We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Galveston Island Resort
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The hotel staff is possibly the most outstanding from a service standpoint I have enjoyed in at least a decade. The property itself is in need of some upgrades/improvements, and renovation had begun the week before I left. I will absolutely return to see the changes - I had the privilege of seeing a small area with the new carpeting and wallpaper, and I can assure that it is going to be beautiful.

As beautiful as the hotel will be (and it is perfectly acceptable in it's current condition), the service is what will bring you back. And the word "service" doesn't do the hotel justice - it's all about attitude. From the minute you meet the bell staff to your first encounter with the front desk (my personal favorite department at this hotel), you will be treated as though you are the only person staying there, and that you have just become the newest member of their family.

I have had the extremely good fortune to have been given the opportunity to travel around the world, and the Hilton should package this entire hotel full of employees and send them around the world to other hotels just to train others in why we call this a "Hospitality" Industry.

Room Tip: The Oceanside View is obviously the first choice anyone would make. However, I had a west side view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
I personally appreciate yor feedback about your stay at the Hilton Galveston. Your comments as well as others are very valuable to our operation. Please consider us for future stays.
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    452
    251
    132
    92
See reviews for
539
475
47
336
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jonesboro, Arkansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I have to say this place is a good example of an average hotel (facility wise) can seem like a 5 star hotel. The staff is what makes this location phenomenal. They go above and beyond to be courteous, kind and respectful. Every single staff member from the front desk, to maintenance make you feel welcome and special. They are also consistent with this throughout your stay, not just at check-in. They get to know your name and they take the time to listen to your needs. They most definitely are not "trolling" for tips. I highly, highly recommend this location for any stay in Galveston. You will make the best decision of your traveling life when you do.

Room Tip: Rooms in the tower are nicer, but the original rooms have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thebradhyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank You, thank you, thank you. I appreciate the very nice review to Trip Advisor. I hope to see again when in the area. Have a great day!
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The Staff was extremely friendly and more than willing to knock themselves out for you. I was there for four nights and enjoyed the whole stay.

Conspicous by their can-do attitude is the staff of the Lobby Retaurant. Kelly and her staf were always there for breakfast with a smile. Rate them excellent!!

Bob Threatt
Composite Cooling Solutions
Fort Worth, Texas

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bonhomme555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
I personally appreciate yor feedback about your stay at the Hilton Galveston. Your comments as well as others are very valuable to our operation. Please consider us for future stays.
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The staff at this facility are hands down the friendliest and most helpful of any major chain hotel I've stayed. Housekeeping needs special commendation. The room is large, beds/pillows are what one expects in a fine Hilton Hotel. Having a dressing table and upholstered bench (and lighted make-up mirror) outside bathroom was a nice amenity. The view of Gulf was gorgeous from our room. The pool is very nice. Please note: the ONLY reason this facility did not warrant "excellent" was because it's a little worn. However, new paint and wallpaper was being installed while we were there.

Room Tip: Worth spending just a tad more and getting the Gulf view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 67kewpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review on Trip Advisor. Your opinion is very valuable to our staff and future guests to the area. I hope to see you back very soon.
Have a great day!

Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruther Glen, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

In my 40+ years of traveling, on both sides of the Atlantic, this hotel takes the cake when it comes to staff friendliness. Management has worked with ALL staff members to ALWAYS greet hotel guests and to then thank the guests when they respond in kind.
I have never seen such an outreach to a guest. Makes me want to live in the hotel.
Thank you management and staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dieter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank You, thank you, thank you. I appreciate the very nice review to Trip Advisor. I hope to see again when in the area. Have a great day!
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Just got back from 4 glorious days in Galveston. Once again, we stayed at the Hilton. It really is the best place on the beach. Beautiful property, close to everything, balcony rooms have a great view of the water, staff is GREAT! Definitely will be back again.

Room Tip: Request upper floor balcony room (3rd floor or higher) on the east side of the hotel for the best wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MerryT54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank You, thank you, thank you. I appreciate the very nice review to Trip Advisor. I hope to see again when in the area. Have a great day!
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
121 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The hotel is great in many senses. Comfortable room, all equipped and with a nice view of Galveston Beach. Magnificent pool with an island in the middle, cascades and a jacuzzi. But the real reason behind the max grade I gave is the crew. Everybody, and I mean EVERYBODY, greets you in the morning with a smile in their face. The waiters in the restaurant do everything to make your meal a nice experience. All employees act as if they are there only to please you and make your stay there the best possble. Well, they succeeded!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review on Trip Advisor. Your opinion is very valuable to our staff and future guests to the area. I hope to see you back very soon.
Have a great day!

Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.5 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Galveston Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Property: Hilton Galveston Island Resort
Address: 5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#4 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#5 Business Hotel in Galveston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#12 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Galveston Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at Hilton Galveston Island Resort and enjoy a premier oceanfront location overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Situated on the historic Seawall Boulevard at the 32-acre San Luis Resort, this Galveston hotel is within close walking distance of the beach, fishing piers, shopping and restaurants. Relax in a cozy guest room with elegant, ocean-inspired decor and marvel at breathtaking sea views form a private balcony, or choose a suite with separate living space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Hilton Galveston Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Galveston Island Hotel Galveston
Galveston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing