We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced. Small rooms. Bad pool bar.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Galveston Island Resort
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Trophy Club, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Overpriced. Small rooms. Bad pool bar.”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We took the family for a last minute escape, just before school started in August. WASTE OF MONEY. I am a Hilton HHonors Gold VIP member and have come to expect great things from their hotels. This one was priced at over $300 per night, which led me to expect the typical high quality that I experience at most Hilton properties. At $300+ per night we should have called one of the local beach house rental agencies and rented a house. This place was crowded, loud, dirty and had poor service except at breakfast. The pool bar drinks were overpriced and poorly mixed. I have never seen so many tattoos and piercings in one pool at one time. We decided to hang out by the beach instead. I could go on, but..........

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarinDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for your cadid comments on Trip Advisor. We are always striving to improve so your feedback is welcomed. I will forward your review to our operational staff. I hope that you will have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,010
    569
    327
    179
    122
See reviews for
751
615
60
427
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We typically alsways stau at Hilton Hotels. In this case it was for us to attend a conference at the center next door. As always the staf was extremely polite and cordial. Our room was great and had a nice view of the water-Gulf of Mexico.
The first morning we had a problem at breakfast. The food was 45 minutes late, with few guests in the restaurant and when it arrived the toast was burned. We complained and Kelly took charge. She provided us with a free breakfast coupon for the next day and that next morning she personally saw to it that we received

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review on Trip Advisor. Your opinion is very valuable to our staff and future guests to the area. I hope to see you back very soon.
Have a great day!

Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The staff was wonderful - they should be very proud to have them working at the hotel. Made my week stay very enjoyable. Location is great - lots of good places to eat within walking distance and with the Kroger next door made it easy to get anything I might have forgotten to bring.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Tami F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank You, thank you, thank you. I appreciate the very nice review to Trip Advisor. I hope to see again when in the area. Have a great day!
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Jackson, Texas
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2013

everything went great The hotel staff was the most gracious, friendly, and helpful
the palm restaurant in the hotel was the best dining i've ever had. waitress's kelly and tiffany were outstanding and professional. will stay again soon

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larrystowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review on Trip Advisor. Your opinion is very valuable to our staff and future guests to the area. I hope to see you back very soon.
Have a great day!

Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The hotel staff was the most gracious, friendly, and helpful I have been around. Kristina at the desk was the best! She went out of her way, above and beyond to ensure I was happy. The housekeeping staff and maintenance staff were also very friendly and were anxious to make the difference. The staff there is the difference from an average hotel to an awesome experience. The rooms are expensive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler2400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank You, thank you, thank you. I appreciate the very nice review to Trip Advisor. I hope to see again when in the area. Have a great day!
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed at the Hilton as part of a conference the first week of October 2013. The hotel itself is great - the staff was the most friendly and outgoing I've experienced in a long time. Everyone from the front desk to the maintenance workers working on renovations took the time to look you in the eye and greet you, make sure everything was okay, and offer assistance if needed. The property is nice... the pool area and swim-up bar are great. My only problem with my stay was the location. It is just far enough away from The Strand and other "eastern Seawall Blvd" attractions to need to drive or cab. Waiting 15-20 minutes for a cab to take me 2-3 miles was frustrating - I usually ended up walking instead. The hotel would do its guests a great service by offering bike rental. All-in-all, it was a great property, just in a mediocre location.

Room Tip: I stayed in the tower that faced the Gulf - great views, but no balconies. The balcony rooms had gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikew71772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review on Trip Advisor. Your opinion is very valuable to our staff and future guests to the area. I hope to see you back very soon.
Have a great day!

Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The hotel staff is possibly the most outstanding from a service standpoint I have enjoyed in at least a decade. The property itself is in need of some upgrades/improvements, and renovation had begun the week before I left. I will absolutely return to see the changes - I had the privilege of seeing a small area with the new carpeting and wallpaper, and I can assure that it is going to be beautiful.

As beautiful as the hotel will be (and it is perfectly acceptable in it's current condition), the service is what will bring you back. And the word "service" doesn't do the hotel justice - it's all about attitude. From the minute you meet the bell staff to your first encounter with the front desk (my personal favorite department at this hotel), you will be treated as though you are the only person staying there, and that you have just become the newest member of their family.

I have had the extremely good fortune to have been given the opportunity to travel around the world, and the Hilton should package this entire hotel full of employees and send them around the world to other hotels just to train others in why we call this a "Hospitality" Industry.

Room Tip: The Oceanside View is obviously the first choice anyone would make. However, I had a west side view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
I personally appreciate yor feedback about your stay at the Hilton Galveston. Your comments as well as others are very valuable to our operation. Please consider us for future stays.
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.9 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
0.5 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Galveston Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Property: Hilton Galveston Island Resort
Address: 5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-5874
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#4 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#5 Business Hotel in Galveston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#12 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Galveston Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at Hilton Galveston Island Resort and enjoy a premier oceanfront location overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Situated on the historic Seawall Boulevard at the 32-acre San Luis Resort, this Galveston hotel is within close walking distance of the beach, fishing piers, shopping and restaurants. Relax in a cozy guest room with elegant, ocean-inspired decor and marvel at breathtaking sea views form a private balcony, or choose a suite with separate living space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Galveston Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Galveston Island Hotel Galveston
Galveston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing