We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling Very Moody!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Feeling Very Moody!”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My wife and I are really trying to like this hotel, but we keep running into roadblocks every time we stay here. This is our third stay at Moody Gardens. We stayed here last almost a year ago to the weekend when the remodeling was getting under way.

Check in was smooth, even with a big wedding and the event we were there for. The bar area is nice. Our fault is not with the grounds or the other parts of the hotel, it is always our room!

We stayed in Rm. 819 on 10.12.13. This was a Saturday night. We were part of a group riding a two day 180 mile bike ride. We had been on our bikes for 100 miles pedaling from Baytown all day and were really looking forward to our room and a shower and some rest.

The room was clean and on first impressions everything looked great! I took the first shower while my wife was doing something else. The sink in the bathroom would not drain when pulling or pushing the drain release due to the fact it was not connected so if you wanted to drain the sink you had to pry the drain cap out of the drain itself and hold it in place till the sink drained. I had to do this numerous times and it became old very quick. No, we didn't call the front desk and complain because last year when we stayed we had maintenance guys in and out of the room all evening and they couldn't resolve last years problem so we did not want to go through that all over again. I did mention it to the front desk when I went back downstairs and they asked if I wanted to see a Manager and again said no because I did not want to go through all of this again like last year. This was not the same problem as last year. Things break I know, but come on and fix them before the next guest arrives.

The newly remodeled shower was already losing its finish in places and it made it look dirty and old with the contrast of new and run down. The shower dish for the soap and shampoo was not large enough to hold soap, shampoo, and conditioner at the same time. One or more of the items kept falling into the tub. It didn't seem well thought ou to me.

We asked the front desk if we could have a shuttle ride to a restaurant on the seawall like we did last year, but were told at first that the shuttles did not leave the property and then by another desk person that they were busy with a large group and could not. We may have been part of the large group, but were also a year earlier when Lubos gave us a ride to Gaidos Restaurant for dinner and then picked us up. For a property this size I would think they would have a van to help get guest to nearby attractions and restaurants unless they do not want you to leave there property. We were told they could call a taxi which they did and we paid the fare to and from the hotel. They do not exceed my expecations or even meet them.

The next morning we woke to get ready for the remaining 82 mile bike ride. We wanted to have coffe while we got dressed only to find the Keurig coffee maker would not brew. The power light came on, but it would not brew. No, we did not call the front desk on this either because we were in a hurry and by now were just wanting to leave. On the way out, my wife stopped and mentioned to the front desk about the coffe maker. An apology was given and we were directed to the Satrbucks around the corner from the front desk to purchase our own coffee instead of offering us coffee elsewhere that was complimentary since it was with the room had the Keurig worked.

We really want to like this place, but can't. I won a free night stay coupon and passes to attractions at the property that are good for a year due to my fundraisng efforts and we have a part of us that do not want to go back even if it's free. We want to have a good experience here without any issues and enjoy the whole stay, but are gunshy.

We travel alot and have stayed in other resort hotels and other hotels of varying levels of service and this is the only one that continues to disappoint us.

The bed was extremely comfortable even after the long ride that day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mccrazyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear mccrazyone,

Thank you for your review. I appreciated your comments both good and bad and, for those areas where we fell short, please accept my most sincere apologies. We are currently renovating the guest rooms and one of the check list items for each guest room when it is renovated is to do a full clearing of all sink and tub drains. Hotels have a unique set of plumbing issues and keeping drain lines clear is a continual task. While I can understand your frustration with our shuttles, a restaurant shuttle service is not a normal part of our services and we are happy to do so when we can.

We do want to win back your trust and would love to have you back. I understand your feeling “moody” and I would love to get you out of that mood. Please do not hesitate to call or email me personally.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    768
    410
    133
    74
    30
See reviews for
595
240
21
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edmond, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed here as part of one of the packages for cruise parking. The room was nice and the staff at the hotel was friendly. Getting to the cruise terminal was no problem; everyone from the hotel was put onto 2 buses and our driver instructed us what to do upon return. When we got back the following week we had to wait an hour at the cruise terminal for more transportation. There were 2 buses boarding when we walked out, but they were already full. This surprised us since it only took 2 buses to get us there. When a van finally arrived that is when we found out that Moody Gardens also provides transportation for The Inn and the Waterpark (a motel nearby). The driver said, "oh you're my VIP's." Oh really? Then why did we have to wait an hour and then we were dropped off at Moody Gardens AFTER all of the other people in the van were taken to the motel. If you want to provide transportation for a nearby motel, fine. BUT, you should really have dedicated transportation for your hotel guests and the people who stayed at the motel (and probably paid a fraction of what the Moody Gardens room cost) can wait at the terminal!
I would have rated this hotel much higher if I had not had such an awful experience with the crusie parking. Another couple ended up taking a cab because they were tired of waiting for transportation from the terminal.
If you're just going to stay at the hotel then you'll probably have no issues.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear MichelleP

Thank you for bringing to my attention the issues you had with the cruise transportation and our service. You certainly deserved better and please accept my sincere apologies for keeping you waiting like we did. We normally perform these services much more efficiently and I agree with you that our hotel guests should always get preferential treatment when it comes to pick-ups and drop-offs at the cruise terminal. I have shared your feedback with our guest services department and we believe we identified what went wrong that weekend and are confident going forward.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We just got back from an overnight stay at Moody Gardens hotel - our first time there. We were amazed by the size and very attractive decor of the rooms. So nice they come equipped with Keurig coffee makers! Also great is the pool and attached hot tub- beautiful and relaxing. We had drinks in the bar where we enjoyed the big screen and comfy chairs and joined friends for a delicious dinner in the hotel restaurant. Service was always with a smile. We will definitely return to this Galveston Island wonderland!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cowboymomhouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear cowboymomhouston,

Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I am thrilled to read that Moody Gardens and our staff were able to exceed your expectations. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed the size and décor in our newly renovated rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was our third time to stay here in the last few years. This is a quality facility with lots of activity on the property. We were part of a private group that provided food etc. so I can not comment on the restaurants but the Bar is good with a nice atmosphere.
Rooms have been refurbished in the last year or so and were very nice as well as very clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CareyJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear CareyJS ,

Thank you for the wonderful review! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and the activities available while staying at Moody Gardens. I hope you'll choose Moody Gardens the next time you want to get away for fun and relaxation. Keep us in mind this holiday season, when our annual Festival of Lights transforms Moody Gardens into a winter wonderland. In addition to the Festival of Lights, our Kid’s Crew has great Santa’s Workshop activities planned during the holidays. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Hubby & I stayed the night after attending an event here. It was our 2nd visit (4-5 yrs ago) and wow, they have really "upped their game"! Service was much crisper, banquet food was EXCELLENT (you don't hear that often), spacious rooms have been redone in calmer tones & comfortable furniture added. Just overall felt like a higher-end experience -- and the price was 1/2 of what it would have been at another hotel. Bravo!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank writergirlHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear writergirlHouston,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Moody Gardens on Tripadvisor. I was pleased to read you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms. It’s also great to hear that you enjoyed our banquet service and food. While it’s great to hear from all of our guests, it really feels great to get feedback from returning guests on the newly renovated rooms, I have passed your feedback on to everyone here at Moody Gardens. We appreciate your kind words and feedback. If you get a chance to return to Galveston we would be honored to welcome you back to Moody Gardens.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I recently stayed at Moody Gardens for a conference. The hotel and grounds are absolutely beautiful! The room was very nice - updated decor and very spacious. We had a beautiful view of the pool and the pyramids and the bed was awesome! Now, for the down side - it's a huge hotel and the layout is extremely confusing. You have main elevators, parking garage elevators and "North Tower" elevators and the corridors do a lot of twisting and turning. We got lost a couple of times and when we stopped an employee and asked for directions, they didn't speak English. That happened with three different employees. Once with housekeeping, once with a staff member working in the conference area and once with a waiter. We walked over to the pyramids and attractions and were told there was a "tram" that would take us around so we could see all the sights. There are posted tram stops on the maps they give out in the visitors center. We never saw a tram and we were there for over two hours. We saw the tram stop huts and benches, but no trams. So, beautiful facilities, but not so great on the "customer service" aspect. I realize that summer is over, but all the attractions were open and they were certainly charging for them and no one could tell us why there were no trams.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank txbatgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear txbatgirl ,

Thank you for your very informative feedback. I was pleased to read about the guest room and the grounds but was disappointed to read of the difficulty navigating your way around the hotel and shuttling between the hotel and the attractions. We are in the final stages of our $20 million dollar renovation of the hotel. Way-finding on the property is one area where we know we have some work to do. We have retained a sign consultant who has worked with us to do all new directional signage to make things easier to find. I have reviewed the plans and they are a great improvement. We should have them all installed by the first of 2014. In reference to the lack of tram service, I must apologize for your waiting for one. In the off season, hotel guests can call for a pick up anywhere on the Moody Gardens complex and be picked up with our hotel shuttle. It appears that many of our attractions personnel are not aware of this off season service and I will personally see that all associates are knowledgeable with this change. Thank you again for the very constructive feedback and we look forward to having you back here at Moody Gardens in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is a great place to learn about nature, especially when you are going with your kids. My little boy was so excited and curious about the animals, insects and plants in the pyramid. We had a great time there.


Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank wenzhe l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear wenzhe,

I am pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Moody Gardens. Please keep us in mind for the holidays when Moody Gardens is transformed into a winter wonderland with our annual Festival of Lights. Thanks for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcoming your family back soon.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
4.2 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
4.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
704 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn at the Waterpark
Inn at the Waterpark
#27 of 51 in Galveston
466 reviews
1.5 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center

Property: Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center
Address: 7 Hope Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-8927
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#1 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#3 Business Hotel in Galveston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#5 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 418
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa And Convention Center
Moody Gardens Hotel Hotel Galveston
Moody Gardens Motel
Moody Gardens Galveston
Moody Garden Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing