We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbor House Hotel & Marina at Pier 21
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2007

We loved this hotel. Staying on the harbor side definitely has it's advantages. Only one block from the Strand, we walked a lot. And no sand to get in everything. The hotel was great. Very comfortable beds, fridge and microwave in the room, and very spacious. The breakfast was fine. Pretty basic but a decent selection of juices, yogurt, and breads. Great coffee. I believe they are adding a restaurant sometime within the next year. We will definitely stay there on our next trip.

Stayed: October 2007
2  Thank PamsKeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (834)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

792 - 798 of 834 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2007

We greatly enjoyed our stay at the Harbor House. The room was quite large, the bed extremely comfortable, and views were almost like being on a cruise ship: we spent the morning watching dolphins jump in the harbor just outside our window. The hotel and rooms are clean and very well-maintained, although the room furnishings themselves were fairly generic and unremarkable. This small hotel is conveniently located near The Strand historic district and within walking distance of many restaurants. Please be aware the hotel offers little in the way of services (e.g., no on-site restaurant or bar), but a fairly nice continental breakfast is provided. Anyone who wants more services can get them from the sister property, The Tremont, just a few blocks away.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank HouTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2007

This was our second stay at this hotel. This time it was pre-cruise before boarding the Conquest. We had a harbor view room because last stay here I swore I would wake up next trip to see the Ship we were boarding when I drew back the curtains. Wow ! there she was .Very exciting ! We love the location and prefer staying on this side of the island over the gulf side .We love the proximity to the Strand Historic District,all within easy walking distance.The rooms are large and well appointed ,in a nautical theme with high wood beam ceilings.The beds are very comfortable and there is a small continental breakfast. We love it that you can leave your car there for the cruise and it is easy to walk the very short distance to the cruise terminal if you are sailing Carnival. Royal Caribbean pier is slightly farther but very easy as well if you are not hindered in any way,but it is farther.Very small check in area and one elevator but there are not all that many staying there so the wait is never unreasonable. Our favorite in Galveston.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chext57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2007

We booked this hotel as a pre-cruise stay.We booked from Galveston.com. We paid $10 dollars for parking. Our cruise parking for 5 days was free. The room was spacious with nice, quality furnitures. The room had 2 full size beds and a little sofa. The T.V. was a good size flat screen. There was a microwave and a little refridgerator in the room. The bathroom was small but clean with ample amount of towels provided. There was a hairdryer, coffee maker provided also. This hotel does not have a swimming pool, but you will be able to use the Hotel Galvez' pool and fitness center without charge.The breakfast consist of bagels, cereals, milk, yogurt, muffins and various bakery items. We liked this hotel because of it's proximity to the Carnival cruise ship terminal. The view from our room was awesome!!! We wached the ships in and out of the harbour. The windows open , so we slept with the sound of the ocean that night. The staff was young and friendly. I will recommend this hotel to all my friends and family.
http://family.webshots.com/slideshow/558771325pfEckj

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Jobster71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2007

Only had one night in Galveston. Couldn't have chosen better accomodations! We will definitely return for longer visit. Very nice rooms, comfortable beds, pleasant view (expected more harbor activity). Very convenient to Strand attractions. Willie G's IS worth the price...

Sherman, TX (via College Station) traveler

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Sherman_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2007

We will always stay there when we are going to Galveston the room was huge and clean the only things were we could hear the eleavtor from our room , the lobby smelled of mold , and they messed-up our reservation the good things over thew the bad things we all felt comfortable and at home

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank AtrueAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2007

I have very mixed feelings about this hotel. There were some very good things and some very bad things that made the stay really unpleasant.

First, the good -- The room was a very nice size and nicely furnished. The location is also interesting, away from the seawall craziness, but still lots of activity around.

Now for the bad -- The air conditioner, probably the most important part of a hotel on the Texas coast in the summer, was terrible. It made a lot of noise without really cooling the room. It shut off and on repeatedly throughout the night even when the thermostat was turned down very low (65 degrees). When it shut off and on, it was LOUD, very very loud. I like to sleep with ambient noise, but this was so loud that I woke up everytime it went off or came back on, meaning that I slept in 20 - 30 minute intervals all night. Even with the thermostat down to 65 degrees, I woke up sweating during the night. While the bed itself was pretty comfortable, the pillows were comically small and flat. If you can, bring your own pillows. There were also some minor maintence issues that need to be addressed -- bathroom fixtures barely hanging by a single screw, noisy flourescent lights, one side of the closet door being nailed shut for some reason (making it impossible to use one half of the closet). Also, we did not find the staff friendly at all. We were not greeted at check-in and were not spoken to during the check-in process expect to ask for our id and credit card. Most of the time, there was no one at the (very small) front desk and no one asked how our stay was when we checked-out.

One other thing to be aware of and that I found a bit confusing -- this hotel seems to be affiliated with Wyndham, but when I booked through the hotel's web site, I was not asked for my Wyndham By Request number, nor was it ever mentioned during check in. Also, last time I checked, this hotel did not come up in a search on the Wyndham web site when I was looking for hotels in the area. It must be affiliated in some way though because guests have signing privileges at the Hotel Galvez and Tremont, both Wyndham Historic Hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank MrTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.3 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
1.2 mi away
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor House Hotel & Marina at Pier 21? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor House Hotel & Marina at Pier 21

Address: No 28 Pier 21, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550 (Formerly Harbor House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#8 Family Hotel in Galveston
#11 Business Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: $110 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbor House Hotel & Marina at Pier 21 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor House Hotel resides in Galveston Wharf overlooking Galveston Bay. The Harbor House amenities feature spacious guest rooms with scenic harbor views, free Wi-Fi Internet access as well as complimentary breakfast. All Guest rooms are designed to reflect a relaxed ambiance, embellished with nautical-style furnishings and wooden floors. Enjoy nearby attractions, such as the Texas Seaport Museum, The Tall Ship Elissa, and The Great Storm Theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Harbor House Hotel & Marina at Pier 21 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor House Hotel Galveston
Harbor Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing