We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for family getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Galveston Island Resort
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2011

Our family had a great stay at the Hilton on Galveston Island for $99 per night. The first time I contacted the hotel I was quoted $400 per night. I called again the next night and asked why the rate was so high and she said becuase you are arriving on a saturday. She gave me a AAA rate of $135. We changed our arrival time again and this time I got a rate of $99. Go figure. Ask questions if you are unsure about the rate.

I had read reviews on trip advisor ahead of time so I knew that the rooms were nice, the restaurant expensive, the pool was very nice and that the internet connections were sketchy. All of that was true. The location was fabulous as its located in a nice safe central section of the island that is well maintained. The hotel is very close to the seawall which is what we were looking for.

We had a room that faced the pool and part of the gulf. I had planned ahead of time that we would most likely not eat at the restaurant but use coupons and go to others nearby. There was a really nice Landry's right next door as well as an IHOP that we used quite often. If you ask at the front desk they have coupons for both Landry's and the Rainforest cafe for free appetizers. Split your party up at different tables and use more coupons and less money. For our family of four, we always split resulting in this result. Go to the restaurant websites and join their eclubs for free coupons as well. There is a Krogers two blocks away.

The internet connection was not good in the room, however you could get it to work in the lobby area of the hotel. We used the San Luis pool as well as the pool at the Hilton which were both very nice. Overall, we had a good experience at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a gulf view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leases
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COtravler77, Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2016

All around great comments said about the hotel and staff and we appreciate this. We have made improvements over the years since your last visit and we wanted to say thank you and we cannot wait for you to return. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,231 - 2,237 of 2,408 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2011

When we checked in to our first room we notice a weird water leak from the toilet. Called the front desk and they sent up a bellhop to move our bags to a new room down the hall. Very nice touch! Second room was perfect. I really liked the fact that being a Hilton Honors Gold VIP member, I was able to check in early and get a late check out the following day.

The pool and hot tub is great. We really enjoyed the swim up bar in the pool. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OnTheRoadAgainKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kristin s, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2016

I apologize this is so late in communication however we wanted to reach out and say thank you for staying at the Galveston Island Hilton. We pride ourselves on a consistent product with exceptional customer service. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

The front desk staff was friendly and our check-in process went smoothly. Our room was ready, nice and clean - no concerns. Kudos to the house cleaning staff as they were great (flexible on their service timing and very polite). We found all the staff helpful.

Even with the beach right there we still spent quite bit of time around the pool - it 's area was spread out enough so you didn't feel like everyone was on top of each other. Although the pool side grill was not open during our stay, the pool bar accepted food orders.

The resort itself is located between a Kroger grocery store and Landry's / Rain Forest Cafe / IHOP restaurants. All easily within walking distance or property shuttle service on the weekends. Make sure you head over and watch the volcano erupt (every 30 minutes after dark) on the Rain Forest Cafe.

Our only downside was the lack of wifi service in the room (it just didn't work) and at times we even struggled for a signal in the lobby.

All in all, our family really enjoyed the resort and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTinTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COtravler77, Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2016

It is great to hear that you will be returning in the near future. We strive hard to offer a consistent product with exceptional service. Thank you for your business and comments about the hotel and staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

The room was great and very clean. Staff was great. Very disappointed in the view. It is not Beach front. It's side view parking lot. The money spent on it I would rather stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danette2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

We had confirmed reservation for a King room with a balcony, but when we arrived the room was not all all what we had booked. They said they overbooked. The staff was completely rude and very unprofessional. On floor they stuck us on the carpet was stained and smelled sour.They charged our credit card on the day of our stay and then again thirty days later. DON'T STAY HERE you will be better off staying down the seawall.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m0rgan2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

We arrived at the hotel at 4:30, normal check in time. However, could not get in our room until 6 p.m. Then when we checked in the room the bathroom floor was filthy, called for housekeeping please come clean the toilet, bathtub and floor, and to put a light bulb in the lamp by the bed. We left and then returned an hour later; the toilet had been cleaned, and the light bulb replaced, same nasty hair on the floor and on the tub. Called housekeeping back and asked if they would bring me the cleaning supplies, and I would take care of the problem myself. The lady that came back to clean was very thorough and did a good job, just don't know why the room couldn't have been properly cleaned before we checked in or even the second time.
Since we were so late getting checked into our room, I requested a late check out, was told the manager had given instructions that there would be no late check outs. Okay, so I have to wait 2 hours to check in, but had to check out at normal time??? Will definitely not be staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JKR_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

We decided to splurge for our 20th anniversary and stay at the Hilton rather than something cheaper. Why bother? We got worse service and amenities and bigger prices than we had at the Best Western on the way here the night before. 1-1/2 hour wait to get into room (after 4 p..m. check-in time AND being told it would be 10 minutes), no fridge, no microwave, no complimentary breakfast, room pretty average to other cheaper chains we've stayed in. Had a lovely view of the parking lot. Asked for free intenet to comp for the long wait, but no budging there either. Didn't win any friends here. We love Galveston--it sells itself, and we made our own fun, but in spite of Hilton not because of them!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank texastravelers20111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.9 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Harbor House Hotel & Marina at Pier 21
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Galveston Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Address: 5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-5874
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#4 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#5 Business Hotel in Galveston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#11 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: $110 - $458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Galveston Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at Hilton Galveston Island Resort and enjoy a premier oceanfront location overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Situated on the historic Seawall Boulevard at the 32-acre San Luis Resort, this Galveston hotel is within close walking distance of the beach, fishing piers, shopping and restaurants. Relax in a cozy guest room with elegant, ocean-inspired decor and marvel at breathtaking sea views form a private balcony, or choose a suite with separate living space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Galveston Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Galveston Island Hotel Galveston
Galveston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing