We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and fun atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Star Drug Store

Star Drug Store
Ranked #28 of 308 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Augusta, GA
Level Contributor
1,250 reviews
457 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 474 helpful votes
“Great food and fun atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

I'm sorry others didn't like this place as much as we did. We are always looking for mom and pop's as opposed to chains and this place did not disappoint us in food or atmosphere. We went for breakfast and loved every bite. The bacon was excellent, and the rye toast was the best I've eaten. The pancake was a little thick, but it had good flavor. My husband also had an egg cream that he said was great. They had old-fashioned malts, shakes, floats, sodas and egg creams which many young people today have never had. Pity!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    110
    28
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
houston
Level Contributor
129 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Wonderful place for lucnh or breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Love this place and the turn-of-century ambience. Friendly and attentive staff dish out wholesome food that you will come back for. A little pricey perhaps, but the ingredients are mostly locally sourced and of the highest quality. A longtime favorite when I am on the island.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not impressed!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Very expensive and mediocre food. Concept was nice. Coffee was the best part of my breakfast. Almost $30 for two people, insane! Won't go again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leeannesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We found out about Star Drug Store from a cab driver during Mardi-Gras this past February. Have been here several times now and have to say the breakfast may be the best in Galveston. Have tried several breakfast options and they are all great, including the Eggs Benedict. The lunch offerings are not quite in the same league in our opinion. The chocolate milk shake is pretty darn good though. The counter seating, which completely encircles "the kitchen" gets you in front of the action. The option of sitting at the sidewalk tables is nice also. The staff is always friendly and helpful here. Star Drug Store offers a great overall breakfast value.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IslandLite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food was Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Nothing spectacular here. We ordered two sandwiches. Mine was crossant and it was good, but sister ordered wheat and it was toasted and hard. The fruit medley was canned fruit, not fresh, which was disappointing. The kids had icecream which they liked. This place is small and can't handle large crowds, so go during off periods. Personally, we won't be back. The food for the money was not good, we will probably go to McAlisters next time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank fronterhouse81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star Drug Store also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Star Drug Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing