We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mardi Gras Galveston Island, TX 2013”
Review of Harbor House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbor House
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Elson C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (764)
There are newer reviews for Harbor House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

617 - 623 of 764 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

We booked this hotel because it was close to the cruise ship terminal, but it didn't live up to the good reviews we read. I have stayed at Super 8's that are cleaner and more comfortable than this hotel. The room itself was spacious, but the bathtub was filthy - a little bleach would be a good investment for this hotel! They could also invest in some pillows with substance instead of ones that feel like your using a rolled up pillow case. The walls are paper thin - we could easily hear the entire conversation of the people in the room next to us and they weren't shouting. Plus the breakfast room is located on the same floor as the bedrooms which means lots of noise early in the morning. The "breakfast" was not appealing and there were too many people for the small location, so we went out for breakfast. At least there were some excellent restaurants nearby! If I ever take a cruise from Galveston again, I will book a hotel further away from the terminal so I don't get gouged by the price.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skerfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Harbor House. Please accept my apologies for any inconveniences that you experienced during your stay. Please know that we are planning on doing some hotel renovations in the fall. We hope that you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The Harbor House is a great location for The Galveston Stand and Cruise terminal. It sits on the Galveston Channel/Harbor. We stayed there to be close the the Strand for Mardi Gras. It is just across the street from the Strand.
The staff was great and were very nice to us. We were a group of guys doing a Mardi Gras Bachelor party.
They are very very close to some good places to eat and some good bars that have live music etc. on weekends.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thanks for sharing your comments on your stay at Harbor House. We hope that you had a fun Mardi Gras bachelor party and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Booked this hotel because we were leaving the next day on a cruise. Arrived and was very pleased with the location and appearance of the hotel. It's part of a converted warehouse. Rooms very spacious! King-size bed, view of the harbor. Microwave and frig tucked in an armoire under the TV. Separate sitting area, large closet, good-size bathroom. Wi-Fi in the room was fast and easy. It was so nice, we wished it was for more than 1 night. They would have happily stored our bags until the ship would let us check them, but we walked over with the big bags early on Sat (yes the Pier is that close). Continental breakfast was a little light for me, but it might have just been that there was a huge family group there at the same time, and we couldn't get near the food. Very helpful desk staff, took their restaurant recommendations and were glad we did.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodfrogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thanks for the positive feedback on your stay at Harbor House. We hope you will stay longer than one night on your next visit. We hope that you enjoyed your cruise and stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Had heard some negative comments but still decided to try it. So very glad we did, very friendly staff and awesome service. The beds were comfortable.
The breakfast was a typical continental breakfast, so don't realy know why some are complaining about it.

Room Tip: Loved the view.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sybil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thanks for staying with us at Harbor House. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband, daughter, and I made a last minute trip to Galveston on Jan 5, 2013 . We booked a room here so we could be close to the Strand. We were greeted by the front desk attendant with a friendly smile and she made us feel very welcomed. Check in was quick! We went to our room and it was wonderful! We got a room that had 2 double beds and they were really comfortable. There was a big entertainment center with both a microwave and refrigerator as well as the TV. We had a couch and chair with coffee table and still had plenty of space for walking around. We had a coffee maker in the room with Wolfgang Puck coffee, which was AWESOME! There were plenty of bathroom amenities, even mouthwash! My husband went to breakfast while we slept in. He was fine with the breakfast. There were pastries, juices, etc. Also there was apples and orange in a basket that you could get throughout the day. Checkout was a breeze! I am very pleased with this hotel. I have stayed at MANY hotels in Galveston over the years and this is one of our favorites.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kerri w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting comments on your recent stay and we are happy to hear that we made your favorite hotel list. We hope you come visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Hotel was very noisey. Room was below standards. Room needed updating, found places that needed cleaning. Breakfast was lacking. Had to go to store to purchase my own milk. Pillows on bed needed to be replaced, very flat used blanket for support. One upside was location close to restraunts and water. Just not what i expected for price.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your feedback on your stay. We wanted to let you know that we have plans to make some updates later in the year so we hope that you will make a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.3 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
1.2 mi away
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor House

Address: Pier 21, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#5 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
#9 Family Hotel in Galveston
#11 Business Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: $100 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbor House 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor House Hotel resides in Galveston Wharf overlooking Galveston Bay. The Harbor House amenities feature spacious guest rooms with scenic harbor views, free Wi-Fi Internet access as well as complimentary breakfast. All Guest rooms are designed to reflect a relaxed ambiance, embellished with nautical-style furnishings and wooden floors. Enjoy nearby attractions, such as the Texas Seaport Museum, The Tall Ship Elissa, and The Great Storm Theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor House Hotel Galveston
Harbor Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing