We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst than Motel 6!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston
Ranked #29 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 2, 2012

horrible, would never home back, ever!!! gave my room to away, when i called to make sure they kept it. Gave me keys to other occupied room, 3 TIMES. Told me "somehow system didn't register those as busy", service was abysmal, staffs were incompetent, hotel were dirty with puke stains in elevator, oh, i booked ocean view, and got parking view, 2 beds to 1. The only thing they did good was that we ended up at Wyndham Grand, great hotel btw, and cost cheaper too!!!!! X(((

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelgeek1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maunak D, General Manager at Four Points By Sheraton Galveston, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Dear Travelgeek,

We're sorry that your experience did not meet expectations. Please feel free to contact me at the hotel so that we can get more information and remedy any concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (636)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

514 - 520 of 636 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

My wife and I took our 4 year old and 1 year old to Galveston. Checked in at 11 am and was upgraded to a suite I'm Starwood Gold. The room was already chilly and clean. The staff had a crib waiting for us in the room.

The location is great. 1 mile front the Strand, 2 blocks from the Pleasure Pier and a nice clean beach right across the seawall.

The pool at the hotel was clean, this seams to be a popular place for the families during the day and younger crowd at night.

Very pleased with friendly staff and yet another great stay at a Starwood property.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank Addproud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maunak D, General Manager at Four Points By Sheraton Galveston, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thank you for your review. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

I got this room through Priceline for less than half the normal booking Cody and was very please. Bed was comfy, tiny view of the ocean, nice staff. Great location allowed us to walk to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJones-StL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maunak D, General Manager at Four Points By Sheraton Galveston, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear Ajones-STL,

Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This hotel is a weird one to review. The guest rooms are quite nice, with comfortable beds, strong free WiFi signal (a big plus), nice bathroom, etc. No complaints.

Housekeeping is rather weak, though. Bathroom wasn't cleaned well upon arrival (hair on shower walls, yuck) and wasn't freshened during our stay other than new towels.

The "information" books on where to eat, sightsee, etc are pretty sad, mainly because the "THINGS TO DO" was empty. We kind of had a good laugh about that.

Big complaint: the much-maligned elevator STILL DOESN'T WORK. This 5-story building with many families is operating on one slow elevator. I've been told by frequent guests it has now been inoperative for weeks. That's ridiculous.

Also, the carpet in the hotel is just gross and needs to be replaced or CLEANED. It was a poor design choice because it shows dirt. There's a reason hotels like to use "patterns" on carpet, along with dark colors. Probably looked great a few years ago when the hotel opened but now it's impossible to not get a negative impression before you even get to a guest room. (Main lobby is quite lovely, though!)

Finally, the staff isn't very knowledgeable. They just shrug their shoulders and say "I don't know" rather than trying to find answers. I do realize this is a midscale property but more training would go a long way.

Room Tip: The suites seem to have a window overlooking the Gulf. All others look over Wendy's or the park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJNOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maunak D, General Manager at Four Points By Sheraton Galveston, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Dear JJNola,

Thank you for your nice comment about our rooms. I've shared your feedback about your room issues and staff responses with the housekeeping team and the front desk. We agree that both areas could have been better and apologize for that. The elevator unfortunately has turned into a major issue that will take longer than expected to repair and return into service. We thank everyone in advance with your patience regarding the elevator.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed here on a Thurseday and Friday night (9-11th) in August..the location was great, but as stated before the elevator STILL DIDN'T WORK !! I figured bcuz those comments were made weeks before we went, that it would have been fixed..NOT !!! The one working elevator took so long it was easier to carry our kids and stuff up the stairs...One of the side doors was broken (the key card side entry doors) and they had it rigged with electrical tape...When we brought it to the staff's attention, they were very "ya, we know" and didn't seem bothered by it...When my husband checked us in, they told him it was a very "business" environment, with very little families or "kids" running up and down the hall...uhm, it was full of families..not that it bothered us, as we had our kids with us, but don't lie to us....I got really tired of their being very little ice, but I did actually see someone with a suitcase and a garbage bag, filling it up with ice..not really their fault...The view was very good...I always wanted to look at a parking garage...lol...Other than that, it was very clean and neat and the maid service was okay...I was a little peeved they didn't replace our used glasses after the first night, but that's just a pet peeve of mine...so I would say for location it was pretty good (don't EAT AT DENNY'S !!! Go to Millers !!), cleanliness was pretty good, staff apathetic and maintenance pretty low..

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erinshaneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maunak D, General Manager at Four Points By Sheraton Galveston, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Dear Erinshaneb

Thank you for your review. We certainly apologize for the elevator issues you experienced and the fact that the staff was apathethic.. The elevator is being repaired in an expedited manner by Otis Elevator to ensure it's proper operation and the safety of its passengers; however, it is has definitely taken longer than anyone had expected. We hope that your next stay with us will be better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

We booked a suite as it was touted as great for families. The king bed was great but the fold out sofa was terrible for our children. We asked for a roll away bed and were told they only had 1 for the entire property and it was in use. They said it was scheduled to be available the next day but we never received it. When we first went to check in, our room wasn't ready and they asked us to come back in an hour. Came back an hour and a half later and still not ready. When we arrived in our room there was food in the fridge and an open bar of soap in the shower. The suite was nice but the bathroom faucets and fixtures were all loose. Our room was not cleaned until 9:30 pm on the 2nd day and it was not vacuumed. There was sand all over the floor. One of the two elevators was broken the whole time we were there and it looked like it had been for a while based on the sign that was posted. It was common to wait 10 mins only to get a full elevator and have to wait again. When we asked about it up front they told us to look at it as an opportunity to get more exercise. Unfortunately for us we ended up carrying a 5 year old who was sick with a stomach bug up the stairs. At almost $300 a night I expected more. I get that location is factored into the cost but we got much better service at a best western for $60 a night in San Antonio. This was our first stay at a Sheraton and it may very well be our last.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelDreamer1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maunak D, General Manager at Four Points By Sheraton Galveston, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Dear TravelDreamer1992

Thank you for your review. It's disappointing that your experience at our hotel was not up to par. Our summer season rates are higher than our off season rates; however, we strive to provide a fair value at all times. It seems quite unusual that our Housekeeping team did not attend to your room. I have shared your feedback with our team to make sure that they can better understand their responsibility for our future guests. During peak times our elevators are quite busy, and with one elevator being repaired by Otis Elevators that can make wait elevator wait times longer. We hope that will soon be remedied when the elevator goes back on line. If I can be of further assistance, please contact me at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We had a great stay at the Sheraton Four Points hotel at Galveston! The room was a good size, very clean and beds were SUPER comfy! The hotel is right across the street from the beach and just down from (VERY close to) Pleasure Pier. We were able to get a refrigerator which was great to keep cold water bottles in on a hot summer day! We spent some time in the pool, which was nice enough too. It had some tiles missing but was cool and crip and clean. They offered towels on the lounge chairs which was a nice touch. The only issue we had was that one of the two elevators was broken during our stay. We took the stairs down but couldn't take them up. We plan to stay in this hotel again! Great value for our money!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brittandkell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maunak D, General Manager at Four Points By Sheraton Galveston, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Dear Brittandkell,

Thank you for staying with us and your kind review. The elevator is being worked on by Otis Elevator and we hope to have it resolved by your next stay. Thanks again and we look forward to having you stay with us on your next visit to Galveston!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
5.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
5.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points By Sheraton Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points By Sheraton Galveston

Address: 2300 Seawall Blvd, I-45 South Between 23 & 24 Street, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-7940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Galveston
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: $99 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points By Sheraton Galveston 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, Four Points by Sheraton Galveston is near the beach and Pleasure Pier, Schlitterbahn Waterpark, Moody Gardens, Strand Historic District, and Grand 1894 Opera House Free parking only applies for guest. (none parking facility) If vehicle is left for cruise parking the charge is $40.00 for 5 days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Four Points By Sheraton Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston Hotel Galveston
4 Points By Sheraton Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing