We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, nice reception and nice layout”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Harbor House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbor House
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Location, nice reception and nice layout”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

As has been written, location is great. Both for dinning, museums or just a stroll. The place is recently renovated and they tried to give it at 'pier house' look, which makes it less bland. No foyer, but the reception people were very kind. There is an area on second floor where breakfast is served which can be used if needed. Breakfats is ok, but not much selection: basically cereals, youghurt, a few Danish and fruit. Rooms are clean and functional. They could have done more in giving the rooms a marina feel, but thats just my taste.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellehoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for the kind review on your stay at Harbor House. As you mentioned, the hotel offers a great location and is near several museums and attractions as well as restaurants. We hope that you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    212
    70
    37
    14
See reviews for
192
296
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
419 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed at the Harbor House for one night while checking out Galveston. The location is good for walking around the main part of town, and for driving to the ferry in the morning. The rooms are decorated in a minimalistic way, something that's quite appealing to European sensibilities. The breakfast is the basic "continental" breakfast you get at motels, didn't really feel up to the standards of the rest of the hotel. Wifi was fast, and the service was matter o'fact but kind.

Room Tip: Try to be harbourside for a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LassiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for the feedback on your stay at Harbor House. We are pleased the you appreciated the decor and the location of the hotel. Please stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

There is no lobby or room to walk around luggage or feel comfortable checking in. The staff ignored us completely because she was on the phone. I will not stay here again... The room had a great view.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your room and the service. It is a small property (42 rooms) so our front desk staff manages several roles while working the desk. We appreciate your feedback and hope that you might reconsider and give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

I went online at 11pm Sat night to find a room after spending a long day in Kemah for the Crawfish Festival. This was the most reasonable price room for the last min choices they had availible. I wanted to be on the seawall but as tired as I was it didnt matter. The hotel doesnt look like much on the outside but once we walked inside it was a nice surprise. The night front desk clerk wasnt that friendly, he told me he didnt have a reservation for me and just stood there and thought I would just leave but I told him I know I had one and I was looking at the confirmation on my phone. He than went into the office and picked up a print out and said oh I found it the other person that was working earlier didnt do their job and get you entered in. I had just made the reservation mins before I walked in so I'm not sure that was true, I think he was the one on duty when I made it. We got booked in and got to our room and was very impressed, the room was nice!! Clean, roomy up to date furniture, the beds were clean and very comfortable. The bathroom was very clean and spacious. The only complaint about the rooms is the low lights, I guess they have some sort of entergy saving system going on and it made the room to dark at night. You had to turn all the lights on just to have the room half lit. Also none of the outlets in the room worked that night so we couldnt charge our phones but that am two of the outlets that didnt work the night before worked for us. Not sure what that was about. The other complaint is the thiness of the walls, I was woken up that morning to two men talking, I thought it was someone coming in our room but it was the guest next door having a conversation in their room. We could also hear the guest outside our door convo as they passed by. But overall this was a nice place to stay, free breakfast in the am, the hotel is connected to a Bar and they have a Joes crab shack and another seafood place in walking distance. Overall we enjoyed and would stay again just wish it was on the seawall so we wouldnt have to drive to get to the beach or the other places located on the seawall. Also the lady at the desk in the am was very friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: The soda, ice and juice machine were not in plain veiw on the 2nd floor. They are behind a door and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Shell A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for the feedback on your stay at Harbor House. We are glad to hear that you like the renovations and we appreciate your insight on the lighting and the issue with charging your phone. We are glad that you were able to get a room at the last minute and we hope you stay with us for an extended visit next time you are in Galveston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

If you're looking for a warm welcoming, relaxing retreat, this is not it.
The rooms are poorly lighted, and have a DIY feal. The price is not reflected in the room, however, it may be for the area. Spend a little more time driving, and stay on the mainland. It would be well worth it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Gerald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
We are so sorry to read that you were disappointed with the hotel. We appreciate your feedback and hope that you will give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.3 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
1.4 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston
1.2 mi away
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor House

Property: Harbor House
Address: Pier 21, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#5 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
#9 Family Hotel in Galveston
#11 Business Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbor House 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor House Hotel resides in Galveston Wharf overlooking Galveston Bay. The Harbor House amenities feature spacious guest rooms with scenic harbor views, free Wi-Fi Internet access as well as complimentary breakfast. All Guest rooms are designed to reflect a relaxed ambiance, embellished with nautical-style furnishings and wooden floors. Enjoy nearby attractions, such as the Texas Seaport Museum, The Tall Ship Elissa, and The Great Storm Theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor House Hotel Galveston
Harbor Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing