We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not a bad stay , but no wow factor” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Galveston Island Resort
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Garrett Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not a bad stay , but no wow factor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We felt, this Hilton is a little dated. Rooms are bit on the small side. However, the staff was very nice and the location is adequate. Overall, we felt the hotel was over-priced, but it was spring break, so we understand. Not a bad stay, but no wow factor.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank MarioG373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
I appreciate your review on Trip Advisor. I will share your feedback with staff to improve our operation. Thank you again for your input,
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    857
    502
    286
    143
    102
See reviews for
610
536
53
367
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

ShaLynn and Kelly were our servers at breakfast last Saturday morning professional, nice and helpful only start to describe them. The food was great everything was near perfect. Our room was nice and clean the front desk girl was covered up when we got there and she still got to us in a timely manner, the only complaint I could think of is the Valet could be more of a professional at such a nice hotel. We enjoyed our stay and will be back!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank buddy1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
I appreciate yor positive feedback. Trip Advisor is a valuable source for guest reviews for our staff. Please consider us for future stays in this area.

Sincerely,
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

The rooms and hotel were a little tired. The staff was great and the pool was excellent. Great location right on the beach drive. Free parking was nice. A little on the expensive side for the overall quality of the hotel. Would expect a much more update lobby and rooms for $200 plus per night!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Your input is important to our staff. Please cosider the Hilton Galveston in the future, Have a wonderful day.
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

If your going to Galveston Island the Hilton on Seawall is great. Staff is friendly and professional. Pool was a welcome relief from the heat and the beach is right across the street. Easy quick access to Pleasure Pier, Moody Gardens and great dining. Opt to go with the bigger room/beds, the gulfview with 2 double beds is rather uncomfortable for 2 adults and teenagers. Overall great experience!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I appreciate you staying with us and look to see you back in the future.
Have a Great Day.

Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My first stay at this Hilton. We were in Galveston for a Conference at the Galveston Convention Center which is right next to the Hilton. We just had to walk across the street. The front desk staff were so accomodating and no problem with my reservation. Then there was Jason, who brought the luggage in from my car after he parked it and then right on up to the room. He was polite and very helpful. Jason is a great asset to the hotel. Beds were very comfortable. View of the Gulf of Mexico was great. Called Housekeeping for towels and in no time they brought more than requested. Also had great service in the restaurant at lunch. The food was very good. Fortunate to have Jason at check-out. Again, Jason was most helpful and accomodating. My stay was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alltvl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for posting a positive review to Trip Advisor. Feeback from our guest make us a better operation. I look forward to seeing you again when in the area.
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Hilton is part of the San Luis resort, which also includes the San Luis hotel and a Holiday Inn. We stayed there for a wedding that was at the San Luis, which has a two-night minimum, and we were only going to be in Galveston for one night. It's immediately across the street from the beach, right next door to the San Luis, and within walking distance to several restaurants and a grocery store.
Somehow, our room got upgraded without an extra charge, and it was a very welcome surprise! Balconies everywhere, very nice furnishings, very comfortable bed, excellent service. Room service breakfast was correct,on time, and delicious. There's a very nice pool, hot tub, and cabanas for rent. The Hilton is now our go to place when visiting Galveston!

Room Tip: Higher floors give you a great view, and definitely get a balcony room. The fresh air coming off th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzleC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. I appreciate your review and will share your feedback with staff.Please consider us in the future.
Thank you,
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
humble
Level Contributor
98 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I took my daughter and her friends to the galveston for her birthday. When we entered the girls room the floor was soaking wet. They brought heavy fans and carpet cleaners up to the room. This was very inconveinent. When we were leaving I told the girls to shake the sheets to make sure we did not leave anything. A cherry tomato fell out of the sheets. We had not eaten in the room. Not a pleasant experience. The customer service is very good. The pool is very nice. The hotel needs to improve its standard of cleanliness.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank texasnice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
I will pass your comments on to our Rooms Manager and Ex. Housekeeper. Your review will make us a better place to stay. I appreciate your feedback.

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.9 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 52 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
2.4 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Galveston Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Property: Hilton Galveston Island Resort
Address: 5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-5874
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#4 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#5 Business Hotel in Galveston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#12 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Galveston Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at Hilton Galveston Island Resort and enjoy a premier oceanfront location overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Situated on the historic Seawall Boulevard at the 32-acre San Luis Resort, this Galveston hotel is within close walking distance of the beach, fishing piers, shopping and restaurants. Relax in a cozy guest room with elegant, ocean-inspired decor and marvel at breathtaking sea views form a private balcony, or choose a suite with separate living space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Galveston Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Galveston Island Hotel Galveston
Galveston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing