We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Galveston Island Resort
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront(Galveston)(Great Value!)
$96
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
$117
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Harbor House Hotel & Marina at Pier 21(Galveston)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Scottish Inn(Galveston)(Great Value!)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center(Galveston)(Great Value!)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$131
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$138
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The San Luis Resort(Galveston)(Great Value!)
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,475)
Filter reviews
2,475 results
Traveler rating
1,161
625
356
198
135
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,161
625
356
198
135
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe executive loungeswim up barrainforest cafegalveston islandconvention centerlandry's seafoodacross the streetbalcony roomhousekeeping staffpool areagulf viewgreat poolshuttle servicecruise terminalsan luis resortspring breakseawall blvd
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,400 - 2,405 of 2,475 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2006

We stayed here for a quick weekend away and had a lovely time. We had a room in the new tower section on the 7th floor facing the Gulf. While the room did not have a balcony we were happy to be in the new section (we did hear one person complaining at breakfast that they were in the older section of the hotel and their room smelled of mold). Our room was very clean and well appointed. It was roomy and decorated in a subtle beach theme. I liked the seperate vanity area where I could get ready while my husband was in the bathroom. The beds had the down comfortors that I love. Our only complaint about the room was that the air conditioner was a bit on the loud side.

We ate one dinner and two breakfasts at the hotel restaurant - the food was typical hotel fare but the atmosphere was above average.

We were impressed with the Hilton staff - everyone we met along the way was extremely friendly.

After reading the mixed reviews we weren't sure what to expect but we were pleasantly surprised! We would absolutely chose to return to this hotel for another get away weekend in Galveston.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank frog0823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2006

I just returned from a two day stay at the HIlton Beachfront in Galveston. The hotel overall is average it needs some upgrading. The room was very clean. The price seems high for the amenities the hotel has to offer. I paid $217.35 per night. The pool, jacuzzi and sauna were nice, but the pool bar closes at 6:00pm and the hotel has no live band or music. As far as the food, we had breakfast at IHOP for breakfast and we had dinner at Landry's, which is walking distance from the hotel. I wouldn't be able to rate the hotel food, because we ate out the time we stayed at the Hilton. The hotel needs more parking and the staff at the front desk and bartender were not very friendly.

Stayed: September 2006
5  Thank bonnie1168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Hilton for one night, mid-week.
The lobby itself is very well appointed, but our room left much to be desired. There were water stains on the wallpaper from a previous leak, the balcony was littered with cigarette butts(even though this was a nonsmoking room )and we found a empty potatoe chip bag behind the dresser. When walking down the hallway to our room there were numerous trays of food outside peoples doors- after aprox. 8 hours the leftover food was starting to smell so I complained to the front desk and the trays were removed in a timely manner. The first day the pool water felt a little greasy,( from sunscreen maybe?) but when we returned earlier the next day it felt alot cleaner. Management needs to "clean up there act" and get this property to its full potential.

Stayed: August 2006
5  Thank churchmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2006

Stayed here for 2 nights, 13th & 14th July, was given a Tower room sea view room.

Genuinely enjoyed my stay, the pool was nice and the swim up bar is a nice place to lose a couple of hours in the afternoon.

The hotel bar and restaurant lacked atmosphere, but there is plenty going on around or near the hotel - the bar at the Holiday Inn seemed to attract a lot of custom.

Room service was good.

Only glitch is that we ended up waiting a few minutes for a table to come free for breakfast, but that's not unique to this hotel depending when you choose to eat.

Would certainly stop here again.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank Gurnip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kristin s, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2016

Thank you for your kind words about the hotel and staff. We will be sure and spread the great news of how the staff is exceeding expectations and fulfilling dreams and goals. Thank you once again and we look forward to you visiting in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2006

We just got back from spending the weekend down in Galveston. We really enjoyed staying at this hotel. We stayed in the tower, which from what I here is much nicer than the older part that overlooks the pool and has a balcony. Our room was very nice, clean and comfortable and exceeded our expectations. We were very impressed. We arrived very early and check-in was not until 4 pm. So we changed into our swimsuits and headed down to the pool. The pool was okay, it looks like some of the tile was coming off, but the big rock waterfall and swimup bar more than compensated for that. We were just going to swim for a little bit but ended up spending most of the day at the pool and swimup bar and had a great time meeting people and chatting. We met some great people from all walks of life. It was very relaxing. This hotel is very conveinent to restaurants and nightlife on Seawall Boulevard. We were able to walk to most places we wanted to go. We will be back again in a few months for a long weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brockwiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews