you could never tell. The bunny sancuary was so cool. Hats off to Marcy for taking them in and giving them a permanent home. Breakfast was outstanding, Marcy made a quiche that was kind of biscuits and gravey on the bottom and a wonderul egg custard on top. I definately will go back and would recommend this place to everyone. It was such a welcoming and homey place and close to the beach and the Strand. Our bed just was so comfortable, it seemed to embrace you.

Room Tip: If you have more than two people, take the climb you will enjoy the 3rd floor suite, very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sylvia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

some friends came across the Victorian Inn a few weeks ago so we went down for a weekend. Marcy gave a great tour of the home with great details of its history. The place is great; beautiful garden, excellent breakfast and close to most everything in old Galveston making it easy to walk to lunch or dinner. can not wait til another chance to go and stay longer.

Room Tip: rooms with a balcony are great, but the main level porch is great and a fun place to hang out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tommy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.5 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.4 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 52 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
0.5 mi away
Lost Bayou Guest House
Lost Bayou Guest House
#4 of 13 in Galveston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victorian Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victorian Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: The Victorian Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 511 17th St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-4805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Victorian Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing