We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible food”
Review of Star Drug Store

Star Drug Store
Ranked #34 of 315 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Tiburon, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Horrible food”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The food was so terrible non of us ate. The fruit was from a can. I don't feed that to my kids at home, why would I want them to eat it at a restaurant? Gross!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank tina a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    115
    32
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“5 Star for the Star!”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Galveston is my favorite place to vacation. Star is our favorite place to eat. I love the old fashioned atmosphere. The food is great. The staff is great. We went several times during our visit. It's in a cute little part of the downtown where you can park and walk to a few stores after you eat. There are even a few things to browse and shop around the upstairs of the drug store.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank miranda_kay83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
316 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good Old Fashion Breakfast”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Good old fashion breakfast at a good price is always available at the Star Drug Store. Ambience is nice and nostalgic. Outside dining a treat in good weather.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank zepper50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belvidere, Illinois
Level Contributor
128 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Step back in time”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Don't think they've sold drugs for a long time but it's a great place for lunch. Friendly greeting when you come in the door. Very good food. The cook even asked us how we liked our lunch. We were all impressed. Even bought a couple of T shirts.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
562 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, good lunch”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We read about it and it was not very difficult to find. Nice retro style. We shared a ham sandwich on a croissant and a coke, as we had had a large breakfast: it was tasty, delicious, just hit the spot. There were many other temptations but it will have to be for another time.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sycha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star Drug Store also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Star Drug Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing