We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scottish Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Scottish Inn
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The Hotel is right next to the ferry so we could take it when ever we wanted day or night, comfortable beds and The staff is very kind, Breakfast was Provided everyday. It is also a short walk from the beach. Overall nice place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BobGreen86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcarpetgalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you Bob for staying,realy appreciate the kind view of my motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    43
    11
    11
    17
See reviews for
60
39
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Enid, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My wife and I have been cruising out of Galveston since 2008, and every year we go back to the Red Carpet inn. The rooms aren't anything special but the service is exceptional. Sam remembers us even though it's only once a year. He always treats us as family not as guests, The best part is it's just down the road from the cruise terminal and we leave our car at the hotel for the week for free. And I know Sam keeps a very good eye on it. We will always stay at the Red Carpet inn when we cruise... looking forward to it this year. Going on a Christmas cruise in December.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Okiewoody55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcarpetgalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for staying with us again, and I thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The hotel is right off the water and is right next to a ferry crossing. The rooms were clean and didn't look run down at all. The price was amazing for the location. I slept great on the beds. The best part was the service. The person at the front desk was very kind, friendly and went out of his way to serve us. Most excellent.
I will recommend this place to friends and family when they head to Galveston.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Antonio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcarpetgalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Hello Antonio, thank you for your review.Hope you come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I booked this room for our first year anniversary and the service was excellent the people who ran this hotel were amazing! The hotel is older but it's a great value. I really enjoyed our trip! Thank you so much for being so nice!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tlavigne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcarpetgalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank You for staying with us hope that you come back soon,but this time bring the baby with you so you don't have to rush back home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantes, France
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Red Carpet Inn is close to the ferry, and at about 3 miles from the cruise terminal. The staff is very kind. Rooms have average comfort but clean. It was a good value for my business trip, and I recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dominyque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcarpetgalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank You for your kind word's. I am sorry to make you come back, I am very electronics illiterate. Thank you for tolerating with my ignorance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlingen, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This family owned and run hotel is wonderful. It is located right by the ferry and the seawall so it's location is perfect. The best part about the hotel is the people running it. They go out of their way to be helpful. The security there is also a plus. They really look out for you. I did not expect to be this pleased. This was a welcome surprise. I would and will stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DonnaBec55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcarpetgalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank You for your kind review, hope you come to visit your Grand children soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Red Carpet in is the best. We called multiple places before arriving to Galveston on our cruise vacation and Red Carpet gave us the best price. Once we arrived we were very impressed with the service and friendly staff which offered to help bring our luggage to our room and asked to call their office if we needed anything else. The rooms are clean; area is much quit, it is next to the ferry and not very far away from the Galveston port and not far from the beautiful beach. The next morning the owner allowed us to leave our recreational vehicle in his gated parking lot and offered to give us a ride to the Galveston Port which is about three miles away. I highly recommend Red Carpet in in Galveston for their friendly service, cleanliness and willingness to accommodate. If I ever need to spend the night at Galveston Red carpet in will be the place where I stay for their friendliness, very nice rooms and wiliness to accommodate to our needs.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcarpetgalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank You for staying with us.You came in late,the least I could do was to drop you off.
Hope to see you again. Hope you had a wonderful Cruise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
5.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Galveston
7.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Galveston West/Seawall
6.2 mi away
Inn at the Waterpark
Inn at the Waterpark
#23 of 52 in Galveston
3.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seawall Inn & Suites by the Beach
4.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Galveston
Candlewood Suites Galveston
#21 of 52 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
4.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#40 of 52 in Galveston
2.5 of 5 stars 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scottish Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottish Inn

Property: Scottish Inn
Address: 928 Ferry Rd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-3153 (Formerly Red Carpet Inn)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Scottish Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scottish Inn is located at the ferry landing (walking distance to the ferry boats). It is about 3 miles from the Cruise Terminal and the Strand District. The Shriner Burn and U.T.M.B Hospitals are about 2 miles also. Stewart Beach is just over a mile.This is an owner operated buisness, built in 1984. Must be 24 year old to book a room or check in. Must have a valid credit card. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Scottish Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Hotel Galveston
Red Carpet Inn Galveston
Galveston Red Carpet Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing