We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very good pre-cruise hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Points By Sheraton Galveston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lansing, KS
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very good pre-cruise hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed at the Galveston Sheraton one night prior to leaving on a cruise. Very nice, clean rooms and extremely friendly staff.

Hotel was in walking distance to a few restaurants along with one located in their lobby.

They allow you to leave your car in their parking lot for the duration of your cruise with no additional cost. We really appreciated that convenience. They do not have a shuttle but my husband dropped all us off at the port, went back and parked the car and took a taxi back - I believe it was less than $10 for the taxi ride.

I highly recommend this hotel - and would definately consider staying there again if ever in the Galveston area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert M, General Manager at Four Points By Sheraton Galveston, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Great News! We are one of the closer hotels to the cruise port and really appreicate the high praise. We look foward to your safe return and next stay at Four Points.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    171
    119
    56
    61
See reviews for
240
157
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

We got back from our cruise late and didn't want to makethe 5 hours drive home so we headed for a hotel. The rooms are SUPER clean, the staff friendly, great location across from the pier with the roller coaster and ferris wheel. They have a mini store there and a restaurant in the hotel which is convenient. The beds are the best! Super comfotable and the entire family slept way past our normal wake time. We will stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper level facing the pier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scubacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert M, General Manager at Four Points By Sheraton Galveston, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
I am so happy that you enjoy your recent visit with us. We have been working very hard to create a clean, well serviced, and friendly enviroment. Housekeeping is getting trained, front desk handling request better, and food/beverage is getting consistant. Thank you and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at Four Points several times. Our stay on November 9th thru 10th was the worst. The room and bathroom was dirty. The patio furniture was also dirty. I had asked for a large ironing board to be in the room when we came. The ironing board was broken. The air conditioner was not working. The thermostat was reading 75. You had to put it on 69 to get it to come on. The elevator was also very slow. My husband and I went out to dinner. When we returned we asked Malia at the front desk for some extra towels and wash clothes and a 6:00 am wake up call. After a hour and half we called the front desk and asked again about the towels and wash clothes. The lady at the front desk said she would bring them herself. After another a hour we went down to the front desk to inquire about the towels and wash clothes. We did not get a wake up call the next day or a early check out sheet. Luckily my husband set his alarm on his cell phone or we would have been late for an appointment on Saturday. We have a reservation to stay again on December 14th thru 15th. We will be cancelling it.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zachary1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert M, General Manager at Four Points By Sheraton Galveston, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your honest feedback. I am the newly hired General Manager and I completely understand your frustration. I am starting a Preventative Maintenance for the rooms so that these issues do not arise. I am also training the staff on how to clean rooms, handle guest issues and attend to guest request to better serve our guest. I have been here three weeks and working hard to make it a much better place to stay. I hope you give us another chance one day to see how much we have improved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Sheraton prior to our cruise. The hotel allows you to leave your car in their parking lot while on your cruise. The room was very nice. The hotel is located right across the street from Pleasure Pier. It was clean and the front desk staff was accommodating.

We would stay again for a pre-cruise stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a view. Our view was a brick wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kamybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert M, General Manager at Four Points By Sheraton Galveston, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Great! I am happy to hear everything went fine. We are a great location for the pre and post Cruise stays. Thanks and hope to see you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
102 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

C'mon. It's pretty basic. Make up the room before you let the customer in.

We booked two rooms with King beds via expedia. When we checked in we were told we were given a room with a king and a room with two queens because we booked through expedia and didn't pay full price. They eventually coughed up the second king room, but kudos for treating us like second class citizens.

No thanks.

Room Tip: Rooms face the amusment park or the wall of another hotel. Don't bother it you want a veiw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert M, General Manager at Four Points By Sheraton Galveston, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Not sure what may have happened on your situation, but we will take it as a learning oppurtunity. It can only make us better. I do hope you give us a second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We are Platinum level awards members with Starwood which means we travel, a lot! First thing we noticed when we walked into this hotel is that the ceilings are awkwardly low...I've never been in a hotel with ceilings this low. The concierge put my husband and I in a room with 2 full beds without even asking if we may want a King. (again, remember we're Platinum level guests and expect to be treated that way. It's the small things, people!) There are only 2 elevators and they are SLOOOOOW. One of them was out of service, beeping obnoxiously, so it took an unreasonably long time to get up to the room, discover the full beds, and get back down for new keys and go back up again. The beds are comfy and it was mostly clean but don't expect much. If you're traveling with kids and want to be close to the beach and the Pleasure Pier, consider this hotel. Otherwise, it doesn't stack up to most Starwood Properties.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank texastravelers0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert M, General Manager at Four Points By Sheraton Galveston, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for the feedback. Not much I can do about the low ceilings, but I can make sure staff take care of all of our guest including SPG's Platinum guest. We have just recenly had the elevator rebalanced? Anyway, they work well now. Please visit us again and see how we are doing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Springs, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

My husband and I were staying in Galveston for one night before our cruise and had a voucher from Priceline to bid on a hotel as part of the cruise package. I had read many reviews about Priceline after booking the cruise and became a little wary of their customer service. I tried to learn everything I could about bidding so we didn't get stuck in a horrible hotel for the night. I planned on bidding on a 3 star hotel in Galveston and knew that there were only 3 hotels with that rating in the east Galveston area. I read many reviews of all three hotels and found the Four Points was not getting good reviews, it seemed mainly because an elevator was broken and took forever to get one. I knew this was the hotel we would get after I bid $1 to the voucher...and it was! I emailed the hotel and asked if we could get a king size bed and hoped for the best when we got there.
When we arrived at the hotel (earlier than check-in time) we were not greeted by the desk clerk who was having issues with her computer. She called her manager to assist her and she didn't acknowledged us as well. it took several minutes before she greeted us and checked us in.
I went to hold the elevator while my husband got the bags and was suprised that both elevators opened right away, they were working just fine. When we got to our room on the fourth floor we found it to be very nice, clean,with a very comfortable bed and a great view of the Pleasure Pier and the gulf. We were very pleased with the room and especially the location of the hotel to everything. If it weren't for the first "hiccup" in our stay I would have given this the highest rating.

Room Tip: The Fourth floor with a view of the gulf
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iwannagothere_TK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert M, General Manager at Four Points By Sheraton Galveston, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
I am glad to hear you had a great stay with us. I understand the small issue at the arrival process is training. I have worked with the front office staff on basic hotel greetings and computer skills with a newer property management system. Just having leadership has really been the difference here and we have a great little place. Creating a service culture has been my focus so that staff really grasp what is important. I hope to make the difference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seawall Inn & Suites by the Beach
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points By Sheraton Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points By Sheraton Galveston

Property: Four Points By Sheraton Galveston
Address: 2300 Seawall Blvd, I-45 South Between 23 & 24 Street, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-7940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Galveston
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points By Sheraton Galveston 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, Four Points by Sheraton Galveston is near the beach and Pleasure Pier, Schlitterbahn Waterpark, Moody Gardens, Strand Historic District, and Grand 1894 Opera House Free parking only applies for guest. (none parking facility) If vehicle is left for cruise parking the charge is $40.00 for 5 days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Starwood, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Four Points By Sheraton Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Galveston
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing