We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Galveston Island Resort
Nearby Hotels
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront(Galveston)(Great Value!)
$170
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront(Galveston)(Great Value!)
$199
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Galveston(Galveston)(Great Value!)
$149
ComfortSuites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor House Hotel & Marina at Pier 21(Galveston)(Great Value!)
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$170
$161
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$229
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The San Luis Resort(Galveston)
$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$269
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,536)
Filter reviews
2,536 results
Traveler rating
1,189
634
364
206
143
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,189
634
364
206
143
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe executive loungeswim up barrainforest cafegalveston islandconvention centerlandry's seafoodacross the streetbalcony roomhousekeeping staffpool areagulf viewgreat poolshuttle servicecruise terminalsan luis resortspring breakseawall blvd
Filter
Updating list...
2,043 - 2,048 of 2,536 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is a pretty good hotel and is located in a great spot. Real close to good eating places and entertainment. The pool and hot tub is excellent and there is also a sauna next to the pool. Having a swim up bar is very nice, even though we didn't use it.

The parking lot is somewhat bothersome when traffic on the seawall is heavy. I say this because getting out and entering the road is very difficult.

The issues I had with this hotel is that our room had two separate air conditioners and the one in the main room leaked real bad causing the carpet to get soaked, so we had to deal with a wet carpet. We were in the kids camping suite so we didn't change rooms.

We also had problems with two of the three televisions not working properly, with two remotes that wanted to control the other TV when being used. During our stay, we had to have maintenance come in and adjust and reprogram the TV so we could watch it. Luckily, we didn't spend that much time in the suite to watch TV but its just the point.

Carpet in the suite definitely needs some cleaning! Bottoms of our feet were black after getting out of showers and doing a little walking around the room.

Complimentary milk and cookies served to us a night was very nice, and all tasted excellent.

Price is a little steep, but if you want something nice, you have to pay for it!

Room Tip: Kids camping suite is located right at the pool and has its own private patio area. Only drawback is people think the suite's patio is for everyone's use and it isn't. We constantly had to tell people it was a private area, even though a sign is posted.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charitable R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you for your review.Our operation can only get better because of feedback like yours.
Have a wonderful day and thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Overall I was very satisfied with my stay..The pool was clean..the room was clean,,the Hotel was clean and it is in a great location too..Only problem was their directions on their website are wrong..It said to go left @ 61st and Seawall and travel 7 blocks and its a left and 1 block..

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Kiffer1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

I appreciate your posting on Trip Advisor. I will make sure to foward your comments to our staff. Please consider us for your future stays,
Mike Pistone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Nice friendly place. Kid would love this place. Pool was great. But the drinks were watered down. I drank a shot of tequila and didnt feel a thing. It didn't burn or taste like tequila. Pina colada didnt have any kick to it at all. Room was alittle dirty when we arrived. Spot on the comforter, bathroom floor looked like someone had dropped some food on it. Some hair left in the bath tub. But a very pretty place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachBabes30s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you for your comments to Trip Advisor. We can always improve from the reviews.
Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The A/C unit in our room obviously froze up regularly. It froze up and exposed my husband to mold in the carpet - which he is highly allergic to. They obviously don't clean the carpet when this happens and we wound up missing a day of vacation due to this making him sick. The hotel moved us to another room due to our complaint, but the room was not even ready yet. So we left to give the staff time to get the room ready. Then the new room's restroom's sink fixtures didn't work correctly. We couldn't turn off the cold water correctly. And the staff did not even come to clean the room the next day. Geez!! Not impressed at all!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you for your comments to Trip Advisor. We can always improve from the reviews.
Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Let me start by saying that I am a travel agent, and I will not be suggesting this hotel to clients. My husband and I had a romantic mini vacation scheduled for Galveston and wanted to stay by the beach. We stayed the first few nights at the San Luis Resort and it was amazing and worth every penny. They were sold out on the 4th of July, so we moved over to the Hilton Resort next door. At $239.00 per night plus tax and the Hilton name, I figured it would be nice, as well. When we went to check-in, we had a small cooler that we keep our insulin in while we travel. My husband and I both have Type 1 Diabetes, and our insulin cannot get warm. We were told that we could not bring in ANY cooler, no matter how small. We were never told this on the phone, or prior to check-in. Then we told her we needed it for insulin and she didn't believe us, so we had to show her our insulin pumps. She rolled her eyes. Then a manager stepped in and offered a small fridge free of charge. Then we check-in and realize that you must pay for wi-fi, which in this day and age is sad, considering the price. The air took forever to cool the room. We were hot until about 3am. And to top it all off, the walls are very thin. You could hear the neighbors and anyone in the hallway. It was pretty noisy until after midnight, and again at 6am. Maybe, if this were a $99 room, but at $239, I expect better.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you for your comments to Trip Advisor. We can always improve from the reviews.
Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews