We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No daily housekeeping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Galveston
Ranked #23 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2009

This is a fairly new hotel so the rooms are clean. Nice flat screen TV in the room, which also has a mini-kitchen, stocked with utensils. Also free wireless and laundry. Location is not close to the beach so you will need a car.

My only problem with this otherwise decent hotel is that there is no daily housekeeping which was a surprise to me. It didnt matter too much for me since I was here solo for two days but I'm sure if I was here with my family I'd have moved out.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pannam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
There are newer reviews for Candlewood Suites Galveston
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 150 of 150 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2009

Hubby and I were at Candlewood Suites this past Friday night before moving to a friend's beach house on Saturday.

We had a queen room with a kitchenette-full sized fridge, 2 burners, microwave. Fair sized room, nice and cool and very clean. Nice bathroom. The small gym has nice equipment and they have free washers and dryers if you need them. They had a grill for their guests as well.

This hotel is not near the Seawall and is too far to walk to the Seawall for a day at the beach. That's probably why we got a reasonable rate when everything on or near the Seawall-even dumps had crazy prices!

I'd readily recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeachbumAggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2009

When I had to re-book my hotel at the last minute due to an administrative error, I was forced to downgrade my choices because of the change in rates. I normally stay at the hotel Galvez when I am in Galveston and as such enjoy the city a great deal. When I had to book at the Candlewood Suites I was dissapointed because of the location, however when I arrived I was pleasantly surprised with all the other amenities.
upon check-in I was greeted by friendly staff who promptly got me through the check-in process and to my room. now I have stayed in CWS hotels in the past and was not prepared for the renovations that this location had: hardwood floors, flat screen TV, stainless steel appliances and a great assortment of kitchen utensils and diningware. The room was also immaculate (cleaner than a lot of higher end hotels) which made relaxing after a long flight.
I do reccomend that if you stay here you should have a rental car, as I mentioned earlier, the location is not in any way near the beach so if you plan on partaking in the usual tourist fare you would be better off driving there. On the flip side, the hotel does find itself next to a large strip mall complete with a Target store which would be great for picking up any toiletries, beach stuff etc. I am sure their prices would be a LOT lower than the usual 'WINGS' stores nearer to the beach.
All in all I was pleasantly surprised, and as long as you don't expect to walk to the beach you will be too..

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank fuzzypossum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2008

I was there after my home got wiped out by Hurricane Ike, the GM was so helpful that he personally helped me carry my bags up to my room three floors up. He also helped me contact my insurance company and took care of all the billing and paper work. As a single mother who lost everything in the storm, its nice to know there are still people in the world that do more than just look out for themselves. Neal was great in helping my family out and runs a wonderful hotel to stay at. With the gas BBQ grill, DVD library free guest laundry (best part about it is that its in the gym so you can get a quick workout in while you wash your clothes.) Also i found out the Candlewood is the only hotel in Galveston that has a anti-mosquito system which really helped with the bugs after the storm. Its great for the BBQ time too. Great hotel would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Hotgrl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, traveled solo
Thank Sjm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2015, traveled solo
1  Thank Lana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
3.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Galveston Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Galveston

Address: 808 61st St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-1099
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: $85 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Galveston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in Galveston offers ideal lodging! Why stay in one of the cheap hotels in Galveston when you can enjoy the premium amenities of the Candlewood Suites - Galveston extended stay hotel? Stay with us and you'll see why our guests' surveys praise the excellent service of our hotel. Galveston is a mix of historic settings and modern culture, as evidenced by the unique shops and stops along The Strand. Galveston County Historical Museum offers a look at local history, and you can explore world history, science and the rainforest at the pyramids in Moody Gardens. Our hotel in Galveston is just a short drive from Schlitterbahn Island Waterpark. Corporate travelers lodging in our Galveston hotel are minutes from Galveston Convention Center, University of Texas Medical Center, the Port of Galveston, Halliburton and other businesses in Galveston. Our hotel's business center, along with each suite's over-sized desk with free high-speed Internet access and a speakerphone with free local calls, help you work efficiently. During your stay in Galveston, our extended stay hotel's amenities will make you feel right at home. You can cook meals in your suite's fully equipped kitchen, relax in the recliner while watching movies from the free movie library and unwind in the fitness center and outdoor pool. From a free laundry facility to the Candlewood Cupboard, our extended stay hotel in Galveston will take care of your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Galveston Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing