We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and accommodating staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Galveston Island Resort
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly and accommodating staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stay at Hiltons all over the country often. I must say, the staff at this Hilton are amazing. The valet here were extremely accommodating, the service in the restaurant was fantastic, and the bartenders in the lounge and the pool were friendly and fun. Our room with a balcony and view of the ocean and pool was wonderful. I can recommend this Hilton for your stay in Galveston. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: I would definitely suggest the balcony rooms with ocean and pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thanks for your comments posted on Trip Advisor. Our staff really try hard each and every day to give great service to all of our guests. I hope to see you back at the Hilton Galveston to experience another great experience!
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    933
    544
    306
    164
    110
See reviews for
673
583
58
407
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We had a great time at the hotel with our family of 4. The pool with the swim up bar was amazing and our room had a wonderful view of the ocean. The staff were always helpful and friendly. The breakfast was very good at the hotel and very reasonably priced. A couple of tips: book your restaurants reservations early as they good restaurants fill up quickly and the hotel does not serve dinner. You do need to walk across a 4 lane road to the beach but it is that way with all of the hotels along this strand area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debra321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review on our hotel. I'll pass your comments on to staff and please consider the Hilton Galveston when in the area.
Thanks again,
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WALLISVILLE
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

The wafe and I had a wonderful time. We had a few days off together and wanted to relax. We have been married for 12 years now and just needed to get away. All I can say is everything was great. All of the Hilton staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was the best I have ever seen in a hotel. My thanks to housekeeping for doing such a fine job. I look forward to many more stays at this resort.

Room Tip: You just have to stay their. Everything was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FRANK M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Good Morning,
Thanks you so much for your comments on our Galveston Hilton. As a valued customer we appreciate your review posting to Trip Advisor. I hope to see you when traveling to Galveston in the future.
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

This was my first Galveston trip and this place made it great. All around A+. Great and friendly staff. Rooms and location were great as well. It had a nice view and was close to some stores for whatever necessities needed. Beach was inmediately across the street. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HuckJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. I will pass your comments on to staff. Please consider us for future stays.
Thank You,
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

This "hotel" is bad. There is no way this hotel should be included under the Hilton name. My room was dirty. There were clothes in the closet left by previous guests. Did I mention the room was dirty. The entire hotel is worn out, dirty, nasty and smells. The place needs to learn what clean actually means.

The pool area felt like a bacteria breeding ground. The front desk was never staffed properly. The whole time you are checking in, the front desk staff was answering the phone. The check-in process was terrible. There were no towels in the fitness center.....that`s just a basic thing.

The food was average, but too expensive. Do not eat at the hotel, go off property.
I was very disappointed in my three night stay. Never will I stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank on_the_road_guy_tex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
I would like to apologize for the inconveniences that you encountered at the Hilton Galveston Island Resort. It is through guest comments such as yours that we are able to improve our hotel and the level of guest service. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay.

Please rest assured that I have spoken with the appropriate department managers, concerning the issues you experienced while at our resort and all actions will be taken to rectify these problem areas.

I would like to thank you again for your comments. I hope you will give the Hilton Galveston Island Resort another chance in the future.
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were there for my wife's birthday. We stayed in the executive suite and it was great. The staff put a birthday surprise celebration tray in the room with champagne and chocolate-covered strawberries. The food at the Palm Restaurant was delicious. Pool was warm; it had a bar; service was prompt & friendly. The manager on duty Nina Huber was the best. Ask for her. What a great experience! BTW,we stopped there on our move from Los Angeles to Maryland. Thanks, Nina & Galveston s Hilton!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PotterSims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for posting and your review of your experience here at the Galveston Hilton. We appreciate you taking the time and your comments will be shared with our staff. Please consider staying with us when in this area in the future.
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

I live in Houston and had to come to Galveston a few days for work. I've never been to this property before and was amazed by the service of the staff and how accomadating everyone was. I stayed in the "tower" building, a newer part of the hotel I was told. It was great. I had an amazing view of the gulf and the beds were incredibly comfortable. They have a full service restaraunt that serves a great breakfast buffet, I also enjoyed dinner later that night as well. I recommend the gumbo!!! The pool was very nice. I was able to relax and have a much needed adult beverage at the POOL BAR. Bartenders were very professional and easy to talk to. I can't wait to bring my family down to this property. I forgot to mention they are on a resort. Rainforest Cafe, Landry's, and IHOP are on property. My kids will love the Rainforest Cafe which also has a ride INSIDE the restaraunt!! I recommend this hotel to anyone thats looking for a great location, amazing staff, and an incredible stay! Thanks Hilton!

Room Tip: Higher floor in the tower building- great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amber C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
I appreciate you taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. You like so many others who take time to give their feedback has important impact on future guest's decisions. I will share your comments with our associates and hope to see you again when visiting Galveston.
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.9 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
0.5 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
3.2 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 52 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Galveston Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Property: Hilton Galveston Island Resort
Address: 5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-5874
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#4 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#5 Business Hotel in Galveston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#12 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Galveston Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at Hilton Galveston Island Resort and enjoy a premier oceanfront location overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Situated on the historic Seawall Boulevard at the 32-acre San Luis Resort, this Galveston hotel is within close walking distance of the beach, fishing piers, shopping and restaurants. Relax in a cozy guest room with elegant, ocean-inspired decor and marvel at breathtaking sea views form a private balcony, or choose a suite with separate living space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Galveston Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Galveston Island Hotel Galveston
Galveston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing