We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved it, we will be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Galveston
Ranked #23 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We loved it, we will be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

This hotel was the best! Clean spacious and very nice. This room had a full kitchen and the beds were comfortable. Bathroom was nice with plenty of room. Enjoyed the very clean pool. Not only was the hotel great, the hotel attendant at the front desk, Ms.Melanie was the greatest. She helped us in many ways. I can't remember when we received such good customer service. It really is so important. She was so kind when we needed a room and very helpful ! ( owners,manager of this hotel, I hope you realize you have a jewel, please recognize her and give her a raise!) The only negative about this hotel, was the side door leading to the pool, it was never locked and stayed opened.
Thanks again, Melanie and thank you Candlewood Suites!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 154JaneR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    42
    14
    6
    13
See reviews for
53
37
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed on Friday for one night and the rate was $179 for a suite and $79 extra for our pet. For +$250, we were appalled at the hotel cleanliness, security, outside noise and general upkeep. It is located in a shady part of town. The doors to the outside are not secure. Some of the "guests" were shady and questionable. The room was clean and smelled fine but when we left our room, it was generally filthy. There was trash that needed to be picked up from rooms that was left out +12 hrs. The walls were dingy looking. The carpet smelled, was frayed and looked stained and soiled. There is ONE elevator and it is slow. The stairwells smelled like urine and were INFESTED with mosquitoes. In fact, the entire hotel grounds was a mosquito haven. Needless to say, it was HORRIBLE and we will never be there again.

Room Tip: no towels in room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank cupcaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHGCare at Candlewood Suites Galveston, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Dear cupcaker

We noticed your review regarding the Candlewood Suites Galveston. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced.

We have documented your comments under reference number 25224230, and are investigating the situation. However, before we can continue, we need some additional information. Please send an email to IHGCare@ihg.com.

Please include:
- The name the reservation was under as well as confirmation number, if possible.
- The amount of your nightly room rate.
- Your contact information including your phone number and mailing address.
- Did you speak with anyone at the hotel regarding your concern?
- Your TripAdvisor Handle or Reference #


Katie Jolley
Case Manager
IHGCare
Reference # 25224230
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

We couldn't even stay here. The room smelled horrible. The bedding was like sandpaper. The staff was rude and dishonest. Hotel staff and their friends were always at the tiny swimming pool, so my family couldn't even use the pool. Room was full of fire ants. Cut our vacation short due to the atrocious hotel!

Room Tip: Very small for a suite. Crawling with insects. Smelled like old seafood. No dishes or cups. Very dir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank fatherof4_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

We really enjoyed the pool, location and the kitchen. It is a drive to the seawall. But GREAT for the price.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GRIFFISTROOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

Candlewood Suites tend to be pretty 'no frills' places to stay, but we were pretty pleased with it. It was simple to find, the place was clean and the staff there was very friendly. They were always willing to offer suggestions on places to take our kids each day during our stay and we were very appreciative of the free guest laundry.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenrezac2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

Worst hotel ever. Bed bugs, fire ants, and the smell of rotten fish was overwhelming. The staff is rude and uncaring. The rooms had an unbearable stench of fish and were crawling with ants. Couldn't sleep because of the bed bugs. Pool was full of non guests and hotel staff.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
29 Thank Anderson827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft. worth, tx
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

I won't be staying here again. The front desk was surly and did not advise me of anything offered by the hotel upon checkin. My friend was sitting in the vehicle with the engine running waiting on me and the front desk made me go out in 100 degrees and move the truck away from the entrance. Ugly check-in and a really bad mattress in the room. Charge $75.00 for one night for my 15 pound dog. Check-out early the following morning and a different check-out person at the front desk but not any better than the night before. If you want to feel comfortable, go someplace else.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank dfwtx55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
3.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Galveston Island
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Galveston
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
2.9 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Galveston

Property: Candlewood Suites Galveston
Address: 808 61st St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-1099
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Galveston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in Galveston offers ideal lodging! Why stay in one of the cheap hotels in Galveston when you can enjoy the premium amenities of the Candlewood Suites - Galveston extended stay hotel? Stay with us and you'll see why our guests' surveys praise the excellent service of our hotel. Galveston is a mix of historic settings and modern culture, as evidenced by the unique shops and stops along The Strand. Galveston County Historical Museum offers a look at local history, and you can explore world history, science and the rainforest at the pyramids in Moody Gardens. Our hotel in Galveston is just a short drive from Schlitterbahn Island Waterpark. Corporate travelers lodging in our Galveston hotel are minutes from Galveston Convention Center, University of Texas Medical Center, the Port of Galveston, Halliburton and other businesses in Galveston. Our hotel's business center, along with each suite's over-sized desk with free high-speed Internet access and a speakerphone with free local calls, help you work efficiently. During your stay in Galveston, our extended stay hotel's amenities will make you feel right at home. You can cook meals in your suite's fully equipped kitchen, relax in the recliner while watching movies from the free movie library and unwind in the fitness center and outdoor pool. From a free laundry facility to the Candlewood Cupboard, our extended stay hotel in Galveston will take care of your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Galveston Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing