We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2013

My husband and I spent a long weekend at the Moody Gardens Hotel. We couldn't be happier with our stay. The employees aim to please and they really seem to enjoy their job. It made the stay even more enjoyable for us. Our room had a nice view of the bay. Dining at the hotel was a positive experience. Make sure you book a reservation to dine at Shearn's on the 9th floor.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickRoomsManager, Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Thank you for leaving feedback on your recent stay at Moody Gardens. I am pleased to hear you found our associates pleasant and helpful. Shearn’s has an amazing view and the best steaks on the Island. We do everything we can to accommodate our guests and will pass along your nice comments to our staff. The next time you come to the island please keep Moody Gardens in mind. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,567)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,220 - 1,226 of 1,567 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

In march of 2013 my family came to stay at Moody Gardens. It started out fine... but like everything else - the test always comes when things do not run smoothly. I had my work laptop with me when we arrived. The laptop was stolen out of our room. The hotel staff did not take any steps to rectify this situation at all. We had to bring the police out to location. Ask the hotel to do SOMETHING to try to find the work laptop. There was one apology from a service person but we were treated like lepers by the rest of staff. As if we had asked for some one to walk into our hotel room and steal the laptop. The Galveston police were helpful and gave us updates. While the hotel refused to return calls, or update us in anyway! My family and I have been going to Moody Gardens for nearly 10 years. The kids grew used to our family vacations there. We will NEVER be back. The date now is May 20th... and I have called yet again. Voicemail... not a response. I suppose the Hotel doesn't think customer service matters. Do not count on the staff or management if anything goes wrong.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SaiMcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your March visit and letting us know about the missing laptop. After reading your comments it is apparent that your concerns were not handled in a professional manner and, on behalf of all of us here at Moody Gardens, please accept my most sincere apologies. Our hotel is fortunate to have an employee pool that has been her many years and are loyal and trustworthy. In incidents such as yours, we fully investigate the circumstances, interview all associates who have access to the room and, if we uncover inappropriate activity, we take immediate action to ensure it is not repeated. Thankfully, these type of incidences are very rare here at Moody Gardens. In your situation, we were not able to find the laptop and I can understand your disappointment in us, especially given our inappropriate response to your concern.

Please know how much we appreciate your loyalty to Moody Gardens over these many years. While I can understand that this incident has impacted your feelings toward us, please know that I would welcome the opportunity to win back your trust. Please feel free to contact us at any time and please ask for me personally. Thank you. Garvin O’Neil, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is one of those times when you think about visit and realize as much as you try it really was the euphoria that was clouding you. Our reason for staying at Moody Gardens was due to the IronMan last month which took place on April 7th.

Neither my husband nor I ever been to Galveston before, so we booked our trip April 5th and then added a extra days and extended it through Wed the 10th. When we arrived to the hotel of course there were a lot of athletes who had arrived, were arriving and another conference taking place. Our first impressions of the hotel were wonderful the vibe. Especially the drive up.

The computer system which handles the access cards went down, it happen right when we were at the front desk and we had to wait more than 10 minutes, however the clerk was *very* professional apologizing and honestly there was nothing she could do. Honestly, we felt so badly for her because it *was the worse timing* not that there is perfect because it was like a bus load of people were coming in at that time. IronMan people and another conference...nightmare for them but they all handle it amazingly!

Later that once settled we attempted to eat in the dinning room down stairs...the hostess walked us through the direst part of the restaurant which was empty (she could have taken us another way as a hostess should) and attempted to sit us next to dirty dishes in a dark corner. We had to ask her to move us away from the dirty dishes and near a window. We were sitting down in the dinning room with one other couple were currently eating, for over 9 minutes with people talking all around us about there checks but no one came to bring us water, etc. This was shortly after 6:00 pm SO it was not like they had a rush of people. We walked out. Because IronMan people have to wear bands..they have to see those they know that is why we are in the hotel, did we get ignored for that reason? But we did tell them that is why we left no one came to take our order for 9 minutes and we looked at the hostess plus we saw them going outside to take orders..

Now the next horrible thing I witness...after the race we were with several other athletes at the bar and the bartender was making a mix drink that required a banana to be put into it and he took a bite out of it and then put into the blender! Not once did he take a bite but several times!!! The other wait staff watched and laughed as he shrug his shoulders like "SO what!" I was mortified! Good thing we were all drinking beers.

Originally we had reservations for the steak place in the hotel as my birthday was the 8th but we canceled our reservations, after the dinning experience in the hotel and seeing what we did at the bar. Even though the reviews on-line were favorable. We honestly didn't want to chance it and have a bad experience.

However....the cleaning staff was amazing and took so much pride in their work. As I mentioned we were there from from April 5-10th. Each day the cleaning staff took incredible care of our room and items even leaving extra shampoos, coffees, etc which we didn't ask for. They laid our out items neatly in our bathroom, etc. Not once were we concern with our items from the cameras to bikes. Needless to say we left them a nice tip.

We did order room service a couple of times and gosh I think management had the same guy doing the whole hotel. The kid was nice BUT the night of the IronMan when you couldn't get through to room service may not be so wise. But again...he was another good customer service person but think that one through for next year.

All in all ... as I reflect back on it was an average stay that I wanted to give it a higher rating if it weren't for those few hiccups of the few people who didn't seem to care. Average because the Starbucks had good coffee, the feel when you first walk in is typical, our few of the bay/pool was nice. The cleaning staff WERE ROCK STARS!!! The Room Service guy we liked. You may want to revisit that dinning room staff along with bar staff.

Room Tip: The beds are comfortable and they provide extra pillows but you can hear your neighbor. We almost ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Furboyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickRoomsManager, Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Thank you for bringing to my attention the circumstances regarding your stay with us. We host the Ironman each year and really enjoy seeing all the athletes competing and appreciate choosing us year over year to stay here.

It is our overriding goal here at Moody Gardens to provide the best in service and accommodations. There was no valid excuse for our lack of professionalism concerning the associate making the drink in the bar. We take your comments seriously and conducted an investigation concerning this. We discovered the associate was making himself a protein shake and his employment has been terminated. Our associates are here to service the guests and to go above and beyond to ensure you leave with positive memories.

I was pleased to read how our housekeeping associates were amazing! It is always nice when housekeeping goes the extra mile and recognizes when you need extra shampoo etc.. We are very fortunate to have such a great staff that truly cares about our guests. We hope to see you again for the next Iron Man and wish you luck in your future races!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Excellent location. Beautiful rooms. The King room was very large with a hide-a-bed making it perfect for families. Breakfast at the restaurant was relaxing and only slightly more expensive that IHOP.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank H-CHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickRoomsManager, Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you for the comments regarding your stay. I am pleased that you found our rooms beautiful and location to be ideal. The Terrace Restaurant’s relaxing atmosphere, menu and kids eat free special, make it a guest favorite. We hope to welcome you back to Moody Gardens soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

You've got Schlitterbahn across the street? (Wow!), beautiful views of the bay, great location, adult and/or children activities nearby-just across the parking lot!...The Pyramids are fun to explore plus being a GREAT learning experience! The pool is perfect with activities for the kids while you order snacks/drinks and take a dip or two now and then! The grounds are beautiful and the walking trail is fun. It's only about a mile or so to the beach with restaurants like playing there! You can be busy, active, or just relax. Basically, it's like being at a resort and not having to go too far to enjoy one activity or another! Yep! It can cost a bit but worth the trip! Check it out! We do business, couple, friends, and family trips there!

Room Tip: An upgrade can get you a sofa if you prefer to have more seating space. Higher floors have the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LPR19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickRoomsManager, Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful feedback and your continued business. I am pleased you enjoyed the many services available to hotel guests. In addition to being within walking distance to Schlitterbahn. Next time you visit be sure to check out Palm Beach, Galveston's only white sand beach! Our guests love the lazy river, 18-foot tower slides, wave pool. Entrance to Palm Beach is included with your stay.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Moody Gardens soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed on the island for only one night. The hotel was very nice, however, I was pleased to see the rooms were to be upgraded soon. We did notice all of the metal (door hinges, etc.) was rusty and tarnished and made it look like the hotel was slightly run down. It really isn't and the remodel should refresh everything. We had drinks twice on the 9th floor at Shearn's Bar. In the late afternoon, the view was nice, service was fine and the drinks were good. We came back after dinner to listen to the piano player and enjoyed the wrap-up to a long day. We didn't eat at a restaurant in the hotel, however, we did get room service for breakfast. All in all, it was a pretty nice visit. All of the staff we encountered were very supportive and friendly. We would return.

Room Tip: Upper floors at least have some view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAC3844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickRoomsManager, Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased that even during our major renovation you enjoyed your stay at Moody Gardens. I have passed along your feedback to our entire staff. Our sunsets at Moody Gardens are beautiful and Shearn’s has a magnificent view, not to mention the best steaks on the island.

We have many fun activities planned for the summer, including Bands in the Sand every weekend. We hope to see you again soon to enjoy all that Moody Gardens has to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

AttAttending a convention and loved every minute of it. The banquet halls are large but without losing intimacy. The service staff was great. There was never an empty plate or glass the whole time I was there. Facilities for speeches or training were very nice as well.
I was able to get a pedicure and massage at the space and had a great experience with both!

Room Tip: Would recommend an odd numbered room so that you can overlook the Moody Garden pyramids and the Gulf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buckypeekn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickRoomsManager, Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for posting your review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our convention center and that you were able to treat yourself to a pedicure and massage at the Spa. Along with our rooms, the spa is undergoing renovations. All of us are very excited to unveil the new Spa and we would love to have you back to experience all the changes. I have passed along your comments to our spa and convention center staff.

We do hope you will keep Moody Gardens in mind for your future travels should they bring you back to the island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
4.2 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
4.4 mi away
Harbor House Hotel & Marina at Pier 21
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
5.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center

Address: 7 Hope Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-8927
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#1 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#3 Business Hotel in Galveston
#4 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
#5 Family Hotel in Galveston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: $152 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 418
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa And Convention Center
Moody Gardens Hotel Hotel Galveston
Moody Gardens Motel
Moody Gardens Galveston
Moody Garden Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing