We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We visit here 2-3 times a year for Schitterbahn, festival of lights or just visiting the pyramids and enjoy the great service offered by the Moody Gardens hotel. The rooms are exceptionally clean, room service and the restaurant are also top class.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the pyramids and the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear Mark Z.,

Thank you for choosing Moody Gardens Hotel as your go to place to stay whenever you visit Galveston Island. I am pleased to read that you find the Moody Gardens service and accommodations exceptional. Your feedback and continued loyalty to Moody Gardens are greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,086 - 1,092 of 1,536 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

My family already knew we could not celebrate together over the Thanksgiving weekend.....so we committed to a reunion at Moody Gardens the weekend before! What a great treat to be greeted so warmly by the room manager, Mr. Nash. He showed us to our two rooms: one was a junior suite and an upgraded double for my daughter and me. We had a fantastic view of the pool area from the balconies of both rooms. The beds were super comfy with plenty of soft pillows and a warm duvet (all 3 nights were cold by Texas standards!).
The breakfast buffet was so delicious and hot! with Starbucks coffee that wouldn't quit. Our waitress, Tabitha, could not have been more pleasant and accommodating. Mrs. Schmid, the restaurant manager at the Terrace runs a tight ship and everything must be to your satisfaction or she will make it right!!! Her husband is the renowned head chef at Shearn's restaurant which is probably the finest restaurant on Galveston Island.
Our weekend was made even more spectacular by the Festival of Lights that has been a Moody Gardens signature tradition for many years---they even have ice skating, tube-sledding, and hot choclate available! We returned to our rooms late at night to find that the junior suite had several board games that we proceeded to play: Jenga, Candy-land, and Dominoes. We all had many laughs trying to best each other just like many years ago at home!!! What memories we created.
In all, we had the most relaxing time-of-our-lives. We reconnected with each other and remembered what is important at this time of the year---to be thankful to God and for having each other! We will be back. Thanks, Moody Gardens!!

Room Tip: speak to a manager before you arrive. Tell them your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hwichelhaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear hwichelhaus,

Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay at Moody Gardens on Tripadvisor. It is exciting to hear that Moody Gardens provided a wonderful reunion celebration and memories for your family. I am pleased to read you enjoyed The Terrace restaurant and the Festival of Lights activities. We truly appreciate you choosing Moody Gardens to celebrate your family’s Thanksgiving. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

I've been to Galveston a few times and have lived not far from here my entire life, but have never visited Moody Gardens. I was very surprised by how nice and updated everything was. The rooms were very clean and staff very nice and helpful!

Also went through all the pyramids and that was a lot of fun and very interesting! Worth a stay and/or visit!

Stayed: December 2013
2  Thank bradbatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear bradbatch ,

Thank you leaving feedback about your first stay at Moody Gardens on Tripadvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your first stay with us, as well as the Moody Gardens Attractions.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Garvin O'Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in a renovated room on a higher floor with a view of the pyramids. Room was very clean; hotel was nicely decorated for the holidays. Parking was easy and convenient. The only issue we had was with the wifi speed - it was terribly slow for the entire 4 days we stayed. Not a major complaint and we'd certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Would recommend a room with view of the pyramids in the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cadp52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear cadp52 ,

Thank you for leaving a review about your recent stay at Moody Gardens Hotel on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay in one of our newly renovated rooms and the views of the pyramids and Festival of Lights.

I appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

My family of 4 came to stay one night and see the Festival of Lights. The Family Festival package is an incredible deal for this attractive, comfortable hotel. The public areas and rooms are very well decorated and very clean. The beds were fabulous and service was excellent. Several people were in the pool throughout the day and evening, and it was cold for Texas (50's) so I'm assuming it is well heated. The only downside is finding your way around the hotel. We stayed in the north tower which has separate elevators from the main towers and lobby areas (and great views). The staff gives good directions, but we were constantly checking the wall mounted maps and going the wrong way. Be sure to find your way to the 9th floor viewing area during your stay to check out the view. This is a bar area, but you can also get a view with small children from the elevator area.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank Klenox67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear Klenox67,

Thank you for your review and for your recommendation. I am thrilled to read how much you enjoyed your stay, the comforts, the great views and the Festival of Lights. Please keep us in mind this summer when it’s warmer and Palm Beach is open.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Everything exceeded our expectations. We enjoyed the aquarium and the holiday displays inside and out. The Thanksgiving buffet was exceptional. Valet parking was fast. But they charge $18 per day which seems excessive to this experienced traveler. All employees were friendly and helpful, attentive and cordial. The cups did not have sanitized covers and they should have. Aside from that small detail, we have no complaints and we are pretty picky. Thanks for a great time!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear Christina M,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us over the Thanksgiving holiday. I am happy your stay exceeded your expectations and thrilled to read that you enjoyed your room, food and service. I did note your concern over the glasses in the guest room. Please know that you have identified a potential problem area at many hotels. We share your expectation for clean and sanitized glassware in the guest room. We run all glasses and coffee mugs through our sanitizing mechanized dishwashers every day and at every check out. We place the glasses on fresh coasters in the room.

Your feedback is appreciated and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Hotel is well maintained and rooms are nicely furnished. Indoor and outdoor pool with small outdoor water park in season. Service personnel are pleasant and helpful. Hotel is walking distance to Schlitterbahn water park.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elgringito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear elgringito ,

Thank you for leaving feedback about your recent stay at Moody Gardens. It is great to hear you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms and you found our staff pleasant and helpful. Please keep Moody Gardens in mind for your summer vacations. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
4.2 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
4.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
807 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
1.5 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center

Address: 7 Hope Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-8927
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#1 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#3 Business Hotel in Galveston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#5 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: $165 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 418
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa And Convention Center
Moody Gardens Hotel Hotel Galveston
Moody Gardens Motel
Moody Gardens Galveston
Moody Garden Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing