We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Cheap, enjoyable stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scottish Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Scottish Inn
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cheap, enjoyable stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

First of all, the staff, who I assume to be the owners, are extremely friendly, helpful, and professional. We were quite surprised by their hospitality and appreciated it. The outside of the hotel looked nicer than we expected, and the room we stayed in was recently renovated. Everything was clean, the room was quite large for one king bed, and there was plenty of storage. The pool was clean and there was lots of seating around it. Parking was great and we really liked the location. Right by the ferry, which is a Galveston-must if you like dolphins! Less than five minutes from Seawall Blvd. and the beach. We will absolutely stay here again on our next Galveston vacation. We did encounter a few insects (something we've always encountered in large hotels) and the remote didn't work. We did not take it to the owner as it wasn't a big deal to us, but we felt like it would have been handled quickly had we brought it to their attention.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank katihowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottishinngalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank You Kati,
Yes Kati we are the owner’s we try our best to keep everyone who checks inn happy and to help them the best we can about things to do on the island. Again we thank you for your very kind words about my place.
Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    45
    11
    11
    17
See reviews for
61
42
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed here for one night and it was not worth the money we paid for the room. It was fairly clean - not exceptional though. The grout in the tub was not clean and the ceiling in the bathroom had a hole in it as a result of water damage. The beds were very uncomfortable, as were the pillows. The "continental" breakfast consisted of white bread (a toaster provided), jelly, frozen sausage biscuits, bananas, coffee, and fruit punch (we had seen the fruit punch sitting out when we checked in the day before). My husband got coffee but that was all. When I spoke with the owner to make the reservation, I told him the room was for myself, husband, and daughter. He quoted me a price on the room which was reasonable ($129) When my husband checked in he had to pay an additional $10 to get a room with two queen size beds rather than the king size that the owner had originally put us in (not sure why he put us in that room when I told him that there would be three of us). We ended up paying $159 (including taxes) which was overpriced for what we got. We will not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottishinngalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hello K,
You called to reserve a room and asked me for a State Rate, even though I do not offer a State rate on weekend’s I gave you a discounted rate. You called me as I was on State’s web page.
The thing that is bothering me is you booked for 2 person for a king bed and when I saw that there was 3 of you I showed him a room with 2 queen beds which he was happy with, your husband had to call you to see if he can use his card as I cannot use your credit card information to check him in.
Before he paid he asked to see a room and I gladly showed him the room which he was happy with (your daughter I think came with him.) At check in only your daughter and husband were here so I am baffled at you seeing the fruit punch, the reason it’s there is I keep for kids when all day long so they can come in anytime for a drink.
I am sorry for the misunderstanding I hope your stay is better next time you are in Galveston were ever you stay. Again My deepest apology Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangum, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We booked a room for 2 nights but these people where so friendly, helpful en well knowledged owner, just ask Sam and it saves you a lot of time, it's an inn but Sam and his wife, out of India tread you like you would expect in a bed and breakfast also in a way you like to come back.
Almost all rooms are renovated and have very good quality beds.
The position of the Inn is really nice , no noise in the night and near the free ferry to Bolivar and several connection in a direct way to the rest of the main tourist area.

Room Tip: Just talk to Sam and he will give you the best possebility
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mangumwhitehouse503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottishinngalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you Will and An for staying with us It was wonderful talking with you in the morning, before you set of to visit the island. There are so many activities within 3 miles of us. Hope to see you again
Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastrop, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Our search for an inexpensive Galveston hotel for a quick getaway led to a wonderful stay in this quiet spot run by superbly consciencious, courteous owners. Our choice was based on price combined with a high number of positive customer reviews. We found Scottish Inn to be clean, comfortable, well-furnished, and having the best-maintained swimming pool of any hotel I have seen in the world. I even recommended it to my friends and family right away. Sam & his wife were friendly and accommodating. Sam told us he aims to keep a healthy, safe, and inviting family atmosphere at his hotel so those looking for a restful place to stay will want to become repeat customers. We'll be back...and bring the family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottishinngalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Hello James,
Hello James,
Thank You for your wonderful comment on my place. We were very happy to see the appreciation you had for the service. Thank you for enjoying yourselves at the motel and Galveston in general
Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sasakwa, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My family and I stayed here for 4 nights and was very comfortable. Sam and his wife are very friendly and welcoming. They will show you your room before you pay to insure you are satisfied. The rooms have been renovated and everything is very clean. Right across the road from the free ferry and about 6 blocks from Stewart Beach. The pool is very nice and clean. I would recommend this place, definately. Sam takes great pride in his place and will go above and beyond to make you comfortable. We will stay here again....the Reich family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottishinngalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hello Brandy,
Thank You for the comment, I think if I remember this right you came in as my brother was taking someone to see a room and I asked if you would like to too. You came from Oklahoma with your family. We do very much thank You Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Messimy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We made a 2 weeks trip in US staying 2 days average at the same hotels, in a price range from 90 to 130 USD pre night.
Scottish Inn was far the best hotel we had !
Room just refurbish, very clean. Nice furniture and comfortable beds.
People at the desk were very friendly and helpfull.
And the price was also affordable ...

So if you need to stay in Galveston, just go in Scottish Inn !!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laurent U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottishinngalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you Laurent,
If I remember rightly you were on vacation from France and I put you on t 3rd floor.
I am sorry I missed you guy’s when you check out, but my wife said you were happy with the room and service
Thank You for your remark on our property Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Price is fair considering that we are in high season ,family environment, and very clean, although the hotel doesn't not offer beach front view the rooms have been renovated and also front desk was very welcoming and helpful a total plus to a nice stayed experience for me and my Family ,definitely will recommend this place and come back in the future!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roxana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottishinngalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank You Roxana,
Very kind of you to put a review on my place.I try to make your stay as comfertable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
5.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Galveston
7.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Galveston West/Seawall
6.2 mi away
Inn at the Waterpark
Inn at the Waterpark
#25 of 52 in Galveston
3.5 of 5 stars 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
4.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Galveston
Candlewood Suites Galveston
#23 of 52 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seawall Inn & Suites by the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scottish Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottish Inn

Property: Scottish Inn
Address: 928 Ferry Rd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-3153 (Formerly Red Carpet Inn)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Scottish Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scottish Inn is located at the ferry landing (walking distance to the ferry boats). It is about 3 miles from the Cruise Terminal and the Strand District. The Shriner Burn and U.T.M.B Hospitals are about 2 miles also. Stewart Beach is just over a mile.This is an owner operated buisness, built in 1984. Must be 24 year old to book a room or check in. Must have a valid credit card. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Scottish Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Hotel Galveston
Red Carpet Inn Galveston
Galveston Red Carpet Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing