We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Seawall

The Seawall
Book In Advance
More Info
$98.95*
and up
Houston Sightseeing Tour and Galveston Day Trip
Ranked #7 of 100 things to do in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Walk along this eight-mile seawall built to protect Galveston from the raging winds and waters of the Gulf of Mexico.
Highlands, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

The seawall has really built up since Hurricane Ike. It is a beautiful place to visit and take the kiddos.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tammy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,930 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    915
    600
    283
    92
    40
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Very Nice Oceanside Walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Living in Houston, on a lazy weekend day we sometimes decide to "go to Galveston for a walk". We head for the west side of the seawall, off from 61st street near the San Luis hotel. We get a soda or iced tea at one of the nearby cafes and just amble along the beach and seawall enjoying the views, watching people, enjoying watching the kids play in the water and sometimes going down to the beach for a cool walk in the sand. There is always lots of activity in the area and people walking along the same as us. Watch out for the rollerskaters and the peddle buggies along the way and just "zone out".

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocketscientist08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollister, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ehhhh”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

I grew up here & it is pretty to look at but, the water isn't all that clean anymore there, bums sleep on beach at night, lots of drug deals going on, not a place youd want to walk up & down after dark!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tattoobarbii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemp, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Drug dealing spotted, prostitutes seen, bad location around 14th St.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Drug dealing spotted, prostitutes seen by folks + 2 boys, we met on beach, staying at same hotel as us. I witnessed drugs being passed, but missed the prostitutes. Dogs running loose all over beach! No leashes, or running free dragging leashes! Police cars everywhere but seemed more intent on parking fines, than the crimes right under their noses!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank karen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

We went for a full day of sun and fun. It was nice to walk around and take in the sights.

We parked the cars over by McDonald's for 8 bucks and had the entire day to run around. It all worked out very well.

We would go again.

Helpful?
1 Thank AllGood422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Seawall also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to The Seawall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing