We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Candlewood i ever stayed!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Galveston
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Candlewood i ever stayed!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

I have stayed here twice, and the second time around was better since they with their new Manager,GREAT inside, the room is very nice and spacious. The bed is one of the most comfortable beds I've slept on, it's one of those new special mattresses. Good variety of fitness room equipment. Swinmming pool and hot tub was good and prices very reasonable for hotel fare.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    42
    15
    6
    14
See reviews for
53
38
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

The weekend before the 4th of July, my wife and her sister’s family went down to the coast to try and catch some sunshine. We stayed Saturday and Sunday night at the Candlewood, and were quite pleased with the stay. There’s a pool, which seems rare for the brand. The deck is a good size for the hotel, and there’s a hot tub, too. The staff, especially Ashley, was friendly and made excellent dining recommendations. Proximity to Target (across the street), the freeway, the Strand (downtown) was a bonus. The beach was less than a 10 minute drive. Bronco Burrito is just a minute down the street and has must try breakfast burritos. We loved the convenience of the full kitchen to premake drinks to take to the beach. Only drawback is that there was no ice machine and the freezer in the room lacked a hyper-ice-creation setting. Rooms had window AC unit, but it was controlled by an in-wall thermostat. All in all, a great weekend base for the beach.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joezissss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

My family stayed here for 2 nights for a beach vacation. I loved having a kitchen to prepare meals and save money on dining out. The Target across the street was great for picking up groceries. The rooms were clean, though a little small. We had a DVD player in the living area and borrowed movies from the front desk. The staff was friendly and accommodating. My only complaints were, the silverware in the room wasn't very clean. I rewashed them before we used them. The Wifi was weak in our room, but they had a computer near the lobby for guest use. We also smelled cigarette smoke on occasion even though our room was non-smoking. I think some of the other rooms on our floor (3rd) were smoking rooms. You do have to drive to the beach, but it's not far and there is parking on the seawall. I enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klydwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
175 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

Candlewood Suites is a very nice hotel with spacious rooms, a kitchenette, gym and a convenience store.

The negative things of this hotel is that for 2 adults, the bed is somewhat small and more importantly, the parking lot and the pool area outside has too many MOSQUITOS which can turn a beautiful evening outside into a nightmare.
Mosquitos attacked my wife and I as well as my puppy. Every time i walked our puppy, i can see him dancing because of the mosquitos around the hotel.
It made outside very uncomfortable.

Room Tip: bring your insect repellent, mosquitos everywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Galveston, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Bevon,

Thank you for staying with us. I am glad you found our hotel pleasing. Your comments about the Mosquito's have been shared with the appropriate departments.

I hope you can stay with us again.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

we were there injune 2012.we were planning to stay 3-4 nights. we left after 2. the first day my kid slipped on rocks that were thrown in the pooland around the hot tub.she bruised herself it would have been worse thankfully my husband reacted and caught her .they were in there for 2 days until i cleaned them out. i told the front desk they left the rocks in there as if they would magically disappear. that wasn't the best part the hot tub button was live and 2 children were almost electroquted including my kid THE FRONT DESK MADE LIKE IT WAS OUR FAULT. . we left our room 4 1 hr and came back only to find MY HuSBANDS WEDDIND BAND STOLEN , I CALLED THE DESK they told us housekeeping didn'tgo in there. well our ring was missing and so was the garbage and the towels were folded.we would not checked in here if we would have known some of the cars outside for several nights were broken into. The funny thing was i neverheard a vaccuum going once i know bec the 1st day there we dropped poptarts in the hallway and elevator and it was there thewhole time we were . DO NOT STAY HERE ITB IS TTOO HIGH FOR ALL THE CRAP WE HAD TO DEAL WITH.

Room Tip: don't book here unless you like disaster. do your homework and taske these reviews to be true.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shannon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Galveston, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear Shannon H,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Tripadvisor. We apologize for any inconvenience experienced during your stay. We are sincerely concerned when situations like these occur, and would like to investigate further. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional information about your stay.

Sincerely,

Myrna M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

I was scared after my company booked threw travelocity. Let me tell you, NONE of what was said has proved to be true. This hotel is new and spotless. I have never felt so at home while traveling on the road for my job. My stay was 6 nights and the front desk was nothing as described. The gentleman was very accommodating and helped me with anything needed. I give this place a 10 on all accounts. Full kitchen, beautiful table, room with door, COLD A/C as soon as I entered room, and CLEAN! I don't ever write reviews but this one deserves its name cleared. Thank you Candlewood, we will be back. I haven't slept this good in a long time!

Room Tip: Couch pulls out into bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BrittanyJadeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

I recently stayed at Candlewood during a very busy time for them--a dance competition coupled with a festival downtown as well as a cruise weekend (my husband and my reason for being there). Not only did we receive a fast check in with no problems, but the wonderful girl Abigail at the front desk arranged for our parking at their location and for third party shuttle to the terminal. It was a breeze. Whatever request we had was promptly answered, from an extra pillow and blankets to getting us some ice as the ice maker in our room was taking very long. Even though not on the beach, their rooms are the same size as more expensive beach front locations and the atmosphere is much more hospitable. The manager Ali was equally friendly and helpful with our check out, and we definitely plan to stay again for the fourth of july.

Room Tip: Room service is not provided, this is an extended stay hotel, but the front desk is always willing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
3.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Galveston Island
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Galveston
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
2.9 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Galveston

Property: Candlewood Suites Galveston
Address: 808 61st St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-1099
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Galveston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in Galveston offers ideal lodging! Why stay in one of the cheap hotels in Galveston when you can enjoy the premium amenities of the Candlewood Suites - Galveston extended stay hotel? Stay with us and you'll see why our guests' surveys praise the excellent service of our hotel. Galveston is a mix of historic settings and modern culture, as evidenced by the unique shops and stops along The Strand. Galveston County Historical Museum offers a look at local history, and you can explore world history, science and the rainforest at the pyramids in Moody Gardens. Our hotel in Galveston is just a short drive from Schlitterbahn Island Waterpark. Corporate travelers lodging in our Galveston hotel are minutes from Galveston Convention Center, University of Texas Medical Center, the Port of Galveston, Halliburton and other businesses in Galveston. Our hotel's business center, along with each suite's over-sized desk with free high-speed Internet access and a speakerphone with free local calls, help you work efficiently. During your stay in Galveston, our extended stay hotel's amenities will make you feel right at home. You can cook meals in your suite's fully equipped kitchen, relax in the recliner while watching movies from the free movie library and unwind in the fitness center and outdoor pool. From a free laundry facility to the Candlewood Cupboard, our extended stay hotel in Galveston will take care of your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Galveston Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing