We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Galveston Island Resort
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Kemah, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We made last minute plans to stay the night in Galveston on Thanksgiving day and noticed that the Hilton was offering really good rates. I stayed here once before several years ago and was quite pleased. Got a double room with a great gulf view. My only negative is that I wish my room had a balcony. Other than that no complaints.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zeboe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Wanted to take a minute to thank you for posting your experience while staying with us. I will make sure to share your comments with our staff about your stay. Happy Holidays from the Hilton!
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    786
    470
    261
    136
    96
See reviews for
576
488
48
339
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
houston
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and I arrived here on Friday November 9, 2012 for a one night stay before our Disney cruise the next day. I have been to Galveston many times and have stayed at a number of hotels, however this was our first time staying here at the Hilton. I'm so glad we did!! The staff was very friendly, the check in process only took a couple of minutes. We arrived early around 1:00pm they had a room ready for us. We chose a king gulf view room, the clerk at the front desk asked if we wanted a room higher up and we said yes. We were given a room on the 10th floor which had a perfect view of the gulf. The room was very large, it had a nice size bathroom, huge king bed with a sleeper sofa and work desk. Overall we were very pleased with our room and would not hesitate to stay here again. One quick note, the pool area looked awesome, plenty of pool chairs with a swim up bar. I wished we would have taken advantage and gotten in, definitely on our next stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shellywade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your stay at the Hilton Galveston. Please consider us when in the area in the future. Happy Holidays!
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We expected a lot more from a Hilton property. We stayed for one night and made this reservation through Hotels.com. The room was pricey(with internet and fridge, it costed $185). Of course, it had a balcony with the gulf view on the 3rd floor. The room was clean but not spacious. Definitely needs some remodeling as the interiors were outdated. The swimming pool was clean and nice. We did not try the food in the hotel and we can't comment on that. The view was okay but not as I thought it would be. We thought The San Luis Resort would have been a better choice for that price. Overall, it was okay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Satya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
I appreciate your feedback from your stay with us. We can always learn from our guests what is important from their view. Happy Holidays.
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North London UK
Level Contributor
121 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

On first impression was a little concerned about this hotel, with it's out side poor and bar which were both busy we thought we'd selected a party type hotel, however it proved during our stay not to be the case. We weren't disturbed at all by other guests, or by parties, or drunks.

The actual hotel itself was fine, maybe not quite up to the top Hilton standard but no complaints, room was clean, staff were friendly and helpful. We didn't eat or drink in the hotel can't comment on that side. We also got a nice sea view from our room which was great.

Location as many have stated is excellent on the seawall but more to the quieter end. It was an easy drive to most attractions, but like most of the USA a car is a necessity to get around.

Room Tip: Breakfast options are limited the only place in walking distance of the Hilton is an IHOP which is p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dagdabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your stay with us. We value your opinions of our establishment and hope that you will return soon. Again I appreciate you sharing your review.
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
157 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

we expected much more from a Hilton. We are Hilton Honors members so we only stay at Hilton brand or affiliated hotels. Sad to say, but the Embassy Suite and Hampton Inns that we have stayed at are more comfortable than this Hilton.

Location is great, rooms are clean and comfortable but not exceptional. The room we got had lousy views.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank likecomfort_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your posting to Trip Advisor. We take your comments to heart so that we may improve our facility. We appreciate your business.
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is definitely NOT what you expect from a Hilton property. While the rooms are sanitary, the do not feel clean. I cannot explain it exactly, other than you always feel grimy when staying here. If other guests get out of hand (read: drunk), front desk simply says that "Galveston is for fun!" Beds are not really comfortable and seem to be well past their replacement date. It's an okay place, but look for somewhere else first.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidWB95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your comments of the Hilton. we appreciate your views of our property and they will be shared with the staff.
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Multiple stays at this hotel have always yielded the same results. Less expensive than the neighboring San Louis with better rooms and a 100% professional staff. Located on the seawall with great views, swim-up bar, friendly and confrotable lobby bar, and an above average "hotel" dining room. A small mistake in reservations resulted in an upgrade for entire party. Ask for Sybill in the dining room and don't miss Shelly in the lobby bar. If you wish to stay on the seawall as opposed to the Strand, we strongly recommend this hotel. If you prefer "the strand", try the Harbor House on the pier (particularly if you are booked on a cruise out of Galveston).

Room Tip: High in the tower provided excellent view. The older wing has balcony rooms. We selected the tower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeStefHalJoJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for thanking the time to post your views of your stay at our property. i will share your comments with staff to improve our operations. Again, i appreciate your bssiness and hope to see you for future stays!
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
2.9 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Galveston Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Property: Hilton Galveston Island Resort
Address: 5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-5874
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#4 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#5 Business Hotel in Galveston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#12 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Galveston Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at Hilton Galveston Island Resort and enjoy a premier oceanfront location overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Situated on the historic Seawall Boulevard at the 32-acre San Luis Resort, this Galveston hotel is within close walking distance of the beach, fishing piers, shopping and restaurants. Relax in a cozy guest room with elegant, ocean-inspired decor and marvel at breathtaking sea views form a private balcony, or choose a suite with separate living space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Galveston Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Galveston Island Hotel Galveston
Galveston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing