We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed on a quick trip from Houston to go to Moody Gardens. I had never stayed at this hotel and was pleasantly surprised. Very clean, modern, and friendly staff. We did not get a chance to eat at the hotel because it happened to be closed while we were there so that was a bummer. Our room overlooked Schlitterbaun and you could see the ocean, so that was nice. Their was a big sign out from that said, "Welcome Cheerleaders", so I was worried we would hear noises all night. But, to our delight, I did not hear any children the entire time we were there! What a great bonus! I don't know if it is because kids these days are not up to the tom foolery we used to cause, or if they are better behaved, or if the rooms just do that good a job at sound proofing. I will be staying here again with the family.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor because those give the best views of either the ocean or the pyramid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjgatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear mjgatto,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you were pleasantly surprised by the accommodations and our staff. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back to Moody Gardens in the near future!

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,515)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

978 - 984 of 1,515 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014

It was a very nice & clean place to stay. Very clean & roomy. There weren't much to complain about, really. I would say that not having an air vent in the bathroom was not helpful! The beds are good for one person, but if two sleep on one bed, they would feel every movement! That's it, other than these two minor things, everything was great.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sehseth001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear sehseth001,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Moody Gardens.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This hotel and all it's amenities is absolutely the best. This is our 4th stay in the last 7 months. It is so clean, so luxurious, so convenient, and the staff is very helpful. Our room was very clean, quiet, elegant and very comfortable. The pools are heated and there are activities galore for the children. This has become my grandson's (age 6) favorite place to stay. This hotel is a definite 4+ star hotel. We've got at least 2 more trips planed this year to visit again. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha2242013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Martha2242013,

Thank you so much for the kind note. We are thrilled that you have had such a great experiences here. We love to welcome children to the hotel and I am so glad to hear that your grandson enjoys the Kids Crew activities and that Moody Gardens is his favorite place to stay. We are happy that you were able to visit the heated pool during your stay.

We appreciate your continued patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back to Moody Gardens soon!


Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Moody gardens is a nice place to stay. We had bought the Explore Moody Gardens package from their website which gave us a king sized bed, free valet, and a two day pass to the attractions.

Room was clean and comfortable. I did like the retractable clothesline in the bathroom and the little sewing kit they offered with the soaps and sample bottles. Attractions were very entertaining and the staff working the attractions were awesome.

The only thing that ruined my family's stay was The Terrace, the lobby located in-house restaurant.

After a long day enjoying the attractions and the paddleboat all we wanted was some dinner. We went to The Terrace and was seated promptly. The waitress could use more time getting acquainted with the menu because she didn't seem that knowledgeable over some of our questions.
We got the fried calamari for appetizers and had the waitress put in our order. Hubby ordered the catfish plate: $20 and I ordered the steak plate $33. First off, the prices seemed too steep, especially for catfish. There was a catch of the day, which was snapper, and it was $27 for two filets, rice pilaf, and vegetables. *shake my head*
Anyway my husband mentioned to the waitress that he was very hungry and was hoping to get an extra piece. Waitress said it'd cost $7 for an extra piece, hubby shrugged and agreed. We get our plates and there are two decent sized filets and a nugget. What the hell?! We told the waitress to take the nugget back because we weren't about to spend $7 on a nugget. And to push us over the edge my steak was way too thin to be called a ribeye and well done instead of medium rare.
Hector Romo, the assistant outlets manager, came to apologize and correct the situation, which he did after we returned from dinner at Cajun Greek (highly recommend, by the way) he called our room around 8p to apologize again and he offered us a free breakfast voucher and said he would send someone RIGHT UP to deliver it. TWO HOURS later (we're already asleep) at 1030 someone comes by to drop off the voucher.
Wow, guys...really?? How is that helping anything??
We wake up to our itemized list and they charged us for the valet. Hubby did get front desk to correct that item but, still, shouldn't have been there in the first place.

Either way, I doubt my family will ever stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Ms. Samantha Marie W.,

Thank you for bringing to our attention the series of service lapses in our restaurant. You deserved much better and please accept my most sincere apologies. We opened the Café in the Park in March and have had been pleased with the overwhelmingly positive comments we receive. We do sometimes fall short and your feedback regarding the extra portion and the quality of the steak was very troubling, especially after you discussed with the server the request to make sure the additional portion was adequate. I shared your feedback with our restaurant manager who remembered your table and he agreed that we had dropped the ball with your order. We offered breakfast as an apology but we were not aware of the clumsy way Hector followed up with the courtesy voucher. Hector is one of our newer managers and we have shared your feedback with him as well.

While I noted your preference to not return to Moody Gardens, should your plans return you to Galveston, please do not hesitate to contact me personally as we would welcome an opportunity to win back your confidence. My direct line is (409) 683-4405 and my email is goneil@moodygardens.com. Ms. W., thank you for bringing these things to our attention. We know that you have many choices when deciding where to stay when you come to Galveston. Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Garvin O’Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

If your travels take you to Galveston, Texas you must plan on staying at this 5 diamond hotel and resort! Brandon Marsh, Guest Services Manager and Bellman Scott, along with the entire Bell Staff are at your service to make your stay enjoyable. The rooms are what you would expect from a hotel of this quality, luxurious and spacious. The restaurants are superb and the food is outstanding. We stay here as we overnight before departing on a cruise, they keep our car in a garage while we cruise and provide us with shuttle to and from the ship. It just doesn't get any better than this. We will be back in September and again in December this year!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Dear Jim H,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Moody Gardensl! Thank you for the comments about Brandon and our bell staff, they are always looking to go above and beyond!

We appreciate your feedback about our rooms and restaurants, thank you for letting us know.

We hope to welcome you back to Moody Gardens Hotel in the near future!


Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Moody Gardens is always a joy. The rooms are super clean, the staff wonderful.
It is a vacation to enjoy every minute. The rooms are large, including the bathroom. Every convience is at your fingertips. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HBroussard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Dear HBroussard,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am glad to hear staying Moody Gardens continues to impress you, and I am thrilled to read how much you enjoyed your stay, the amenities and the exemplary service our staff provided.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We loved staying at the Moody Gardens Hotel. The room was incredibly spacious, very updated, extremely clean & had a wonderful view of the nearby Moody Gardens attractions. It was well lit and the bed was very comfortable. We had plenty of space to work and our son had ample space to play. We were within walking distance of aforementioned attractions, which is exactly what we wanted. The pool was beautiful, though it was still a little too cold for us to swim. With our stay, we couldn't have asked for more hospitable hosts. From the clerk that checked us in to the young man who brought us room service, everyone was kind, friendly and extremely helpful. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: This was our first time staying, so we don't have too many pointers, but the king room facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kacey_b4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Dear kacey_b4,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed everything! The Moody Gardens’ attractions are always a guest favorite, and we are glad that you were able stay with us and enjoy the proximity of the hotel to the attractions..

We hope to welcome you back Moody Gardens soon!

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
4.2 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
4.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
779 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
1.5 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center

Address: 7 Hope Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-8927
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#1 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#3 Business Hotel in Galveston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#5 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: $169 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 418
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moody Gardens Hotel Hotel Galveston
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa And Convention Center
Moody Gardens Motel
Moody Gardens Galveston
Moody Garden Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing