We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel was pretty but the view from the rooms are not...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harbor House
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    183
    63
    31
    14
See reviews for
158
248
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

After having bad experience we called Harbor House. Staff were very helpful and even tho check in wasn't until late afternoon she told us to come on and they would help. Upon arrival we were given a room immediately. It was extremely large and extremely nice and modern. Right on water with great view, restaurants right on pier and two blocks from the Strand. Free parking and use of the Galvez Hotel and their facilities!! Definitely looking forward to returning for another stay!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BryceSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
We are so glad that our staff at Harbor House could make your visit to Galveston a good one! We are so pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Need more chairs for bedroom area for comfort, only 2 avail, we had 4 people and we did not want to sit on beds when snacking.......

Front desk staff not aware of late check outs until brought to their attn when they called my room, to see if we were staying another day...need to pay attn to what is on info screen when reservations were originally(initially) made.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Rhonda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
We love that you had an "awesome" stay at Harbor House. Thanks you for the feedback and we hope that you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Didn't know where to stay, used reviews from Trip Advisor and it was
awesome. Great rates, views, fantastic staff. The rooms were so clean
and hip, beds extra comfortable. Loved the location we walked to the Strand
for all meals and went to the Crow on Thursday and Friday night for live
entertainment. We had a fabulous time. So happy we used Trip Advisor!!

Room Tip: All rooms had Harbor View
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jbriceland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for describing Harbor House as a "perfect 10." We are so excited that you had a chance to explore The Strand and the nightlife. We hope that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The Harbor House was really up to date with large rooms, big bath, smart lighting. Registration clerk excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank W6831WXjamesd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
We truly appreciate your kind review on your stay at Harbor House. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.3 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
3.6 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor House

Property: Harbor House
Address: Pier 21, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#5 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
#9 Family Hotel in Galveston
#11 Business Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbor House 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor House Hotel resides in Galveston Wharf overlooking Galveston Bay. The Harbor House amenities feature spacious guest rooms with scenic harbor views, free Wi-Fi Internet access as well as complimentary breakfast. All Guest rooms are designed to reflect a relaxed ambiance, embellished with nautical-style furnishings and wooden floors. Enjoy nearby attractions, such as the Texas Seaport Museum, The Tall Ship Elissa, and The Great Storm Theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Harbor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor House Hotel Galveston
Harbor Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing