We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place, Nice People, Nice City!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lost Bayou Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lost Bayou Guest House
Ranked #3 of 11 Galveston B&B and Inns
Dallas, Texas, U.S.A.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice Place, Nice People, Nice City!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Just returned from a 3 day visit to this hotel and city, we found it to be truly a home away from home. Very comfortable with a very friendly atmosphere. Continental breakfast everyday and the beach is only 6 blocks away, only 2 short blocks to the main entrance in to the city, Broadway.
There is a deli kittycorner from the establishment and there are many restaurants nearby, we especially liked the ones with a sea view. A great place for a relaxing time, when we go back to Galveston we will be sure to stay here again! We were there the 25-26-27 Feb., 2013

Room Tip: There are all good, management told us that the top floor rooms will have a separate bath each later...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank packersbacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
44
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Made a last minute reservation to stay on the island for a 10k race my husband and I were running. The owners (new as of May), Dave and Maria were so friendly and accomodating. They even left us a goody bag of protein bars and Gu packets for our run. How thoughtful! Even though it was the two of us, the only room available was the Santa Fe which has 2 queen beds. The rooms is very spacious and nice, but it was really the personal touches from the owners that made our stay amazing. The house is very cute and has a nice front and back porch that we will come back and enjoy when the weather is better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank reneep991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

After growing up in Houston and getting to travel and work in different vacation spots I have seen beautiful beaches and had/seen exceptional accommodations for guests in those locations. Even though Galveston is not my favorite beach, Lost Bayou helped to make it this past weekend! The accommodations were clean, tasteful, and the owners... awesome people! Everything was there for us; bikes to ride the seawall, delicious breakfast, and good conversations. One of the best part about this B&B was that you do not have to worry about losing a key or card to get into the house~ very convenient. The house is safe, quiet and in a nice neighborhood; its only a few blocks to the beach and the strand. I highly recommend this place to any one that is picky because the owners understand hospitality and keep the house very clean!!!

Room Tip: You cant go wrong with any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Johnny B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
65 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

I’m not quite sure where the name comes from, as host Phil made sure we didn’t have a problem finding the place; even ringing to check we were alright when we hadn’t arrived at the appointed hour. This three storey weatherboard house sits between Broadway and the Seawall in the older area of town, which makes it an authentic Galveston experience, and easy walking distance of both the beautiful old buildings of the town, and the noise and chaos of the waterfront (though quite a long way from the main restaurant scene – a car is convenient here). The rooms are a good size, all with lots of natural light and lovely old lamps, decent bathrooms and comfortable beds. There is a lounge/breakfast room on the second floor with coffee and snacks always available. The verandah at the front of the house (off the breakfast room) is a wonderful place to eat, read or just watch the locals go about their daily business. There is also a nice garden out the back, which captures the sun in the early morning. Phil runs the place in a pleasant, low key way, stopping for a chat over breakfast, while ensuring you have everything you need. Lost Bayou is a very pleasant change to the massive assembly line hotels that dominate the waterfront at Galveston.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KMCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2010

We chose Lost Bayou primarily on its central location and previous reviews and it certainly lived up to our expectations. We had reserved the Garden room, but on arrival Phil showed us around and we wre so taken with the Oleander room that we switched there and then!

Location wise, the B&B is in a safe, quiet residential neighbourhood about 5-10 mins walk to the seawall, its fabulous beaches and a lovely stroll along the shores of the gulf and 15-20 mins walk to the main tourist area - the Strand.

Phil acts as the primary host and took great trouble to spend time with us at breakfast answering questions and offering advice and suggestions - although as Brits we didnt always agree that the best way to anywhere was by car (Galveston seems unusual amongst American cities in that you can actually walk places!)

Breakfast is very relaxed - you fill out a sheet with what you want in terms of hot filled croissants/wraps the night before and then just reheat it whenever you get up. As others have mentioned cereals, fruit, cold drinks, snacks area available free of charge when you want them and you can eat in the braekfast room, your room or out on the balcony so this all does really add to whole chilled out ambience of the place.

Galveston itself was incredibly friendly and there is enough tourist stuff to do for a weekend certainly.

However for any Europeans reading this, be aware that in general American cities (outside of New York anyway!) have limited shopping faciltiies in the downtown areas and in this respect Galveston is no different. The Strand and harbour front have plenty of "tourist gift" shops and restaurants but if you want to do "proper" shopping then you need to find the nearest shopping mall

I must also mention the amazing massage we got from Chito, Phil's partner - he truely does have an incredible talent and this must count as one of the best treatments we have ever had!
I would encourage anyone who has an hour to spare in Galveston to take the opportunity to experience this - you wont be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank snowydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Tx
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2009

It is so nice to see Galveston making a wonderful comeback after IKE. I stayed at the Lost Bayou Guesthouse with three friends and we enjoyed our stay. This B & B is beautiful, comfortable, clean, and the Hosts warm and hospitable. The Lost Bayou is within close proximity to the Strand and the Seawall. We enjoyed shopping, eating, and walking the beach. The history of the Lost Bayou and the grounds are amazing. Will stay there again.

Diana

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2008

We enjoyed our stay at the Lost Bayou Guesthouse. The location is excellent - walking distance to the beach in a very quiet neighborhood. It is also close to the Strand. The garden is beautiful and very peaceful. The furniture and decor are nice. The breakfast was good and included lots of fruit, and there are snacks and drinks available all day.

  • Liked — Location and the peace and quiet
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTraveler000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.8 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
0.9 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 52 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seawall Inn & Suites by the Beach
0.5 mi away
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lost Bayou Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost Bayou Guest House

Property: Lost Bayou Guest House
Address: 1607 Avenue L, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-6191
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lost Bayou Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This bed and breakfast is in a home built in 1890 which survived the great hurricane of 1900. The house was raise and remodeled in 1906. A Victorian styled home located in Galveston's Lost Bayou historic district, it is exuberant in charm, warmth, and character. With 5 large bedrooms, this bed & breakfast can also accommodate large families or group gatherings of up to 12 guests. It is centrally located and is a great choice as it is close to everything a visitor would want to see or do: Galveston's city center, Bishop's Palace, the beach, the Historic Strand District, cruise terminals, museums, local dining, and other attractions. Lost Bayou Guesthouse combines a relaxing informal atmosphere with exceptional personal service from the hosts. We hope you will come enjoy what Galveston has to offer and take a relaxing break at our house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Lost Bayou Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing