We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Harbor House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbor House
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Round Rock, TX
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Very small entry, but Linda G made us welcome. The room was old, but updated, large, and clean. The bed was large and very comfortable. The updates for the rooms should include new carpet. Windows open for that fresh ocean breeze. The hotel is on Pier 21 and centrally located for many of the Galveston attractions. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms above the a/c units toward the front of the hotel, over Tony's
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your stay at Harbor House. We appreciate your insight and we are happy to report that we will be renovating our rooms at the end of the year. Thank you for the compliments to Linda, we'll be sure to share them with her. Please stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    227
    72
    39
    14
See reviews for
214
322
17
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Linda G and Randall were amazing... The room was great... Would recommend 218 has a beautiful bay window! With our room key we scored a free app at the fishermen wharf... Location was great next to the strand and great restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristieJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your raving review on your stay at Harbor House. We love that you enjoyed your view, the locations and the restaurants at Pier 21. We hope that you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had a suite on April 19. We went to Galveston to see a show and have a little time away. That's why I booked a $300 a night room. I wanted to be pampered. That's not what we got. The location and the view were great. Its relaxing to watch the activity in the port. The hotel is where everything falls apart. The dressing area/bathroom sink smelled of microwave popcorn. There was no wifi. There was a coffee pot in the room, just no coffee. Don't plan on a bellman carrying your luggage. Oh, the parking is extra. The door between the bedroom and the living room did not close without a lot of noise. For the money they want its just not worth it. If you only want the best location in town its OK.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don5544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Harbor House. I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Harbor House does offer Wi-Fi in the rooms so please accept my apologies that it wasn't working properly. Our front desk is quick to check on those issues for our guests. We have also noted your comments regarding the coffee. In the future, you may want to consider our sister hotel - The Tremont House. It is a full-service, boutique style hotel which is walking distance to The Grand 1894 Opera House. We hope that you will give The Tremont House a try on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado, Usa
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Perfect location for our excited daughter to see the Disney Magic coming into port the morning of our cruise.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your stay at Harbor House. We're thrilled that your daughter had the chance to see the Disney Ship pull into the harbor. Harbor House is the only hotel that offers that close-up view of the cruise ships.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.3 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
1.2 mi away
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor House

Property: Harbor House
Address: Pier 21, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#4 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
#9 Family Hotel in Galveston
#11 Business Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbor House 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor House Hotel resides in Galveston Wharf overlooking Galveston Bay. The Harbor House amenities feature spacious guest rooms with scenic harbor views, free Wi-Fi Internet access as well as complimentary breakfast. All Guest rooms are designed to reflect a relaxed ambiance, embellished with nautical-style furnishings and wooden floors. Enjoy nearby attractions, such as the Texas Seaport Museum, The Tall Ship Elissa, and The Great Storm Theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor House Hotel Galveston
Harbor Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing