We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice hotel, but getting a bit worn & too crowded” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Galveston Island Resort
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
177 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but getting a bit worn & too crowded”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have stayed at the Galveston Hilton several times before & it has always been a nice place to stay at. This trip, it seemed like the heavy use by people wanting fun in the sun & on the beach were wearing the hotel out. The room was typical Hilton issue, but the lobby bar & pool area were showing wear & tear. The staff were all nice, but seemed sometimes harried with so many customers. We were particularly concerned about the pool area. There was so much competition for lounges, we had our personal things moved so others could get our chairs. I noticed a lot of people walking off the street through an external pool entrance. I asked about it & the waitress said that because the Hilton was owned by the same company as other beach-front hotels that their customers from the other hotels could use the Hilton pool. This bothered us from a crowding standpoint, but also from a safety standpoint. We had to watch our stuff all of the time & that took some of the desired relaxing away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RonDog82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review on Trip Advisor. Your opinion is very valuable to our staff and future guests to the area. I hope to see you back very soon.
Have a great day!

Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    813
    477
    268
    137
    99
See reviews for
586
503
51
349
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jollyville, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I stayed here on October 14 for a Public Health Emergency Preparedness quarterly meeting. The service and hospitality was more than excellent. Everyone was friendly.

I asked one of the staff, who turned out to be the general manager (Mike Pistone), about a cigar store. He gave me a couple of cigars from his personal inventory for me be enjoy while I was walking on the beach.

I will definitely return to the Hilton with my family.

Room Tip: The rooms in the tower on the 6th floor and above have an excellent view of the Gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you and it was very nice meeting you. It is our cuture to get to know our guest and make their stay with us a gret experience. I appreciate you choosing us and hope to see you back in the future.
Mike Pistone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Although this hotel was under some renovations during our stay, each staff member we saw was quite friendly and helpful. The ballrooms were enormous and had plenty of room for our conference. Great view too. The pool is beautiful! Also perfect distance from the beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank You, thank you, thank you. I appreciate the very nice review to Trip Advisor. I hope to see again when in the area. Have a great day!
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarendon, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Everything was really nice and the staff was friendly and helpful. The pool area was nicely kept, as well as the rooms. Went to have a night cap at the bar/lounge and it was nice but $5 for a beer was a little high.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review on Trip Advisor. Your opinion is very valuable to our staff and future guests to the area. I hope to see you back very soon.
Have a great day!

Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This seawall location is a great for conventions - immediately next to the large Galveston Island Convention Center. Though an older building, it is kept clean. A/C’s work well and are a welcome change from the humidity outside. Each room has a small ocean view balcony. There are plenty of high/good quality restaurants within walking distance. Nice pool area too. Great staff courtesy during my three day stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review on Trip Advisor. Your opinion is very valuable to our staff and future guests to the area. I hope to see you back very soon.
Have a great day!

Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My coworker & I stayed here for three days for a conference. Excellent customer service from the front counter & service staff in the restaurant. Staff member Tiffany from the restaurant was awesome in making sure our drinks were filled and that our food was out in a timely manner. Excellent breakfast buffet, a little high $13.99, but worth it. Room was comfortable and excellent view from our balcony! A few things that need to be addressed...when we first arrived, our water glasses were dirty and still filled with water. We contacted the front counter immediately and the staff took care of it quickly. But we noticed that the cleaning staff overseeing our room was slacking on their duties. We noticed little things such as our trash was not getting thrown out and some items not being stocked such as toilet paper. Also, shocked that the hotel does not have any first aid items handy for guests. I had another coworker who fell down and scrape her knees horribly and the front counter had only 3 Band-Aids to give her and told her she could walk down the road to a store to get first aid items. Thankfully I came upon her and took her to my room where I carry my own first aid items and was able to take care of her immediately. Overall, I had a good experience and would stay again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony that faces the pool area, b/c you will be able to catch the beautiful sunr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bookbutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank You, thank you, thank you. I appreciate the very nice review to Trip Advisor. I hope to see again when in the area. Have a great day!
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My stay was good from the moment of the courteous staff greeting me at check in to the ease of check in and check out. The Hotel was clean and safe and was updated. Very conveniently located to points of interest. The equipment worked well and you could even pay if you wanted wi-fi. Good stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review on Trip Advisor. Your opinion is very valuable to our staff and future guests to the area. I hope to see you back very soon.
Have a great day!

Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.9 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
3.2 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 52 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 stars 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Galveston Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Property: Hilton Galveston Island Resort
Address: 5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-5874
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#4 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#5 Business Hotel in Galveston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#12 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Galveston Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at Hilton Galveston Island Resort and enjoy a premier oceanfront location overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Situated on the historic Seawall Boulevard at the 32-acre San Luis Resort, this Galveston hotel is within close walking distance of the beach, fishing piers, shopping and restaurants. Relax in a cozy guest room with elegant, ocean-inspired decor and marvel at breathtaking sea views form a private balcony, or choose a suite with separate living space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Galveston Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Galveston Island Hotel Galveston
Galveston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing