We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Red Carpet Inn Galveston” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scottish Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Scottish Inn
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
balch springs
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Red Carpet Inn Galveston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

A little late posting this . . . We went and stayed (again) at Red Carpet Inn. As usual, wonderful service (I agree with Misti Varner . . . Sam and staff is more like family). Wonderful stay, cold a/c, quiet and wonderful! We forgot one of our pillows. I called Sam and he's saving the pillowcase for us! We're going back Labor Day Weekend, so we'll get it then! Lovely people . . . great prices . . . stressless stay!
There are smoking and non-smoking rooms . . . For some reason (most likely the proximity to Crystal Beach), we've never gotten in the pool, but it looks very clean and inviting. We'll try to do that time Labor Day Weekend!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank turdus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcarpetgalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thanks for the kind word's. See you again on Labor Day weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    51
    15
    13
    18
See reviews for
66
49
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Most importantly, the kindness here is unreal!!! I do not feel like I checked into a hotel, more like family!! Sam is the kindest man! Saved our vac, we have stayed many places on the island, but I have always wanted to stay here ! I had made prior resv. At another hotel then canceled due to weather, but then decided to come on to Galveston! Easy reservation ! Room clean, smelled clean, ac works great! And my fav part of hotel is the lil round windows ! Cute place ;) also price not bad at all ! Thanks Sam and Red Carpet Inn

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MistiVarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcarpetgalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you Misti for your kind word's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a weekend get-a-way in Galveston. After reading the Tripadvisor reviews, we booked a room at The Red Carpet Inn. We were not disappointed. The owners were super-nice, the room was CLEAN and quiet. We will be booking there on our next trip !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cathie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcarpetgalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Hello Cathie, thank you for staying with us hope your husband feel'sbetter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

My family and I booked online, and when we arrived at the property, we realized that the pictures on the internet looked much different. The place was dirty and empty (probably because of their bad service). The lobby and the rooms smelled bad, and the a/c in the room didn't even work. The breakfast cafeteria consisted of three stools in the corner of the lobby and a microwave. When we told the manager we would look for a hotel closer to the beach, he tried to pressure us by saying he was gonna sell our room. (By the way, let me repeat, the place was empty). My father replied by saying that we, as customers, had the right to look around without cancelling our reservation. The manager made a scene and yelled at us until we got back in the car. He then proceeded to charge us more than $100 for a "no-show" charge. I do not recommend any one to go to this hotel, especially families with children who expect friendly service

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank samantha t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcarpetgalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Hello Samantha. You and your father said you were coming back that evening after looking at other motels near the beach. Reservations must be cancelled 48 hours prior to arrival to avoid a cancellation charge of the first night room rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

The owner was great. We booked online and my husband added a special request.. Of clean sheets (being funny) and at check in he said ,"hello George from Bryan with Clean sheets. The room was much larger then our friends who stayed down the road and paid double what we paved. Rooms a bit older but very clean. Beds nice and hard ;) Great night stay!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ana0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcarpetgalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank You Young Man. I do hope you will come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

In January of 2012, my cousin, Julie, and I contacted the Red Carpet Inn (RCI) and we each spoke to the owner, Sam Patel, separately. We arranged for a block of rooms for July 28, the night before our family reunion cruise out of Galveston. He agreed to hold a block of rooms and quoted $100 a night. We thought we were set and a number of our family members reserved a room. I requested an email confirmation, which he said he would send, but he never did.

In June, one of Mr Patel's staff called each of us who had rooms reserved that, because some of our party had cancelled their rooms and there were now less than 10 rooms reserved, they were raising our rate to $150. They said the $100 was a group rate, but this was never a condition of our booking. Besides, another cousin booked on his own at the same hotel and got a rate of $102 without a group.

They told some of our party that they would only honor the $100 rate if they had reserved with a credit card. Well, that should have been all of us because we were all required to give our credit card when we reserved. That was a condition of the $100 rate, but we wouldn't be charged until the night of our booking.

When they called me and said they were raising my rate, I told them to hold my reservation. But 2 weeks later when I called to cancel, Mr Patel said he didn't have a reservation for me. If I had continued under the assumption that I had a reservation, I would have shown up on July 28 and not had a room.

In the middle of all of this, when Julie was speaking to of their staff, the woman said she'd have to speak to Mr Patel. She took Julie's number and said she'd have Mr Patel call Julie. He never did.

This was the most disappointing experience I've ever had in dealing with a hotel. They don't keep their word, they change the terms of your agreement, and they drop your reservation without your knowledge. I certainly won't stay here in the future. It's not worth it for a 2 star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TheLadyNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcarpetgalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
We apologize for any inconvenience and misunderstanding during your reservation process. In order for us to reserve rooms at the discounted group rate, we need credit cards to reserve those rooms at the discounted rates. Unfortunately, we did not receive credit cards from most of your group within the agreed upon date, at which point we had to cancel the unreserved rooms. However, we did honor the room rate for those guests who reserved their rooms with credit cards. Again, we sincerely apologize for any misunderstanding during the reservation process.Hope you all had a wounderful family reunion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

My family and i stayed on july 13th 2012 at red carpet inn in galvaston and had a wonderful stay. The owners/manager were just awesome.The rooms were nice and clean ,great location, and great value. we will stay with yall again and thank you so much for all you do.

Room Tip: very quite ,safe,clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank charlotte j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcarpetgalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank You for kind word's.Ohh keep an eye on the key's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
6.2 mi away
Inn at the Waterpark
Inn at the Waterpark
#25 of 52 in Galveston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
6.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Galveston
Howard Johnson Galveston
#40 of 52 in Galveston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
5.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center
7.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Galveston West/Seawall
5.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scottish Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottish Inn

Property: Scottish Inn
Address: 928 Ferry Rd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-3153 (Formerly Red Carpet Inn)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Scottish Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scottish Inn is located at the ferry landing (walking distance to the ferry boats). It is about 3 miles from the Cruise Terminal and the Strand District. The Shriner Burn and U.T.M.B Hospitals are about 2 miles also. Stewart Beach is just over a mile.This is an owner operated buisness, built in 1984. Must be 24 year old to book a room or check in. Must have a valid credit card. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Scottish Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Hotel Galveston
Red Carpet Inn Galveston
Galveston Red Carpet Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing