We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun shops”
Review of The Strand

The Strand
Book In Advance
More Info
$142.00*
and up
Galveston Warship and Submarine Tour
Ranked #4 of 101 things to do in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A lively strip in the heart of historic Galveston feautures pubs, delis and specialty shops.
Gilmer, Texas
Level Contributor
182 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Fun shops”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Some really nice shops....Galveston is back on my "fun" list. A few years ago I dreaded the thought of going to Galveston but things are improving every visit.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank ROADHOTMAMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,011
    758
    328
    48
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
118 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Love hanging out on The Strand before a cruise”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Lots of great shops! Just a super place to hang out before a cruise. Wish they would add more public restrooms!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank dsg560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nacogdoches, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Love the historical Strand”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

This is a great place to wander the different shops, buy gifts, or just sit and people watch. Don't miss watching the taffy pulled at LA Kings Confectionery store.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shellene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to walk around!”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We love all the little shops and restaurants around this area. We always make sure we have time to walk around and do some shopping. We always visit here when we are in Galveston.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank dthorne0331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
197 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great local experience!”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

This place sets you back in time. Great architecture and lots of history. Wonderful place to spend the afternoon walking around. Families and couples can enjoy the shops and restaurants. Many people consider this a tourist trap and yes, there are trinket stores but most all of the shops and eating establishments are locally owned. Not much of the way of chains in The Strand. Some very interesting and unique shopping opportunities.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank suzybro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Strand also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to The Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing