We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a great time, lots of activities!”
Review of The Strand

The Strand
Book In Advance
More Info
$142.00*
and up
Galveston Warship and Submarine Tour
Ranked #4 of 101 things to do in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A lively strip in the heart of historic Galveston feautures pubs, delis and specialty shops.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Had a great time, lots of activities!”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Go to La Kings for the sweets, get your fortune read by Zoltar, ride on a horse carriage, go on the boat ride/dolphin tour, shop for just about anything, and eat just about anything. We had a great time and left La Kings with 2 pounds of rocky road fudge and 3 pounds of salt water taffy! :)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ginger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,009
    758
    327
    48
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clovis, New Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fyi.....you have to pay for parking!”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The Strand is a tourist trap. Everything is outrageously expensive. Also, it seemed that there's a whole lot more bars than there is shops.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KandiNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“District is just alright”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

It is over priced with a lot of not much worth going there for. Far nicer districts in and around Galveston.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

An interesting historic district. I liked that they had descriptions of the very unique buildings in the area. The descriptions were located on the building or on freestanding signs. Parking was ample on the day that we visited. The shops were a mixed bag, but usually carried out the theme of the area nicely eg we visited one shop that specialized in nautical items

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Champaignguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What is it?”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Everyone told me to go to the Strand. I kept asking what is it. It is the old Downtown. There is curb side parking. Not very good at parallel parking. The shops were all right. The restaurants were expensive.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Justin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Strand also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to The Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing