We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”
Review of Scottish Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Scottish Inn
Ranked #28 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My daughter and her family checked in here on Valentine's night. They would not be arriving until later that evening, close to 10 or 11 pm. We were worried because the online reservation stated a much earlier check in deadline. I called and spoke to one of the owners and explained the situation, and there was no problem at all, they were in fact waiting for them when they finally arrived. On Friday, my son in law reserved a room for me and my youngest daughter and the rest of my family, The rooms are a little old, but were clean, and the grounds are very well kept. We took some photos by some lovely palm trees. Upon check out, the owner gave me fruit to give to the grandkids and made some more coffee for my son in law. You do not find this kind of service very often. His kindness will be remembered and we will definately revisit his hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tis36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcarpetgalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank You for your comment's on myself and my motel.Also thank Clinton for booking at my motel. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 180 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

The owners of this place are very nice and accomodating. They are picky about who stays here so you will not find wild parties or loud neighbors being an issue. They are still recovering from "Ike" so everything is not pristine and there are no elevators which can be a problem for some. There are no services nearby so you either have to take a taxi or shuttle to get anywhere if you do not drive there. This a very basic hotel and fine for an overnighter before a cruise if you don't demand luxury. They let you leave your car if you are taking a cruise.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BAG LADY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcarpetgalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you for your kind words Judith, hope you and your son had a safe trip back to Sunny San Diago.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel was really great the service was excellent and Sam had a vast knowledge of the local area and was really friendly, the rooms where clean and really comfortable beds.I had a great time and i would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a good time in Galveston.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Hiren V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcarpetgalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2012

Thank You hiran for staying with us.We thank you for your view on our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The Hotel is right next to the ferry so we could take it when ever we wanted day or night, comfortable beds and The staff is very kind, Breakfast was Provided everyday. It is also a short walk from the beach. Overall nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BobGreen86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcarpetgalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2012

Thank you Bob for staying,realy appreciate the kind view of my motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

My wife and I have been cruising out of Galveston since 2008, and every year we go back to the Red Carpet inn. The rooms aren't anything special but the service is exceptional. Sam remembers us even though it's only once a year. He always treats us as family not as guests, The best part is it's just down the road from the cruise terminal and we leave our car at the hotel for the week for free. And I know Sam keeps a very good eye on it. We will always stay at the Red Carpet inn when we cruise... looking forward to it this year. Going on a Christmas cruise in December.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Okiewoody55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcarpetgalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thank you for staying with us again, and I thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The hotel is right off the water and is right next to a ferry crossing. The rooms were clean and didn't look run down at all. The price was amazing for the location. I slept great on the beds. The best part was the service. The person at the front desk was very kind, friendly and went out of his way to serve us. Most excellent.
I will recommend this place to friends and family when they head to Galveston.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Antonio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcarpetgalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Hello Antonio, thank you for your review.Hope you come back and see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I booked this room for our first year anniversary and the service was excellent the people who ran this hotel were amazing! The hotel is older but it's a great value. I really enjoyed our trip! Thank you so much for being so nice!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tlavigne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcarpetgalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank You for staying with us hope that you come back soon,but this time bring the baby with you so you don't have to rush back home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
6.2 mi away
Inn at the Waterpark
Inn at the Waterpark
#27 of 51 in Galveston
486 reviews
4.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#42 of 51 in Galveston
42 reviews
5.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
4.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Galveston
Candlewood Suites Galveston
#23 of 51 in Galveston
150 reviews
6.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Galveston
Howard Johnson Galveston
#39 of 51 in Galveston
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scottish Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottish Inn

Address: 928 Ferry Rd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-3153 (Formerly Red Carpet Inn)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: $56 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Scottish Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scottish Inn is located at the ferry landing (walking distance to the ferry boats). It is about 3 miles from the Cruise Terminal and the Strand District. The Shriner Burn and U.T.M.B Hospitals are about 2 miles also. Stewart Beach is just over a mile.This is an owner operated buisness, built in 1984. Must be 24 year old to book a room or check in. Must have a valid credit card. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Scottish Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Hotel Galveston
Red Carpet Inn Galveston
Galveston Red Carpet Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing