We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful night's sleep!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
North Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“wonderful night's sleep!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

A mother & teen daughter get away over Labor Day weekend. We enjoyed a nice king bed & stayed up late reading. We had a wonderful night's sleep-the best I've slept in a hotel bed lately! We had a view of the gulf (across the island). enjoyed the pool. They even allowed us a late check out & a swim in the pool after check out. The parking lot is free, & it is right next to Schliterbaun (we didn't use it). There is a mini fridge in the room & that was great to cool our bottled water for the beach!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank homeschool7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardens1, Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, October 22, 2010
Thank you for sharing a review of your stay with us. A mother & daughter get away is a special time and we appreciate you choosing Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center to share that quality time. Your feedback is very helpful and we look forward to welcoming your family back in the near future.

Moody Gardens Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    396
    129
    73
    30
See reviews for
542
222
18
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Austin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2010

As a former Disney cast member myself, I have a very high standard for quality of service from a resort experience. As a result, when I take my family on a vacation, we typically stay on property at one of the Disney resort locations. This year, with limited time and resources, we decided to stay a bit closer to home and book a few days on the Gulf Coast. A friend mentioned the Moody Gardens resort in passing, and after reviewing the attractions and amenities online, we decided to give it a try. We are quite happy that we did.

After a short drive down from the Austin area, we arrived at the lobby of the impressively grand hotel, where we were greeted at the front desk by two very helpful gentlemen, Brandon and Michael. They took great care in checking us into our room, providing information on the packages for the area attractions, and generally welcoming us to the resort. Even our 5 and 7 year-old children commented on how “nice” and “friendly” the two were with us. It was a great first impression, and both Brandon and Michael remained friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

As for the amenities… Our room was immaculate. The beds were great. And, the view of the surrounding area from our room was quite nice, as well. We spent the whole first day at the Schlitterbahn park, and enjoyed dinner at the Terrace Restaurant. Tony and the staff at the restaurant did a great job, and we really appreciated the “kids eat free” program. Over our three day stay, we visited the restaurant several times and found Tony to be both personable and professional in the highest degree.

In our remaining two days, we spent time exploring the Moody Gardens attractions and the greater Galveston area. All of the attractions were very clean, well designed and expertly executed. Of particular appeal was the Moody Gardens Aquarium. The kids loved it! We spent more than two hours going up and down the different levels, exploring all of the views of the undersea life. We also enjoyed a visit to the 3D IMAX, the white sands of the Palm Beach area, and the expansive hotel pool with swim up snack bar. All were very clean and very enjoyable.

Since our return home, we have recommended the resort to several of our friends and colleagues. We had a truly World-Class experience, and we plan to return to Moody Gardens time and again for future family vacations.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VacationingInTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardens1, Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, September 23, 2010
We were pleased to read about your World-Class experience at Moody Gardens Hotel, Spa and Convention Center. We value your visit and your comments are greatly appreciated by all employees. In particular, we are proud of the professionalism of our staff, Brandon and Michael at the front desk, and Tony and staff at our Terrace Restaurant. It is our overriding goal here at Moody Gardens to provide the best in service, accommodations and attention to detail. We look forward to welcoming your family back in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cedar park , tx
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2010

We have stayed at Moody Gardens now 3 times. We love it. Have two small kids. So many planned activities for kids. The staff are awesome and so prompt! Rates are fair. Beautiful, well maintained tropical grounds. Not on the beach but there is so much to do at the resort for kids, that it doesn't seem to matter. Love the aquarium and love the Palm Beach area, man-made beach with lots of shallow swimming areas for kids. Good on site restaurant where KIDS EAT FREE! :) Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank txelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardens1, Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, August 26, 2010
We would love to welcome your family back for your 4th visit to Moody Gardens Hotel, Spa and Convention Center!! We were pleased to know that your stay with us was enjoyable and your children enjoyed many of our fun events. It is our goal to consistently provide the highest quality in service - so it was pleasing to know our staff gave you A+ customer service and they were awesome, prompt and met your needs. We will share your comments with them.
Thank you for choosing Moody Gardens and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2010

my family and I we have just gone to Galveston to the competence of Showstoppers and after 12 hours of road when we arrive at the hotel the only thing that we want is to rest, and which was our surprise that the young lady that was found in the counter told us : that my two beds queen reservation was not going to be able to be because we arrived very late and that instead of that ;They were going to give us a King size and a small bed, neither to speak already we were very tired and added to it did not say them of a very coarse form. The continental breakfast costs $10.00. The dryer of hair and the plate functioned poorly.the personnel of Palm Beach too coarse, and be prepared with repellent for mosquitos because they sell it to $14,00. The personnel that helps with the luggage quite.coarse finalizes. Next time take in consideration the reviews of tripadvisor.
Please Embassy Suites Hotel we need you in Galveston Texas.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank funtravel16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardens1, Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, August 2, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments - they are greatly appreciated! I was disappointed that Moody Gardens did not meet your room requirements and that your stay was not as enjoyable as you had anticipated. I can understand your frustration especially after a 12 hour drive. Please be assured that we did look into the matter to assure this does not happen again. As far as mosquitoes - unfortunately this is the time of year they come to the island and surrounding area. We hope we have the opportunity to regain your trust in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2010

My husband and I stayed here during the Memorial Day weekend. We live within 50 miles of Galveston, so it's easy enough to drive here. We were able to book a nice King room just a few days before our arrival. This resort is bayfront, not oceanfront, but it is less than a mile to the beach.

The room was clean and comfortable. We ate a dinner and a breakfast buffet at their main lobby restaurant, but were not able to try their pricier place on the 9th floor. The food was fine, but I was not impressed with the service here. I'm used to overly-friendly and chipper employees at resorts, but did not feel that here. Not that anyone was unfriendly or discourteous, just not the same type of enthusiasm you might see elsewhere. (that goes for the entire resort, not just the restaurant.)

Upon check-in we were given a pass to the Palm Beach swimming area, but we found it to be extremely crowded that day. However, this was 2:00pm Saturday of Memorial Day weekend, so I am assuming this was a bigger crowd than normal. We ended up at the hotel pool, which was still crowded but much less noisy.

Overall, I enjoy the resort and am extremely impressed by the lush tropical landscaping. My husband and I enjoyed an early-morning walk from the resort to the beach (approx. 1 mile,) we visited the Aquarium, and saw an IMAX film during our stay. All of the attractions are worth visiting, and the prices are fair.

Be sure to make time to visit other parts of Galveston, especially the Strand Area. It's not very far from the resort, and you will find a lot more dining options.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gulftraveler789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2010

Went here for a convention. Wished I would have stayed elsewhere and drove over each day.
The shower pressure was awful. The room we were in (668) had wet carpet between the bed and the bathroom wall, also you could hear a water drip from somewhere. We did not notice this until bed time, by then the kids were getting into bed. But we did call down to the desk, they said someone would be up first thing in the morning.

I went to the desk at 11am, they sent someone up, he claimed the wet floor was from the ice maker on the other side of the wall. I said what about the mold there on the floor, he wanted to argue by saying he did noit see any. I took it up with the desk, they said they were booked and could do nothing and I would loose the rest of the nights money if I left.

The linens (sheets and towels) all had stains on them.. Nasty!
The beds were not comfortable at all.
The food from room service and the restaurant was tasteless.

On the bright side the pool for the kids was great and it is close by for lots of things fro them to do.

The beach at Galveston was not in good shape. Tons of seaweed really limited what sand was usable to about 5-8 feet to the water. The locals told us this is from Ike, but that was two years ago.

Folks, I would really think hard if I were you about staying here.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 16weekayeartraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lufkin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2010

We were there on Friday June 4th only because we couldn't get a room at the Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort (read that review if you're thinking about that hotel). The hotel is nice enough and check in was fairly quick, even though they're busy. Most of the front desk staff had badges that said they're in training. It is a non smoking hotel, but they did get us a room with a balcony. The valet parketing attendants are FANTASTIC!! Can't say it enough. Best baggage service (checking in and out) we've ever had.

The pool is nice and we enjoyed the whirlpool. It was actually a little cool and breezy that night. Their was a live band playing when we got there. The pool bar closes too early, but we were able to get a drink before they did.

The tickets seem to be overpriced for the activities there. People staying at the hotel don't get any discounts at all. Seems like they would consider changing that. The aquarium was better than we expected. The butterfly garden was a ripoff. We didn't go to the rainforest since we were checking out to go to the Holiday Inn that night.

We are planning to go again and take the kids. It's a nice place to relax for a weekend.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lweiss68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
4.2 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
4.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
4.4 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 52 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center

Property: Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center
Address: 7 Hope Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-8927
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#3 Business Hotel in Galveston
#5 Family Hotel in Galveston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 418
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa And Convention Center
Moody Gardens Hotel Hotel Galveston
Moody Gardens Motel
Moody Gardens Galveston
Moody Garden Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing