We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Rude Reception”
Review of Harbor House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbor House
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Tyler, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Extremely Rude Reception”
Reviewed May 30, 2010

We got to Galveston a little early and went to the hotel... hoping for an early check in. (check in is extremely late @ 4pm). The reception lady told us over an intercom that there was no room ready but she "guessed" she could allow us into the parking area. So called the front desk on my cell phone and asked her to call us when our room was ready since we were early and the temperature outside was near 100 degrees. She huffed that she would and hung up with out so much as a thank you or a kiss my tail. 4pm came and went without a call..... so we went ahead and checked in. We were rudely met at the counter by a young lady that handled the transaction as if she were handling a poisonous apple. She never said hello, thank you, good bye, how are you... NOTHING!!!!! We were treated curtly and as thought we were interupting her afternoon. She handed us our key, told us we were on the third floor and turned away without a word. I even told her "thank you" on three different occasions while checking in... and was never acknowledged. This is by far the worst treatment we've ever received from hotel staff. So far the room is adequate, but adequate doesn't cut it when you're treated like dirt. What a waste of $180. And beware, there is only one place close to park and that is the hotel parking lot. They are going to charge you $10 a night to use the lot.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tytexas01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, General Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, June 3, 2010
I am sorry you were not treated more warmly. We should have done better to assist you when your room was not ready upon arrival. We do care and listen and will make sure this is resolved for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    223
    71
    39
    14
See reviews for
206
314
16
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2010

We booked a room through Wyndham for $229 and would have been disappointed at $80. We were told we had a harbor view but instead had a view of a parking lot. There is only one light in the room which makes reading impossible. The front desk clerk was anything but friendly. And worse the bathroom was filthy. I will post a picture of the faucet later.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sk1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, General Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, May 28, 2010
I am very sorry you had a bad experience. This is not the level of service we are known for and I will try to contact you directly to make this up to you. Every room has a view of the harbor and while one side of the property does have a parking lot nearby it should not hinder your view. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2010

We booked this hotel throught Priceline and paid $70 per night. The hotel was ok but not sure why it is listed as 3 stars as there are very few amenitites. Very small lobby and room was adequate. Beds weren't great and pillows were horrible. We did use the pool at Hotel Galvez on the seawall side (a sister hotel) and that was very nice. Location is good by the Strand district with shopping and restarants very close. There is a restaurant directly below hotel that we could hear when we went to bed, but it didn't bother us. Maid service was extremely slow and our room wasn't cleaned until after 4 both days. Continental breakfast was minimal, but it worked for us. I probably wouldn't chose to stay here again but it was adequate for the price.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tdmetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, General Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, April 24, 2010
Sorry you stay at Harbor House wasn't more than just OK. If you it helps you did get a heck of a deal on your rate.

We are a 3 Star hotel and one of the best select or limited service hotels on the island. And because we are affiliated with The Hotel Galvez, our sister hotel, you and any Habor House guest are entitled to use the great pool bar and grill at the Galvez.

I hope you will come back and take advantage of the pool at the Galvez. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Arkansas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2010

Great location right on the ship channel. Our room looked out over the water and was facing the Elissa. Next to some great restaurants; our favorite is the Fisherman's Wharf. Moderately expensive but very affordable for budgeted travellers. Also, very friendly staff, especially Ms. Wendy, who was on duty when we arrived.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MichaelW122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2010

We loved our room and we loved our view! We enjoyed keeping the windows open and watching all the busy ship traffic coming in and out of the harbor. The rooms were comfy and had the "warehouse" feel and the staff was very friendly and greeted us as we came and went (except for one rude desk clerk). The continental breakfast was a welcome addition in the morning and it was great to be able to go back to our room and read the complimentary newspaper, eat our bagels, and enjoy the fantastic view out our window. The location of this hotel was next to several attractions, restaurants, and extremely close to the Strand (very close walking distance). We were able to park our car for an entire day and just enjoy the good weather and convenience of the location.

After visiting Galveston on several occasions and always staying on the seawall, this was like a whole different vacation and experience of Galveston that we had never seen before. If you've never stayed at the harbor before, definitely make it and stay at Harbor House. We will definitely stay here on our next visit to Galveston!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Houston_Vagabonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
89 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2010

This hotel is very well located; immediately adjacent to numerous tourist attractions and the frequent cruise ships. There are a few restaurants for lunch and dinner. The price of the hotel includes a continental breakfast and it is the biggest disappointment. They serve Starbucks coffee (there is a Starbucks across the street) BUT the worst selection of baked goods and cereals I have ever seen. Skip it and walk across the street to Starbucks. Or better yet walk the few blocks to the excellent bistro in Tremont House.

The lobby is smaller than tiny BUT the staff works very hard at being pleasant and helpful. I have found it rare at this level hotel for them to remember your name each time you pass through. I expect that, and don't often get it, at 5 star properties.

Large rooms with very comfortable and beachy themed appointments. The beds are truly heavenly and you will get a good nights sleep.

Ask for rooms on north side of hotel that points toward Galveston bay .. The views are better.
The bathroom shows it's age and is as tiny as the room is large.
There is a coffee maker in the room but in our case it had not been cleaned and the only coffee packets were decaf so don't wait for the morning to check.

Our rate was $229 during a spring break weekend .. probably not a bad deal if you wish to be close to cruise line but otherwise it is not a good value.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raven40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, General Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, April 24, 2010
Thanks for staying with us. Your business is appreciated.

Sorry you didn't like the continental breakfast at Harbor House. We are working on making this better. We plan to offer pastries, bagels, oatmeal, juices, and coffee.

I hope you will come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2010

Quite a basic hotel but very pleasant. Staff friendly. Room clean and well kept

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottyd783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.3 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
1.2 mi away
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor House

Property: Harbor House
Address: Pier 21, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#9 Family Hotel in Galveston
#11 Business Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbor House 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor House Hotel resides in Galveston Wharf overlooking Galveston Bay. The Harbor House amenities feature spacious guest rooms with scenic harbor views, free Wi-Fi Internet access as well as complimentary breakfast. All Guest rooms are designed to reflect a relaxed ambiance, embellished with nautical-style furnishings and wooden floors. Enjoy nearby attractions, such as the Texas Seaport Museum, The Tall Ship Elissa, and The Great Storm Theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor House Hotel Galveston
Harbor Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing