We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Not a resort but a nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Galveston Island Resort
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Not a resort but a nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

First I wouldnt call this a resort, it is a nice beach hotel. Rooms are average, the ones with the balconys are nicer, the others in the tower are like a different hotel. Good service with drinks, towels etc by the pool. Close to the small pier for fishing, and a 10 mins drive to the main attractions in downtown Galveston (too far to walk for us). We paid a high rate (over $250 per night) for this place and I dont think it was worth it at that price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building, not the tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie_Lon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review to Trip Advisor. Your feedback is very important to our operation. Please consider us again in the future.
Have a wonderful day.
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    765
    455
    251
    132
    92
See reviews for
541
476
47
337
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rusk, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Love this hotel. I try to stay every time I am on the Island. Great place for families. Staff are awesome. Rooms are so comfortable. The pool is our favorite part of the hotel. Swim up bar with lots of smoothies for kids. Great view of the ocean from the rooms. All in all our favorite hotel in Galveston for business and pleasure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Angie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
I appreciate the kind review of your stay with us. I will certainly pass your comments on to staff to review. i hope to see you again when in the area.
Have a great day!
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport T
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This hotel is a beautiful, clean place which I would have loved anyway, but it got even better! The only room available when we arrived was a smoking room, which I had requested a non smoking. The manager and staff went way above what was expected and made our stay the most unbelievable two nights. I will always book at the Hilton in Galveston when in the area!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Marsha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for the kind words. I appreciate your review posted to Trip Advisor. Yor input helps make us a better operation. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience with us.
Have a wonderful day!
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We just completed a three night stay at this hotel. The greats: the staff is wonderful, accommodating, and extremely attentive. Whether is was front desk, bellman, or other service personnel, they were all fantastic to deal with. The goods: rooms are clean, showers strong, TV is a flat screen with limited channels, and the pool, although over chlorinated, is a nice retreat with swim up bar, poolside food service, and good staff. The location is also good. It's a sister property and next door to San Luis upscale hotel with Landry's and Rainforest cafe sandwiched in between.

And now the bad's: just one.. The restaurant located inside is under staffed, menu items listed are routinely not available, and the decor is something straight out of 1985. Skip it, there are plenty of other great options in town!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philm28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
I appreciate your review posted to Trip Advisor. Yor input helps make us a better operation. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience with us.
Have a wonderful day!
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The room was dirty, furnishings were dated, beds were small and hard. The hallways were dirty. Staff was ok but definitely not attentive. We paid extra for a balcony that looked over a parking lot with a very poor view of the ocean. The best part was the location but not worth the $$$. Not what I expected from a Hilton site.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vernon, Indiana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My wife and I recently spent a few days here after a business trip to Dallas. What a great stay we had! One of the first things I noticed was how friendly and accommodating everyone was. And I do mean everyone! Everyone from the front desk, the parking attendants, housekeepers, and even maintenance workers, they all made it a point to smile and say hi. It seemed they all were genuinely concerned with how your stay was going. I even met a couple of maintenance guys on the stairs as they were taking a mattress from one floor to another. They stopped and asked about our stay and then apologized as if they were in my way! The room was great and was clean. We did opt for a balcony and as others have mentioned, the air conditioner exhaust blows right on to it. The balcony did afford a nice view of the ocean, however the way the building was situated, you got absolutely none of the breeze from it. You could clearly see the flags and trees blowing, but felt none of the wind on the balcony. Also, the elevators were the slowest moving elevators I think I've ever been on! The only negatives I can come up with were the elevators, the air conditioner exhaust and the lack of a breeze on the balcony. Those were far overshadowed by the good things and certainly didn't put a damper on our stay. We spent most of our time out running around on the island doing other things. Plenty of good restaurants were within walking distance. Would definitely come here again!

Room Tip: I'd forgo the balcony room and upgrade to one of the nicer rooms with a direct view of the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KEverage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
I appreciate so much your kind review on Trip Advisor. Your feedback means a lot to the staff when passed on to them. This goes withut saying for travelers who are coming to Galveston as well looking for a nice place to stay.

Thank you again,
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My family and I had a great stay at the Hilton! The service was outstanding the food was great, and the restaurant staff was very friendly. They made sure we had all the things we needed to make our meals enjoyable. We ordered room service one morning and it was delivered with perfect timing and yummy! The swimming pool area was a lot of fun, with kid activities, and a swim up bar! The only negative thing is that the elavators were extremely slow and busy. No service elevator.... but we had a wonderful stay here!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJadeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your review with Trip Advisor. I will make sure to share your comments with our staff. Again I appreciate you taking the time to give feed back of your stay with us.
Please have agreat day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.5 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Galveston Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Property: Hilton Galveston Island Resort
Address: 5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-5874
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#5 Business Hotel in Galveston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#12 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Galveston Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at Hilton Galveston Island Resort and enjoy a premier oceanfront location overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Situated on the historic Seawall Boulevard at the 32-acre San Luis Resort, this Galveston hotel is within close walking distance of the beach, fishing piers, shopping and restaurants. Relax in a cozy guest room with elegant, ocean-inspired decor and marvel at breathtaking sea views form a private balcony, or choose a suite with separate living space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Galveston Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Galveston Island Hotel Galveston
Galveston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing