We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great get away place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Every summer I take two different groups of grandchildren to Moody Gardens. It is the highlight of our year. The children love the hotel as much as anything. It is clean, beautiful and comfortable. Rates are a little high and the reservationists although sweet seem a little incompetent and slow. But overall we love the experience. The staff working in the hotel in every area are very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marsha f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear marsha f,

We are honored that you choose Moody Gardens for your annual summer trip with your grandchildren! It is delightful to hear that your visit is the highlight of your family’s year and that Moody Gardens is a part of the special memories you make with your grandchildren. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience you incurred while making reservations. I have passed your comments about the reservationist on to the Reservations Manager so she can make sure all agents are trained to efficiently help guests.

Summer is Galveston’s high season when schools are out and all the attractions and amenities are in full swing. We do have lower rates in the fall (October, November) and spring (March and April) where the temperatures are cooler (but still warm). We would love for you to come visit us in the fall or early spring. Winter, Spring, Summer or Fall there is always something going on at Moody Gardens to enjoy.

Thank you so much for the nice notes about our hotel and staff! We hope to welcome you and your family back to Moody Gardens soon.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

932 - 938 of 1,536 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2014

Stayed here doing a work training session. Friendly and Helpful staff ( they get an A+ on this). The hotel is on the older side but it looks like they are updating. Very nice pool area, nice clean rooms, WIFI had a good connection.

Pricing on Food and Drinks, on the high side but the food was not bad.. There is a small fridge in the room, but no microwave. kitchenette, etc.

Huge waterpark next door as well as a bunch of other attractions.

There is a nice Vietnam Memorial on location which I thought was in very good taste.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drakethib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear drakethib,

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your business trip stay with us. We are delighted to hear you found our staff helpful and friendly. All rooms and public areas have been update during our, just completed, a 20 million dollar renovation. Thank you for the kind words in reference to our Vietnam Memorial.

We appreciate your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to Moody Gardens again for business or pleasure!

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed a week for a dance convention being held at the facility. The rooms were cleaned well (twice a day if you like) and always plenty of towels. We had issues with our fridge, iron, and sink drain while there and all were replaced / repaired quickly and the front desk even followed up to see if things were taken care of. Air worked well. Plenty of attractions on site but we spent most of our off time in the pool. Great for kids and poolside service for beverages and food for adults. There are numerous places to eat on site. We had dinner at one of these during our stay and the service was great! Prices were reasonable. The waterpark located steps from the hotel was wonderful and I highly recommend it for family fun. My only gripe is the cost. Even a discounted rate was too steep for a hotel stay. If it had not been a requirement of my daughters dance team to stay there, I would not have considered it due to the price. Otherwise, an awesome stay!!!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank MeanGirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear MeanGirl2,

Thank you for leaving a review about your recent stay at Moody Gardens. While I was pleased that your overall experience was great, I sincerely apologize for the issues with your fridge, iron and sink. I am glad to hear we were able to correct them in a satisfactory manner.

Summer is Galveston’s high season when schools are out and all the attractions and amenities are in full swing. But, allow me to share a secret to Galveston Island. Maybe the best time to visit is in the fall (October, November) and spring (March and April) where the temperatures are cooler (but still warm), the island is less crowded and the beach and the shoreline are quite pristine…and one more thing…the hotel rates are much less.

We appreciate your kind feedback and we would love to welcome you back to Moody Gardens soon.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Great room with nice amenities, very friendly and helpful staff. The room was so quiet and comfortable - great bed! The grand kids had so much to do and see, as did we. Lazy river, Pirates display, ropes course, swimming, etc!!!! The people behind the check in desk were so helpful when I lost my tickets to a couple of venues! Valet parking was excellent and easy. I highly recommend this place for a family or private get-a-way!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WPMBayt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear WPMBayt,

Thank you so much for the nice review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your room, amenities and Moody Gardens’ attractions during your stay. We are eager to welcome you back to Moody Gardens in the future!

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We have just returned from a 4 day stay at the Moody Gardens Hotel and have nothing but good to say about it! They have recently renovated their rooms and they are beautiful! The beds are extremely comfortable and the room is perfect! A/C works great! The hotel offers lots of fun things to do and we will definitely return! I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Pammy2Pammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Pammy2Pammy,

Thank you for leaving a review about your recent stay at Moody Gardens. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It’s rewarding to hear that you found our newly renovated rooms beautiful and the beds extremely comfortable.

We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Just stayed here again over the 4th of July and had a great time. The rooms have just been renovated and updated. The staff was extremely friendly from the bellman to the security people I worked with when I thought I lost my Wallet (fell out of my purse in the car). Even the valet helped me search my car for the wallet. Great location away from the Seawall but did not miss the beach because you get a free pass to Palm Beach (waterpark with sand) which is much better than the beach, no seaweed and waiters. Highly recommend this hotel for families as there are a lot of organized activities for kids which enable both parents and kids have a vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TheaTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear TheaTX,

We are so glad that you chose to spend the 4th of July at Moody Gardens. We are delighted to hear that you and your family liked our newly renovated rooms and found our staff friendly and helpful. We love to welcome children to the hotel and I am glad that you and your family enjoyed Palm Beach and the Kids Crew Activities.

We hope to welcome you back to Moody Gardens for many more getaways and vacations!

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Clean, updated, family friendly hotel. They have adult/children time done perfectly. Everyone greets you with a smile and they are very accommodating. Lovely rooms and big bathrooms, we loved the pool bar and Palm Beach!! Anthony at the front desk was so nice! We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Txnewslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear Txnewslady,

Thank you for the nice comments. We are excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad that you and your family were able to enjoy the pool bar and Palm Beach.

We hope to welcome you and your family back to Moody Gardens soon.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
4.2 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
4.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
808 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
1.5 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center

Address: 7 Hope Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-8927
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#1 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#3 Business Hotel in Galveston
#5 Family Hotel in Galveston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: $164 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 418
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa And Convention Center
Moody Gardens Hotel Hotel Galveston
Moody Gardens Motel
Moody Gardens Galveston
Moody Garden Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing