We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for walking and biking along the waterfront”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Seawall

The Seawall
Book In Advance
More Info
$98.95*
and up
Houston Sightseeing Tour and Galveston Day Trip
Ranked #7 of 101 things to do in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Walk along this eight-mile seawall built to protect Galveston from the raging winds and waters of the Gulf of Mexico.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great for walking and biking along the waterfront”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We walked up and down the Seawall and also rented bikes and drove along it. It is great for people watching, exercise, and getting an idea of what is along the shore. Our family description of Galveston is "Charleston meets Daytona Beach." We had a great time along the Seawall and in Galveston in general. It is easy and inexpensive to rent bikes.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim1093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,971 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    932
    616
    290
    93
    40
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lots to do and easy to navigate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Most of the hotels are on the seawall, as are most of the restaurants and bars. Shopping in Galveston isn't that great, in my opinion, but there are other fun things to do up and down the Seawall. I recommend walking or biking instead of driving up and down the Seawall, as there are a lot of lights and it gets pretty congested. Not to mention, parking can be a nightmare.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_Melissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
113 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“It Aint Florida”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

If you need a beach fix and don't care what color the sand or the water are then have at it.
Some good seafood places but the street is very crowded and not really worth the drive as far as I am concerned.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TexasSkyPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AERM
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A place to relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Me and my wife walk around and enjoy the sea breeze. In this time of the year my sinus is acting up but being close to the salt water makes it dry up. We enjoy the scenery with people on the beach. Some fly their kites, some go on fishing at the shore or other at the fishing pier. Other are like us just waling to relax. There are those who go for a bike ride.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank AERM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lots to do”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great places to shop and eat all along the sea wall. Take a nice long stroll and enjoy the fresh air.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phillip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Seawall also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to The Seawall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing