We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2014 Multiple Line Professional Seminar - Amercian National Insurance Company” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Galveston Island, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“2014 Multiple Line Professional Seminar - Amercian National Insurance Company”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Fantastic job on the room renovations - just absolutely gorgeous! The furniture/amenity choices are beautiful and so noticable from previous stays.

The hotel and convention center staff did an outstanding job accommodating our 750+ group of attendees. The quality of food served to such a large group was by far the best that I've seen especially with such a large group. The service was the icing on the cake!

The valet and shuttle crew did an amazing job of handling the many individual groups leaving the property on one of the nights - it was flawless. Bar and restaurant service flowed perfectly even with a restaurant renovation going on ..... the temporary restaurant site looked great too!

This was a very well executed event thanks mostly to such a great hotel and convention center staff. We could not have been more pleased! Thanks so much!

Room Tip: Rooms in north tower have a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Melissa P,

We are so honored that you chose Moody Gardens Hotel, Spa and Convention Center to host your event. I am thrilled that you and your guests enjoyed the stay with us. Thank you for the kind words about our staff and the recent renovations.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    396
    129
    73
    30
See reviews for
545
222
18
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

The facility is very nice, the staff is very attentive and helpful. The room we had was very clean and toasty (baby it's cold outside). Fridge holds a lot and room is spacious. Only drawback is no microwave in the room but they have free Wifi and a free gym with free yoga class. Happy hour in the lobby is M-F 3-7 with half off appetizers and $4 mixed drinks....hot wings for $4.50 were really good. We love the attractions. We saw Rio in 4D, visited the rainforest,we watched the full length movie "Gravity" starring Sandra Bullock In 3D,participated in some activities the property offers. My girls rosted marshmellows over an open pit and made smores with the staff and other hotel guests. My oldest daughter and I held the limbo stick for the kids during poolside entertainment and my husband was the judge. We had a good time and all of that was just day one. We purchased a family pack annual pass so we will be back again and again. Great place.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellawash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Bellawash,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us! Moody Gardens loves to welcome children and we are so happy to hear that your family enjoyed the Kid’s Crew activities, amenities and the Moody Gardens attractions.

We are excited to hear you purchased a Moody Gardens annual membership and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

I stayed Sunday through today. I had promised an employee that I would write a comment card about her but instead I thought I would comment on here about her. I would like to say that you have a friendly staff and some really hard workers. Bergitta took care of us at the pool, the restaurant, and the lobby. Although it is concerning that one person would be working everywhere like that she assured us that they were doing her a favor because she needed to pay for school. Of the staff she was the most accommodating, helpful, knowledgeable, and friendly. I do think the hotel is nice and I like the concept of Cafe in the Park. It's a nice restaurant for the family. I did get a little frustrated with all the different menus. Also the restaurant told us to eat dinner in the lobby bar because the wait was long for there. Bergitta rang us up two tickets because she wanted to make sure that our kids could still eat free, it's offered in the restaurant but not in the bar. She told us about the attractions and any of our questions she didn't know the answer to like during breakfast we wanted to know what was in the shooters she found out quick for us. Also I told her that I would write on the comment card that you should let the girls have pants and a jacket on these cold days.

Room Tip: Have a room on one of the top floors because it is a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Visted Galveston and Moody gardens March,2014 for a state dance competition. Beautiful facility recently freshened. Very classy decor excellent service and impressive adjacent convention facilities. Interesting to see a hotel "under fire". Literally dealing withe the arrival of hundreds of families including thousands of young dancers. And doing it well! Beautiful lobby bar area (with great Bloody Mary) inside and outside heated pool. Efficient renovated restaurant on main floor and world class steakhouse on the 9th floor. We ran into the Shearns restaurant manager randomly early in our visit and he was personally attentive and made us feel like family when we dined upstairs later. Best salmon I have ever had, by the way.
The rooms are very nice with balconies available on first and second floors. Nice spa area with excellent workout area, dance room and dry sauna.
Across the parking lot area several huge glass pyramids with rainforest trails and live animals and birds and other museum exhibits and discovery areas. All in all a wonderful destination to enjoy all in itself or to use as a base to explore the proximal water parks and beach areas.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Mark S,

It is certainly rewarding to read such a wonderful review.

I am very thrilled we were able to provide a memorable, satisfying experience for you and your family. We are very proud of our recent updates and we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed them. I am also delighted to read of the professional, friendly and helpful service staff provided during your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back and thank you for your review.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

A surprise get-away & birthday surprise. The weekend before Spring-Break 2014, you would think that the hotel would be crawling with family & kids...but reservations was kind enough to place us on the 8th floor overlooking the patio & the pyramids to Moody gardens.
Room was very nice with king bed, comfy down comforter, huge pillows, nice sitting area with small sofa and reading chair. Very clean bath with oversized towels and terry robes hanging in the closet. Temp. control in room, small fridge, working desk, flat screen tv - channels would "blink" for a few seconds, but nothing major.
Enjoyed the stay, would go back! Note: in hotel restaurants/bars a bit over-priced, check out the rest of Galveston for eats & drinks!

Room Tip: Great views to the Moody gardens pyramids on north side...higher up floors quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank southtxshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear southtxshine,

Thank you for leaving a review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your birthday surprise get away at Moody Gardens!

I appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

I have traveled a lot and this hotel is tops in my book. The staff there is just wonderful and very helpful. Where the hotel is located there is lots of entertainment for all ages. The hotel transportation is excellent. They took our ladies to the Strand for lunch, shopping and picked them up. They were prompt and the buses were in excellent shape.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Presidental Suite and it was excellent with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aubrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Aubrey B,

Thank you for leaving a such a great review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Our location is perfect for a day exploring the Moody Gardens attractions as well as all the must see sights and activities on Galveston Island! We are glad that you got to experience this and thank you for the kind words about the hotel and our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

I was able to check in early, so my wife and I went to a local deli to have lunch. Upon our return to the room we noticed a most disturbing odor as we entered, all to find out someone had used our bathroom in the worst kind of way. We called the front desk and asked to be moved and that request was granted, but when we asked to speak with the manager he said all he could do would be provide a late checkout time. This was totally unacceptable, and our return to this location is most unlikely!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Lisa M,
Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your visit to our hotel. I was extremely disappointed to read of the outlandish experience with your bathroom and the unprofessional manner in which we handled the situation after bringing it to our attention. On behalf of all of us here at Moody Gardens, please accept my most sincere apologies.

There was no valid excuse for this breach in security and decency and please know that, in my over 14 years here at Moody Gardens, I have only encountered something like this only once or twice before. Nothing is more important than the safety and security of our guests. Our immediate concern was to see who might have had an unauthorized access to your room. We performed a lock interrogation to find that out. In the timeframe from your check in and return later there was only one entry made by a specific hotel department key. We are in the process of interviewing all employees with access to that key. When we determine which employee actually used the key, he or she will be dismissed as we cannot condone such lapses in behavior and judgment.

I was also struck by the cavalier nature of our front desk supervisor when bringing this to his attention. He is a new associate and it is clear that we need to spend some additional time with him on guest-focused training, especially when confronted with such a breach in service. We will use your feedback as a training tool for all of us.

Ms. M, we sincerely appreciate your bringing this incident to our attention. I also received your email to me and have responded accordingly as we would like to win back your trust in us. We know that you have many choices when deciding where to stay when you come to Galveston. Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to winning back your trust in the not too distant future.

Garvin O’Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
4.2 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
4.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
4.4 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 52 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center

Property: Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center
Address: 7 Hope Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-8927
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#3 Business Hotel in Galveston
#5 Family Hotel in Galveston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 418
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa And Convention Center
Moody Gardens Hotel Hotel Galveston
Moody Gardens Motel
Moody Gardens Galveston
Moody Garden Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing