We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience The Seawall
from $98.95
More Info
from $75.00
More Info
Reviews (2,688)
Filter reviews
2,688 results
Traveler rating
1,348
833
356
105
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,348
833
356
105
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea wall pleasure pier great place to walk across the street pay to park nice beach gulf of mexico nice walk galveston beach amusement park fish jog waves sidewalk bike piers stroll
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 2,688 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2019

We stayed in Galveston overnight before our cruise sailed and we were very impressed with The Seawall. It's pretty, and busy, with a lot to offer.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2019

My husband and I spent a few days in Galveston last week. We rented a two bedroom, two bath home with another couple, through VRBO, which was just 3 blocks from the seawall. We took long walks on the blvd at daybreak each morning and enjoyed watching everyone start their day - from the dog walkers on the beach to the joggers on the sidewalk. One thing that impressed me was the cleanliness of the city. And we felt safe wherever we went. Good job Galveston!

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank rutan103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2019 via mobile

We drove by and it was beautiful. The Gulf view was amazing! Worth talking a ride even if you don't havev alot of time!

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank cathymur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2019

Spent the week on the seawall in Galveston in our Class A RV at Stella Mare - walking over to the beach every day despite inclement weather which meant fewer people was just what we needed! Beaches are very clean this year, they are making an effort - worth your time for a peaceful 5 miles walk!

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Texan312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2019 via mobile

It is definitely worthwhile to drive the length of the seawall and admire the scenery as well as the attractions. One caveat...watch out for jay- walking pedestrians! While the city of Galveston has done a great job of adding cross-walks with pedestriam controlled traffic lights, many people still choose to walk directly across from whatever hotel /condo they are staying at.
If you want to visit the beach without staying overnight, be aware that parking along the seawall can be problematic on the weekends and it is not free. Instead, I recommend driving west beyond the seawall where you can pull off on any one of at least 30 public beach access points that allow you to drive directly on to the beach. The sand is packed and even small sedans can get into the free public parking areas. If you have a Texas State Park Pass (great value) the day use area at Galveston Island State Park is another free option. I prefer to drive past the state park and pull into one of the free access points in Jamaica Beach or Isla del Sol.
About the water..it is brown. Don't be put off by that. It is not pollution. Due to the proximity to the mouths of the Sabine and Mississippi rivers, there is a lot of inlet silt in this part of the gulf. The beaches and the water are actually quite clean and the water temperature makes for a great swim.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank J7009DEtoddb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews