We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the eyes, food average at best”
Review of Star Drug Store

Star Drug Store
Ranked #34 of 311 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good for the eyes, food average at best”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stopped by for lunch after being directed there by a local store owner. Being one of the oldest establishments in the area, we had to check it out. Could never complain about the staff. The Ruben was made with deli style pressed pastrami and overloaded with sauerkraut. No fresh cooked meat here. The Bbq beef sandwich was ok. The beef was more like Manwich commercial type mixture on grilled Texas toast. Two different chicken sandwiches were served on croissants. Of the four sandwiches, these were the best. The pasta salad sides had very little taste. Most pasta salads we have experienced at other places had more than noodles in them.Very little Italian influence. In all fairness there was no mention of the components in the salad. Stop by for a soda and drink in the ambiance. For food you can do better.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    113
    31
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A must see in Galveston!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The oldest drug store in Texas is a must see for visitors in Galveston. It's a unique experience to look at everything inside from the soda fountain with stools all around it, unique items both old and new for sale inside the old glass front cabinets on the walls. There are more items for sale upstairs, but we didn't go due to time constraints.

The food is very good and the ice cream shakes are fantastic! I had a patty melt on Texas toast with a side of dilled potato salad and a chocolate shake. Husband had a hamburger with chips and a cookies and cream shake. We enjoyed eating there very much and would highly recommend it to anyone. You can sit on the stools or there are tables and chairs. We will always go eat at Star Drug Store when visiting Galveston.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, Kansas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An old time gem”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We found this place wandering the Strand district. I had read reviews here and was on the lookout for it. The atmosphere is like an old time drug store with a lunch counter and tables as well as souvenir and beach merchandise and a wall filled with antique and collectible knick-knacks that are also for sale. We chose to sit at a table, and ended up right by some cobalt blue depression glass. Score! I had been looking for a cobalt blue butter dish and there it was right by my elbow. That is what is known as serendipity. But on to the food. We both had a half sandwich--the turkey bacon avocado and a cup of their famous tomato basil soup. We highly recommend both. You get your choice of bread with the sandwich. I had toasted wheat and hubby had a half croissant. I should have gotten the croissant too. Not because the wheat was bad, it's just that they are so generous with the sandwich ingredients that it was hard to keep it together between the half slices of wheat toast. The croissant held everything together better. The bacon was outstanding and they put a nice thick slice of avocado on the sandwich. Yum! The soup was also delicious. A surprise that it wasn't a smooth creamy tomato soup, but chunky and flavorful with chunks of tomato, bits of bacon, and rye bread croutons in it, in a basil tomato base. A standout, and I would pay to get the recipe! My only regret is that I only got a cup instead of a bowl. Service was quick but the young man who brought our water and menus didn't seem like he was particularly happy to be at work that day. But the waitress who took and filled our orders was very nice and did a great job.

We came back again later in the afternoon to rest our feet and sat on the stools at the counter and shared a chocolate malt. It was fun and malt was so cool and creamy. Sitting at the counter we watched the cook make various plates and there was nothing I saw that didn't look delicious. Prices are reasonable and we will definitely come back here if we are ever in Galveston again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dexldex02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Found out about this gem from our doorman at The Tremont. Within walking distance, it looks like an old time drugstore. In fact we had walked by the previous day and had not given it a second glance. We had breakfast here, egg special and Star omelet. Food, service and prices are good. Much to choose from on the menu. The restaurant itself is very interesting and historical, I definitely recommend The Star Drug Store.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank darcykim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sunday Morning Lunch”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed an extra day after a cruise, and stopped here for lunch to share the history and good food we had seen in reviews. We sat outside and thoroughly enjoyed the food and atmosphere. The brunch looked great with all the breakfast items to choose from, but we had sandwiches and burgers--all very good.

They have a separate fountain menu if you just want dessert or a shake/float.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OkieTraveler73162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star Drug Store also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Star Drug Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing