We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed with the "new" Moody Gardens”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
378 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“Very impressed with the "new" Moody Gardens”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My daughter attended a cheer camp at Moody Gardens. We were given rooms in the new section and the rooms were fabulous. I was very impressed with the great customer service we experienced throughout the facility from the parking attendant, to the front desk, waiters, pool attendants, maids, etc. Every thing was very clean. Plenty of towels in the room, great soft beds and comfortable extra furniture. What an added bonus that you now offered guests the free pass to the palm beach water park. Also schlitterbahn is next door if you want something bigger. We also enjoyed some of the Moody attractions but wish that hotel guests would receive a discount; similar to what you get when you stay at other resort locations like Universal or Disney. The Terrace restaurant really impressed me that I ate three meals there. Outstanding food and service. Also you have free parking and also an underground garage if there's room and free wifi. The location is on the bay but it's very quiet and easy to get to everything else. I would stay here again. I would recommend asking for a new room and if it's some of the older rooms ask for a discount...they all will not be renovated according to their signs until next spring 2014.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank BushkaTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. I was pleased to read that you found the newly renovated rooms fabulous, our customer service great and that you enjoyed your meals and service at the Terrace restaurant. It’s great to hear you enjoyed Palm Beach and some of the other attractions here at Moody Gardens. I understand your desire for a discount on the Moody Gardens attractions, however as a non-profit complex, any price discounting for our attractions needs to be made available to all Galveston hotels. This is why we came up with the one and two-day pass programs which represents a substantial discount to individual ticket prices.

Your review is appreciated and I have shared your comments with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Garvin O’Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    794
    422
    136
    74
    30
See reviews for
619
243
23
321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Port Isabel, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Our stay was absolutely the best. The hotel staff was extremely accommodating and helpful. My family and I enjoyed all the amenities the hotel offered including the various kids activities offered daily. I was particularly impressed with the fitness center. My kids, of course, were delighted by the pool and the aquarium, IMax theater, Rainforest, etc. The comfort of the room was just what we needed after a busy day of exploring! This hotel offers eveything you need to keep the family engaged.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review of Moody Gardens. I was pleased that you found your room to be comfortable and that you and your family enjoyed all the amenities we offer. It’s great to hear that your children enjoyed our Kids Crew activities as well. We are proud of our newly renovated Fitness Center and are glad to hear that you found it impressive.

Your feedback is appreciated and I have shared your great comments with our staff. We look forward to having you return to us the next time you visit Galveston.

Sincerely,
Garvin O’Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We have a weekend house on the west end and have been going to Moody Gardens for years. Our boys are now 3 and 6 and we continue to come back and try different things. Palm beach is great in the summer and we always hit the aquarium and rain forest during the off season. Keeping young boys entertained is not always easy but they are always excited to go and have a good time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 98Ags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments about the Moody Gardens attractions. I was pleased to read Moody Gardens is a year round activity for you and your family. It’s great to hear that your boys are excited and entertained every time you visit. Summer is winding down, but we still have plenty of great things planned for the fall and winter. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2013

What I love about the Moody is the dedicated staff. When you talk to them, you find that even some of the bellmen have been there since the hotel opened! I have been going there for years and I like the fact that I see the same wait staff, front desk folks, and bellmen. I know that each time I will receive the same great friendly service. I also highly recommed the lobster bisque soup, OMG!!! It is the best on the island!

Room Tip: I love the view of the ocean. The higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and most of all thank for your continued Moody Gardens loyalty. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the staff and that you know you will receive great friendly service during your stay at Moody Gardens. I am delighted to hear that you love the lobster bisque; it is one of my favorites too! Your feedback is appreciated and I have shared your comments with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

This place has it all! Amazing aquarium, fabulous restaurants, beautiful amazon rainforest, swimming pool with swim up bar and a short walk to Schlitterbaun Waterpark. Ask for a room with a view of the pyramids. The hotel staff are so friendly and helpful and were eager to accommodate our request. Great getaway for a family or a girls weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonmelbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for leaving a review. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at Moody Gardens Hotel and your visit to the Moody Gardens attactions. Your kind words are appreciated and I have passed them on to our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Garvin O’Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I stay at the Moody Hotel 3 or 4 times each year. If you want enough activities to keep both adult and children entertained this is the place. I have stayed at most of the big hotels in Galveston, Moody is awsome with the covered parking free, In the hot summer sun it is really nice to get to your car without trekking across a scorching parking lot. We will be back at the Moody early September and I can hardly wait.It has a super pool with swim up bar and hot tub right against thr pool. You will like the Moody. Hey be sure to do the Breakfast Buffet, I think it was only $12 and well worth it.

Room Tip: High up rooms, choose the pool view, beautiful view at night. If you like to have easy access to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear george646,

Thank you for your review and continued loyalty. We will continue to work hard to ensure your satisfaction and comfort. The Breakfast Buffet in our Terrace restaurant is a great value, an added benefit is the kid’s breakfast buffet is only $1. We look forward to welcoming you back in September.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I recently stayed four days in a newly renovated Junior Suite at Moody Gardens.. and only wished it was longer!! The fresh new decor of greens and turquoises, and white fluffy bed linens, reminded me a Caribbean vacation and turquoise water.. soo soothing and relaxing! Must say if the attractions, pool and spa at Moody Gardens weren't so amazing I would have enjoyed lounging in the room all afternoon & evening! Loved it!! On a practical note, a family of 4-6 could stay quite comfortably as the two separate queen size sofas make into beds. One of the queen size sofa/beds can be divided from the room by a pull drape to ensure complete privacy between the two areas, and it has its own flat screen television! This proved to be the perfect situation when I had a friend come join me for a couple of days and my early mornings allowed her to sleep in undisturbed. Trip was for business & visit with friends. Can't wait for a return visit!!

Room Tip: I stayed on the third floor facing the pyramids and pool.. although the pool was full.. there weren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuxeTravelerWannaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear LuxeTravelerWannaB

Thank you for leaving such a nice review. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your recent stay at Moody Gardens and that you found our new decor to be soothing and relaxing. The Junior Suite you stayed in is a new room type and is fast becoming a guest favorite. Your feedback is appreciated and has been shared with our staff. It was a pleasure serving you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
4.2 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
4.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
726 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
0.4 mi away
Inn at the Waterpark
Inn at the Waterpark
#27 of 51 in Galveston
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center

Property: Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center
Address: 7 Hope Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-8927
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#1 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#3 Business Hotel in Galveston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#5 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
#5 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 418
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa And Convention Center
Moody Gardens Hotel Hotel Galveston
Moody Gardens Motel
Moody Gardens Galveston
Moody Garden Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing